Jump to content
gottaloveit

Automatically send data feed to Froogle

Recommended Posts

I was attempting to add the "online only" to the feed, but just cant seem to get my head into it today. Has anyone done this? Here's what google reccomends

online only
Used to indicate items that are only available for purchase online, and not available for purchase in-store or for in-store pickup. Items that are only available for delivery, including ship-to store, should be marked as y. All other items that are available across multiple channels should be marked as n.
Format:
Boolean.
Tab-delimited example:
y
XML example:
<online_only>y</online_only>

 

 

The recommend it here: http://base-forum-announcements.blogspot.com/2009/10/best-practices-for-holiday-season_23.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi There. Thanks for this very cool contribution! I downloaded the newest version of this today (V.2.4) in hopes of getting it to run correctly.

 

After completing instruction 4 it tells you to go to this location: "http://your_domain_name.com/admin/googlefeeder.php."

which I do. When I click on the link displayed on the page I get this: "Fatal error: Call to undefined function: tep_not_null() in /home4/subcitiz/public_html/includes/classes/seo.class.php on line 960"

 

When I go to the other page instructed in 4: http://your_domain_name.com/feeds/your-outfile.txt. I also get "Fatal error: Call to undefined function: tep_not_null() in /home4/subcitiz/public_html/includes/classes/seo.class.php on line 960."

 

I wasn't sure how to proceed at this point. Is it a Froogle contribution problem or an Ultimate SEO URL's contribution problem?

 

Thanks so much!

 

Jason

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi There. Thanks for this very cool contribution! I downloaded the newest version of this today (V.2.4) in hopes of getting it to run correctly.

 

After completing instruction 4 it tells you to go to this location: "http://your_domain_name.com/admin/googlefeeder.php."

which I do. When I click on the link displayed on the page I get this: "Fatal error: Call to undefined function: tep_not_null() in /home4/subcitiz/public_html/includes/classes/seo.class.php on line 960"

Are you sure you uploaded the googlefeeder.php file from the latest package?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you sure you uploaded the googlefeeder.php file from the latest package?

 

Yes, absolutely sure. I downloaded the latest package, edited the info, and uploaded it immediately. I suspect its my Ultimate SEO URL's that are causing the problem. This all started when i upgraded using the "easy" upgrade method. Maybe my version was too old to do this?

 

Any advice?

 

Thanks Jack_mcs!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know what the "easy upgrade method" is but, yes, you should be using the latest Ultimate SEO - version 2.2d_5. Other versions can cause problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jack_mcs,

 

I am in need of your assistance please with this modification. I need some how to have all links use the link function built into oscommerce. This will make the modification compatible with USU5. Would you mind helping me?


plasma.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jack_mcs,

 

I am in need of your assistance please with this modification. I need some how to have all links use the link function built into oscommerce. This will make the modification compatible with USU5. Would you mind helping me?

It has always been compatible with the standard oscommerce link code. Just turn off the SEO option in the settings of this contribution and it will use that code.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jack_mcs,

 

Someone else reported that it worked as well. However, I have been getting mixed feedback. I installed the modifcation today and have noticed the links are being shown as default links (not using USU5). Its my understanding that if the system uses the link function USU5 will automatically convert it. Robert the creator of USU5 also mentioned something on the lines that the links were hard coded. Can you provide any feed back on this?

 

Ex. http://www.13thgreen.com/feeds/google-feed.txt

 

Thanks


plasma.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Someone else reported that it worked as well. However, I have been getting mixed feedback. I installed the modifcation today and have noticed the links are being shown as default links (not using USU5). Its my understanding that if the system uses the link function USU5 will automatically convert it. Robert the creator of USU5 also mentioned something on the lines that the links were hard coded. Can you provide any feed back on this?

 

Ex. http://www.13thgreen.com/feeds/google-feed.txt

 

Thanks

No, the links are not hard-coded and they are appearing correctly in your feed, like with this one: http://www.13thgreen.com/product_info.php?currency=USD&products_id=78. Although the feed is not formatted correctly so there seems to be some problem there. But if SEO 5 isn't compatible with the feed, it either needs to be fixed or you should switch to Ultimate SEO V2.2d_5, which is compatible. Otherwise, your links will not appear as you want on googlebase.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jack_mcs,

 

Thanks for your response. Would it be of any interest of yours to make this modification SEO 5 compatible? Also why do you suggest that the feed is nor formatted correctly?

 

Thanks


plasma.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

 

I'v just installed GoogleFeeder V 2.4 and it works really well (Thank you) apart from it does not seem to upload the product Images. How can you add the product images too?

 

Thanks in advance

 

Ken Wilson

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just checked my dat feed .txt file and it does list the image links, but they are not showing in google merchant centre. Any ideas?

 

Thanks in advance

 

Ken

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jack_mcs,

 

Thanks for your response. Would it be of any interest of yours to make this modification SEO 5 compatible? Also why do you suggest that the feed is nor formatted correctly?

 

Thanks

No, I use and support the original Ultimate SEO and don't see any reason not to continue to do so.

 

When I looked at the feed, all of the text was one line, like there was no line feeds. Usually the entries are on one line. That may not be a problem though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'v just installed GoogleFeeder V 2.4 and it works really well (Thank you) apart from it does not seem to upload the product Images. How can you add the product images too?

You may be confused about what this contribution does. It just creates a datafeed for google to use. No images are uploaded anywhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just checked my dat feed .txt file and it does list the image links, but they are not showing in google merchant centre. Any ideas?

Check your google account to see why they were rejected.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jack thanks for the reply.

