• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Going SSL?

kymation

Now that Google has announced that SSL will count in your search rankings, how many of you are going to switch your stores to all SSL? And how many are going to get an SSL cert for the first time? (There are free/low cost SSL certs available.)

Regards

Jim

See my profile for a list of my addons and ways to get support.

Do you mean SSL everywhere, including index.php, product pages and the like?  What would the implications of this be regarding SEO for indexed pages and page ranking?

I am not a professional webmaster or PHP coder by background or training but I will try to help as best I can.

I remember what it was like when I first started with osC. It can be overwhelming.

However, I strongly recommend considering hiring a professional for extensive site modifications, site cleaning, etc.

There are several good pros here on osCommerce. Look around, you'll figure out who they are.

According to the linked blog posting, yes, everything should be HTTPS. As I read it, two otherwise identical pages, one HTTP and the other HTTPS, will have the HTTPS version ranked ahead of the HTTP version. Very little extra boost initially, but they might increase it. I suppose the first entry in your .htaccess will be to redirect http: entries to https: (301 status), which shouldn't get you dinged for duplicate content.

I think this is a bit of an overreaction to the NSA snooping, but when the 800 pound gorilla roars, you'd better listen.

Google's action is minimally related to the NSA and more related to the overall insecurity of the Internet which is appalling.

Here's a link to test your site's SSL:

https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/index.html

My question for the osCommerce security gurus is what is our best strategy for encrypting EVERY page?

The next related question is how best to handle the subsequent SEO implications.