• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Edit Opening Page of Shopping Cart

kpiper

I just took over an OSCommerce site. I am new to OSCommerce. I need to update the information on the front page in the OSCommerce store. But I cannot for the life of me figure out how to access the original content in order to update the content! The website is http://cowcatcher.us/store/catalog/index.php. Can anyone tell me where to go inside the store settings to update the opening page? Thanks SO MUCH in advance for your assistance!

39 minutes ago, kpiper said:

where to go inside the store settings to update the opening page?

Your using an old version of osC, but method is same for most, Login as admin and you can add products and do many other things. If you want to make layout changes the again in admin you can turn on box's and stuff. Any more layout changes then your into editing the file's.

best look at the documentation to find more details.

if 2.2 here

https://library.oscommerce.com/public/sites/Library/pdf/oscom22-old.pdf

if 2.3 then here

https://library.oscommerce.com/public/sites/Library/pdf/oscom23-old.pdf

@kpiper

You mention that you have taken over an osCommerce site. Yet, the site you have linked to is not only a very old version of osCommerce, it has no products in it. Has this been an active site in the past?

Do you know how to transfer files to and from your host's server? Do you know how to log into the Administrator's side of your shop (do you have both the administrator's user name and password)? Do you know how to make a backup of the full site (both files and database)?

M

Thank you for your quick reply!

It's version 2.3.4. I apologize for not including this before.

Yes, I have the admin access. Yes, I know how to transfer files. Thank you for asking these questions!