• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Order Total Error

chrism78

Hi,

I'm a bit of a newbie and just dont know where to look to resolve a problem with the maths not working!

I place one item in my cart with value £5.99 including vat - the shopping cart correctly shows the split but does not add the VAT to the order total.

Sub-Total: £5.13 VAT: £0.86 Total: £5.13

If I add shipping, that DOES get added to the total, but the VAT still does not

Sub-Total: £5.13 Royal Mail 2nd Class Standard (Delivery Weight : 1 package of 0.2 Kg's (Ships normally within 3 to 5 days)): £2.20 VAT: £0.86 Total: £7.33

Can anyone help?

Plllleeeeeeeease?? :thumbsup:

Hi Chris

Go to admin -> configuration -> My Store -> you'll see country and zone there for editing (and also display prices with tax)

Thanks Bob,

'My Store' country and zone is set correctly and so are the 'tax zone' and 'tax rates'. Display prices with tax is set to true.

I have made some changes and cleaned up some code and now the problem is slightly different...

Before login the customer see the item price at the correct local price, but the order total now does not display or add the tax:

eg

item 2.99

subtotal 2.49

total 2.49

When logged in it is now showing almost correctly as: (ideally subtotal should not include tax but that's not a biggy)

item 2.99

subtotal 2.99

VAT 0.50

total 2.99

I feel like I'm chasing the problem round in circles now - anyone got any ideas?

• 1 month later...

@@chrism78

Hi Chris,

How is it that you can see order totals before being logged in? Normal osCommerce functionality is that you see the order total at checkout confirmation after logging in when checking out. And when logged in you say the totals appear correct. Do you have an add-on such as Purchase Without Account installed? What changes have you made?