greasemonkey

Oscommerce Affiliate Module - for BS

Hey all, I have been work on modernizing the Affiliate Module for 2.3.1 for 2.3.4 BS found here; http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/9171

For those that know me.... I'm not a programmer, but have learned enough to be dangerous.... so feel free to make comments and suggestions.

Because this addon uses its own (affiliate)_application_top's there are not a huge ton of core changes - however I should be able to get this down to just 2 code adds to call the new affiliate_application_top in admin and catalog.

So far I have;

1) almost all catalog pages bootstraped.

2) moved the build a link button from product_info into a _pi_ content module

3) I've added all the sql to the new _pi_ content module

4) bootstrapped the box module

5) fixed some basic "math" issues in the affiliate summary

Can someone suggest best practices for when when creating new tables on a module install?

Currently I have (as an example);

tep_db_query("CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS affiliate_banners (
  affiliate_banners_id int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
  affiliate_banners_title varchar(64)  NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
  affiliate_products_id int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
  affiliate_category_id int(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
  affiliate_banners_image varchar(64)  NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
  affiliate_date_added datetime NOT NULL DEFAULT '0000-00-00 00:00:00',
  affiliate_date_status_change datetime DEFAULT NULL,
  affiliate_status int(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT '1',
  PRIMARY KEY (affiliate_banners_id)
) 
COLLATE='utf8_unicode_ci'");

I am NOT dropping these new tables on "remove" (un-installtion) to prevent loss of affiliate data. Is this a wise idea?

Hello Scott @@greasemonkey,

It's a good idea , but better offer an optional remove function for users who just tried the add-on or wants to remove all for whatever reason.

You can find an example for optional remove the database entries/tables when uninstalling a module in my SPPC Lite Add-On.