• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Visitor sessions on load-balanced servers

Brainache

Hello

I have just enabled load-balancing for my site in order to solve an earlier problem. I was told that this could be problematic for visitor sessions and that ....'To get around this, you can store session information in an SQL database and then link it to the visitor by setting a cookie.'

Now I'm not quite sure what this means or how complicated it is so I will read up about it and hope I can understand it.

Before I do that though I wanted to ask what the existing 'sessions' section is in admin and if using some settings here would easily solve the dilemma. I have looked at it but am none the wiser. I am an almost total novice with this but have come a good way so far with the help of the people on here, so hoping to get the answer I need.

I assume that if I somehow removed the obligation for customers to create an account and log in, that would also solve the problem?

Thanks.

Frankly, if you're doing stuff like load balancing, a prerequisite for that is being quite experienced in running a website. You, or some delegate, really has to know what they're doing. It sounds like your host has no idea how to support osCommerce, and is leaving it up to you, an admitted novice.

By the way, why the load balancing? Who advised you to do that? That's something that shouldn't have to be done until it's a really big site -- what problem was this supposed to cure? Even fairly large sites run successfully on shared servers, so I'm a bit suspicious about the quality of your host.

I haven't looked at it lately, but I recall that you can manage sessions in either the database or via a cookie. A cookie is needed anyway to tie one page to another while browsing (maintain a single session). A session is also needed to maintain a shopping cart, so simply not allowing customer sign-in won't help you at all.

Thanks Phil.