• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

[Contribution] Grab_Order_Details

dailce

Grab_Order_Details

A customer can enter their email and order number on your site and view the order details without logging in.

I think this will work well if you have PWA or No Account installed.

Enjoy :)

Hope I didn't make any errors in this guide.

Feel free to improve this if you can - thanks.

================================

I will try my best to help out with this contribution, but I hope the community can help out more. I'm no expert in php, well at least I don't think I am :blush:

This seems like a good idea but surely there is someway it could be abused???

Maybe I am just talking rubbish but I just have an awfull feeling that something could go wrong because this is the type of personal data that is locked away behind a login routine for a purpose.

Maybe others could also share their points of view on this.

Good point, but I don't think it can get abused. I've seen this done before on some big sites. You will need 2 pieces of information to view an order's details: order number and email. Without that you will not get any information. I'm sure you can guess the order number if you wanted to go through consecutive numbers, but you will still need to know the email.

One way to make it a bit secure would probably be to make your order number more complex like adding random letters to it i.e. 1353ADS5486X

Maybe there is a way to make it more secure, but I think it's ok. If anyone does have some insight then please share.

Edited by dailce

• 2 weeks later...

I was just about to install this contribution until I realized that you're right....there is a chance it could be abused. In my store, the last order number was 93. It doesn't take too much creativity to figure out what the rest of the numbers were. Now all that's needed are some email addresses.