Arctander

I'm a total noob - and I can't find any "catalog" directory

The site is setup on BlueHost and they offered OSC as a SimpleScripts install option. I was able to set it all up without any hiccups, put in some products, and though haven't setup the e-commerce merchant yet, we've already had some PayPal orders.

However, I wanted to improve some of the functionality and have been looking into add-ons. So far, the add-ons are telling me to modify the index.php in the /catalog directory - but I don't have a catalog directory. Is it possible that install was simply atypical and now the directory is under a different name?

And not to be a greedy noob, but I would love suggestion for add-ons that might perform the following functions:

1) Allow a single product to have multiple options, ie. color choices (ideally with small images)

Note: I see that can be done in attributes, but it looks incredibly clunky, and as some products have dozens of colors.

Thanks in advance for any help (and feel free to point me to a topic that discusses this, I haven't been able to find any and after 20 minutes I figured I'd just register and start one.)

The term catalog directory is used to distinguish the catalog level files from the admin directory. There really is no folder called 'catalog'.

Think of the 'catalog directory' as every file and folder on the same level as the admin folder. For example the file product_info.php is on the same level as the admin folder, thus product_info.php is by default consider to be in the catalog directory. Essentially the catalog files are the files the customer sees.

It is just used as a convention, it just sounds better to say 'catalog directory' than to say 'not in the admin folder'

PS - don't start a new folder called catalog, it will just confuse things needlessly. Also catalog directory and catalog folder are the same thing.