• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Paypal payment pro credit card number issue

Smoky Barnable

Today a customer brought to my attention that if he put spaces when entering his credit card number, which many people do - a space between every 4 numbers, an error is thrown: “This transaction cannot be processed. Please enter a valid credit card number and type.” The customer figured it out but I'm guessing some people would just give up and the sale would be lost. I'm sure this is an easy fix. I just thought I would mention it because I see it as a fairly serious bug. Now that I think about it, the box where you input payment information is pretty primitive....could do with an update.

The water in a vessel is sparkling; the water in the sea is dark. The small truth has words which are clear; the great truth has great silence.

- Rabindranath Tagore

I'm no expert so this is probably best left to some one who understands the PayPal module fullly 😊 , but on a simple form input box you can just use a simple bit of js to auto format the customers input into 4 digit blocks as they input the number. You can test it in the fiddle box.

https://jsfiddle.net/crb13rsd/

Hello Eric,

The easiest step could be to add a placeholder text to the input field saying something like "no blank spaces"

If you are using PayPal direct payment, you would need to edit the payment module:

includes/modules/payment/paypal_pro_dp.php

find line 161 and modify to:

'    <td>' . tep_draw_input_field('cc_number_nh-dns', '', 'id="paypal_card_num" placeholder="' . $this->_app->getDef('module_dp_field_card_number_placeholder') . '"') . '</td>' .

then add the language definition to: includes/apps/paypal/languages/english/modules/DP/DP.php:

its a bit different done in the paypal app than in other language files:

module_dp_field_card_number_placeholder = no blank spaces