• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Urgent Help Required Please

FXBO

Dear OSCommerce Forum Members,

I know some of you will hate me asking this, but I am a website designer, but not a developer and I am hosting a friends website and have done what Jack_mcs stated here:

My problem is, their database is not working and all I have right now is the basic shop scripts DB? I just do not know how to get the DB of theirs to be able to get read, so that their website shows all their products, customers etc.

By the way I contacted both companies on your "Partners" page and neither got back to me, not good?

Many thanks for any advice given and all the best to you all.

Stephen Smith.

@FXBO

First, I *assume* that you made a full backup of the original site, both all of the files, and the database (which is separate from the files)?

Second, I *assume* that you are working with *copies* of the original site, and not the actual files/database.

That said, what was the original version of osCommerce? To what version are you trying to upgrade? What version of PHP was the original site running? What version of PHP are you running on the 'new' site? Are you doing this on a local in-house server, or a live hosted server?

M

@Artcolnc

Many thanks for a speedy reply. Yes I did make full backups, one of the main website and one for the DB. I cannot use the main backup, and anyway it is in "File Manager" as the new website is in a folder called "upgrade".

The old version was the osCommerce Online Merchant v2.2 RC2a and the new is what was suggested in that link above. Called "Edge" I am sure?

The old version was running on PHP 5.2.9 and now is running on PHP 7.0. I am using a "live hosted server".

Any help would me great, and thanks @Artcolnc

Stephen Smith.

@Artcolnc

No the old website is not live, only the updated version here: https://www.jdmodels.co.uk/upgrade/index.php