• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Google Analytics, where do i paste the code? How do i get it to work for my OSCommerce site

cyrusfazeli

Hello,

I am an OSCommerce rookie, working on a site for an ECommerce class for my graduate program. I opened up a Google analytics account and did two things that still have not allowed Google Analytics to work:

Created a .php file with the code and FTP'd to my server under Index - didnt work

added the Google Analytics code to a few of the .php files as directed by Google- did not work

Thank you,

Cyrus

Cyrus,

Use phpmyadmin in your hosting account cpanel to run the SQL.

ONLY CHANGE the group id if you already have a table with the default ID in use. In most cases, this won't be necessary.

Chris

i have added my analytics script to the footer.php at the bottom and have never had a problem with it and no need to install a contrib. it will take google a day to pick it up and gather visitor information.

• 1 month later...

Hi,

I'm a newbie to OSCOMMERCE and read a couple of threads on how to add the Google Analytics snippet to OSCOMMERCE in order to get the Analytics. I run OSC V2.2 RC2 and I followed BOWEN's way by adding to Google Analytics snippet of code <script>....</script> to the footer.php file in the includes file (/includes/footer.php) but I also had to change the file permissions to 777 from 555 in order for the footer.php file to be edited. See below the where I entered my snippet of Google code into my footer.php file. Please note after adding the code I set the file permission back to 555. To my delight the Google Analytics is working. To be honest I have to keep and eye on it because I only entered the code in last night but so far so good. I would like to Thank Bowen for his information and if any experts feel that I have done this incorrectly then let me know, as I said I'm a Newbie and just getting my head around this great piece of software :)

<?php

/*