 

I have fixed it, I did not add the /catalog after the domain name in the googlefeeder.php file :blush:

 

Once again thanks for all your hard work. This is the first Package I have found that works 100%

 

Thanks

 

Ken

 

 

Check your google account to see why they were rejected.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, the links are not hard-coded and they are appearing correctly in your feed, like with this one: http://www.13thgreen.com/product_info.php?currency=USD&products_id=78. Although the feed is not formatted correctly so there seems to be some problem there. But if SEO 5 isn't compatible with the feed, it either needs to be fixed or you should switch to Ultimate SEO V2.2d_5, which is compatible. Otherwise, your links will not appear as you want on googlebase.

 

The links are not "hard coded" per se, but the contribution does not use tep_href_link() in the manner intended as is standard in osCommerce installations which of course is incorrect. the 2005 Ultimate seo urls series 2 is certainly hardcoded in.

 

If the contribution used the correct function then all correctly written uri contributions would work with it.

 

It is certainly not a matter of USU5 not being compatible as it is compatible with tep_href_link() which means it SHOULD be compatible with anything osCommerce.

 

The reason this contribution originally took this approach is that cron jobs as understood by most do not work when files are included within the target file, for this reason the file should be accessed via http using wget in the cron as follows: -

* * * * * * wget -q http://www.mysitecom/<path>/somefile.php >/dev/null 

 

The correct osC functionality can then be used and hardcoding erradicated.

Edited by FWR Media

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am wanting to get a datafeed to google base. I just downloaded GoogleBase V 2.4 . But I don't know where to begin. I am more of a newbie. Can somebody help break down some of the instructions.

 

 

I have ultimate seo,easy meta tags, and price match. I was able to figure those out. This one I can't figure it out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am wanting to get a datafeed to google base. I just downloaded GoogleBase V 2.4 . But I don't know where to begin. I am more of a newbie. Can somebody help break down some of the instructions.

 

 

I have ultimate seo,easy meta tags, and price match. I was able to figure those out. This one I can't figure it out.

Instead of me guessing what the problem might be, can you ask a specific question?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Instead of me guessing what the problem might be, can you ask a specific question?

 

 

Where do I upload the feeder and Google base files? My store is located at http://soundwavedirect.com/store/. Do I still put them in the /root/admin or in the /store/admin file.

 

Are they the only 2 files that have to be uploaded?

 

This is where I don't understand.

 

I have not used FTP for anything. So I wouldn't know what the user name or password would be.

 

 

define('FEEDNAME', 'your-outfile.txt'); //from your googlebase account

define('FTP_USERNAME', 'googleFTP-username'); //created from within your googlebase account

define('FTP_PASSWORD', 'googleFTP-password'); //created from within your googlebase account

define('FTP_ENABLED', '1'); //set to 0 to disable

 

Thanks again

Vinny

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where do I upload the feeder and Google base files? My store is located at http://soundwavedirect.com/store/. Do I still put them in the /root/admin or in the /store/admin file.

There is only one admin for the shop. It can be located wherever you want it so I can't answer your question directly. But the location will be wherever you access it from the web. So if you get to it by http://yourdomain.com/admin, it is in root/admin. If oyu get to it by http://yourdomain.com/store/admin, it is in store/admin.

 

Are they the only 2 files that have to be uploaded?

The instructions say to upload the contents of the catalog directory and there are two files in that directory so, yes, there are two files to upload.

 

This is where I don't understand.

 

I have not used FTP for anything. So I wouldn't know what the user name or password would be.

The ftp username and password are created in your googlebase account. Login there and goto settings->FTP to do that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is only one admin for the shop. It can be located wherever you want it so I can't answer your question directly. But the location will be wherever you access it from the web. So if you get to it by http://yourdomain.com/admin, it is in root/admin. If oyu get to it by http://yourdomain.com/store/admin, it is in store/admin.The instructions say to upload the contents of the catalog directory and there are two files in that directory so, yes, there are two files to upload.

The ftp username and password are created in your googlebase account. Login there and goto settings->FTP to do that.

 

 

Jack thank you for your help.

 

For google base schedule they are asking for a url of file. Their example is (http://www.example.com/upload.txt)

I know I have to place my domain in where it says example? but would upload.txt stay the same?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jack thank you for your help.

 

For google base schedule they are asking for a url of file. Their example is (http://www.example.com/upload.txt)

I know I have to place my domain in where it says example? but would upload.txt stay the same?

In your googlebase account, you have to create a datafeed entry. That is where that name comes from. Once you have created it, there is a place in the settings of the file for it. Once the file is setup, you need to run it so the feed is created. If you have the ftp option set in the settings, it will upload the datafeed for you. If you want that to be automatic so you never have to worry about it, setup a cron job to run the script.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In your googlebase account, you have to create a datafeed entry. That is where that name comes from. Once you have created it, there is a place in the settings of the file for it. Once the file is setup, you need to run it so the feed is created. If you have the ftp option set in the settings, it will upload the datafeed for you. If you want that to be automatic so you never have to worry about it, setup a cron job to run the script.

 

 

Everything is all set in place. All my products are published and searchable. Should I use their upload schedule device?

 

For google base schedule they are asking for a url of file. Their example is (http://www.example.com/upload.txt)

I know I have to place my domain in where it says example? but would upload.txt stay the same?

 

Also how do I set up a cron job?

 

I appreciate all your help.

Vinny

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello,

 

at first great contribution.

 

my shop is in germany

i use SEO URLS

at the moment i use froogle v1.62.

 

The Problem i got my froogle.txt is complete in english not in german.

How to change language ?

 

thanks

and

bg

Michael

 

Hello Michael,

 

I have the same problem with the actual google feeder,

Did you get an answer what is the reason for only english descriptions??

 

I would be interested in that solution

 

Cheers

Gis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×