• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Anyone have a good handle on U.S. laws?

I think I know what I need to know to do business and I have a good accountant :) But I'm not live yet and it would be nice to hear about the various laws from someone who has been there and done that.

Hi Spiff,

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer or an accountant.

A couple of things you should be aware of....if you are based in a state that has a sales tax you must charge the tax to your home state customers unless there is an exception for that in your state. You may have to charge other states sales taxes depending on the particular state laws. If you are shipping using the US Postal Service you should take a look at the applicable postal regulations and interstate commerce laws.

Generally you only have to collect sales tax from a state(s) where you conduct business or have a nexus with a state.

President Bush signed into law a two year moratorium that prevents state and local governments from imposing new taxes on Internet businesses. Which will be up in Dec next year.

Some states are trying to broaden what a nexus is with a State. Example, your website is hosted in New York State but your business is in Georgia, the state of New York says well a nexus exist so you must pay New York sales tax. Some States have argued that calling on customers in their state creates a nexus.

Now most states have "use" taxes. Which means if I live in Colorado and order a new set of skis on the internet, mail order or by whatever means, out of state, by law at the end of tax year I have to pay Colorado sales tax on the skis. Most states do not enforce this, simply because they don't have the manpower. Some states are trying to get the Shipper(your business) to send information about the buyer to his or her state so they can insure that the proper sales tax is paid by the buyer, imagine if you had to do that for fifty states!