spidometrs

Development of OSC 2.4

Development of OSC 2.4 - decayed?
OSC far behind other vendors.
Interest in the OSC approaches zero.
It is sad...

Edited by spidometrs

No outside url's in signatures allowed - thanks

@@spidometrs these conversations have been done to death.

If you don like the direction.... than get more involved.

@@greasemonkey I'm developer, building a new shop.

Several months ago, I started building from gBurton/Responsive-osCommerce. Now @@burt told me that this project is stalled [link and chatting]. I feel disorientated now, analyzing what path should I take.

I think that @@spidometrs post it's not the best mood to ask from, then I understand your answer mood.

But as a osc developer, I wish to have, please, a clearest as possible idea of what's the developments situation, a minimal guide to decide what osc version should I take as root for me. I love the @@burt post "2.3.4, Gold, Edge, 2.4", but it seems that the situation has changed from March, and I don't see a new post like this one.

I have seen several asnwers as yours, in wich there's a short negation, but no indication. You say "If you don like the direction"... but I don't know the direction! :D If I search in the forum and github, I see developers collaborating in severals paths, I don't know to get a clear idea, sorry :( .

Of course, there are:

osCommerce/oscommerce2 tag 2.3.4. Ready to production, but too much different to master branch: If I build over 2.3.4 I'll have to make too much effort upgrading to next release/tag. Morover, it's not responsive and I need responsive.

oscResposive tag GOLD, indicated to production and responsive, great. But again: too much different to master oscommerce2. EDGE version it's not updated with oscommerce2 master improvements, the project is stalled.

From my full-of-ignorance point of view, I gather that the correct path in order to...

- have responsive design

- have new modularizations and new OSC classes