Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Frey

Anti XSS

Can any one explain the 2nd step in the installation of XXS_Shield : 2) create an index_error.php file with whatever content you want to be displayed

I'm new to this and am following the 'How to Secure your osCommerce 2.2 steps'

I've created a .htaccess file and placed it in my root directory with the text in step 1 but having never created a php file from scratch - just modified according to instructions in the osCommerce setup - I'm a little lost.

Can any one explain the 2nd step in the installation of XXS_Shield : 2) create an index_error.php file with whatever content you want to be displayed

I'm new to this and am following the 'How to Secure your osCommerce 2.2 steps'

I've created a .htaccess file and placed it in my root directory with the text in step 1 but having never created a php file from scratch - just modified according to instructions in the osCommerce setup - I'm a little lost.

I recall asking the same question when I installed that on my shops. What I did was simply copy an existing php file, rename it and then redo the contents by putting some html code in there telling whoever got to that page did so "in error".

If I recall correctly the purpose of the file was that if someone was misbehaving with code intrusions they'd end up at index_error.php and get no further.

I am not a professional webmaster or PHP coder by background or training but I will try to help as best I can.

I remember what it was like when I first started with osC. It can be overwhelming.

However, I strongly recommend considering hiring a professional for extensive site modifications, site cleaning, etc.

There are several good pros here on osCommerce. Look around, you'll figure out who they are.

Hello All,

I'm about to update for the XXS_shield, could anyone confirm for me

1. I add lines 4-13 to the root htaccess file.