• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Upgrading from 2.2 oscommerce hacked version to 2.3

crissie87

Good day everyonei, my new client has an ecommerce site running on Oscommerce which was a version 2.2 and also hacked. He hired me to help migrate the site to Magento but I figured it is too much work.

My suggestion for him was to update from version 2.2 (which is well-known for vulnerable security) to version 2.3, But he can't be sure about it and asked me if I could find all the sources of malwares in the current site.

So I plan to start everything from scratch. Fresh and clean install of V 2.3. My question is would it be safe or would we get attacked again. I honestly am not sure myself.

If so how do I track where the malwares are? I know image folder has them the most but I can’t seem to find where else. I am quite new with Oscommerce.

My last question, is Magento really safer? I am just a newbie here. Please don’t take it wrong. I am asking this because my client has been brainwashed by his friends how great Magento is but he seems to be open-minded with my direction, I just need to reassure him that it is equally good.

Thank you for all in advance.

No one can say the site won't be hacked again. Currently, 2.3.3 is considered secure but that doesn't mean the host is or that your client won't allow his logins to be released or some new security hole won't be found. If you are starting over, then completely replace the whole web directory (public_html, httpdocs or whatever it is called). Then strip out any non-image files from the images directory and scan the rest for viruse code and upload that to the new shop. That will completely remove anything that shouldn't be there.