• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Should sitemap be split over several pages?

Hi there,

Please could someone advise if a sites sitemap should be split over several pages if there are many links on it?

I read somewhere that google treats pages with too many links like it's a bad site or something but I'm not sure what that's all about.

My site currently only has just over 500 products on it and so there are at least this many links on the one page.

Could someone advise me if this information is in fact correct and if it is, could someone please advise how I would go about splitting the pages as I'm still very new at this.

Many thanks in advance.

Yes, it can be a problem. There's no majic number but, generally, any more than 50/per page is too much. But it also depends on the text on the page. The search engines are trying to guard aginast "Link Farms," which are sites that just list links for the purpose of improving a sites importance. Installing the All Products with Images contribution will help prevent that from happening.

Jack

Support Links:

For Hire: Contact me for anything you need help with for your shop: upgrading, hosting, repairs, code written, etc.

All of My Addons

Get the latest versions of my addons

Recommended SEO Addons

Yes, it can be a problem. There's no majic number but, generally, any more than 50/per page is too much. But it also depends on the text on the page. The search engines are trying to guard aginast "Link Farms," which are sites that just list links for the purpose of improving a sites importance. Installing the All Products with Images contribution will help prevent that from happening.

Jack

Thanks for the response and explanation Jack_mcs, that has helped a lot.