• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Css Sprites?

I am trying to teach myself how to improve my sites speed and performance. It has been suggested on many forums to add css sprites to the page to speed up image loading. I am new to this and don't have a clue what they are talking about.

Is there a mod that does this? Has anyone created this in their store? I use Additional images on 2.2 RC2 sites but the images are still being reported as very large in byte size.

Any suggestions?

If I suggest you edit any file(s) make a backup first - I'm not perfect and neither are you.

"Given enough impetus a parallelogramatically shaped projectile can egress a circular orifice."

- Me -

"Headers already sent" - The definitive help

"Cannot redeclare ..." - How to find/fix it

SSL Implementation Help

Like this post? "Like" it again over there >

Any suggestions?

Well, osC could be sped up a bit by consolidating all the little icons and other "utility" images on a page into one big image, and using CSS sprites capability to display just a segment of this big image. This is instead of loading a separate image file for each little image, which has a lot of overhead. Frankly, the amount of speed-up probably wouldn't be significant, and you would have to rewrite every place that's a foreground image and change it into a background image. I doubt it would be worth the effort.

Product images are probably not worth turning into sprites. For thumbnails, a sprite might be used, but again the code has to be rewritten to put the thumbnails into background images. For large images, it would probably be counterproductive to glue them together. You're not necessarily going to look at all the full sized images, so the shopper is wasting time waiting for all of them to load at once in a super-sized sprite.