• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Starting from the Beginning again - Fresh Install

I had a store made for me over 5 years but did not manage it over the years. I now want to start from scratch and bring my site up to speed with today's selling online. There are too many problems, corrections & addons to do on the old site so starting over is best at this point.

It has been recommended to upgrade to mobile-ready BS version and I was provided with the following information;

http://www.oscommerce.com/forums/topic/408979-upgrading-to-the-latest-version/

The information is great but I am a learn as you go type of person and I have never done this before so I need the most simplest question answered.  All the other steps either have links to show you or are explained clearly but the very first step.

Step 1.     Install the BS version into a new location                                How do I do that exactly  ??????

I know that question may sound stupid but I can not find instructions on this very basic step. If someone could direct me to the link it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

Tracie

Create a database via your control panel.

Download the new version.

Extract it and upload it to your server.

Go to the install directory like http://your domain name/install/. Follow the instructions from there.

Support Links:

For Hire: Contact me for anything you need help with for your shop: upgrading, hosting, repairs, code written, etc.

All of My Addons

Get the latest versions of my addons

Recommended SEO Addons

Hi Jack,

Thank you so much for the information.

For some reason I could not create a database and my hosting company could not explain it so I went the FTP route. I did the following but I am coming up with a error. I think it should be a fairly easy fix ( I hope).

1.   I extracted the files

2.   Then uploaded all the files and folders to the public directory