• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Possible Database Errors....???

DesignJoe

Okay, first off... I am a MySQL newbie. I have followed the installation instructions and created a database called catalog and imported the tables from mysql_catalog.sql and verified them with "mysqlshow catalog", however when I try to view www.mydomain.com/catalog/includes/application_top.php I receive the following error:

Warning: Failed opening 'includes/include_once.php' for inclusion (include_path='') in /home/sites/site19/web/catalog/includes/application_top.php on line 163

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: tep_db_connect() in /home/sites/site19/web/catalog/includes/application_top.php on line 166

AND, when I try to view www.mydomain.com/catalog/default.php, I recieve the following error:

Unable to connect to database server!

I am running a Cobalt RaQ4 server with Cobalt MySQL Release 3.23.37-1 and PHP Release 4.1.2-3 installed.

Any ideas and guidance will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your kind reply!

~Joseph :?

~Joseph

I am working with the latest *stable* release of osCommerce, however there is not an INSTALL directory in the tar archive that I downloaded.

Yes, I have read the "INSTALL" file that came in the tar, however 80% of it is how to install PHP, SSL, APACHE.

I have following the following instructions that were included in the INSTALL file:

QUICK INSTALLATION STEPS

------------------------

Once having downloaded the archive from the downloads page, follow these steps to get the online shop running:

1. Extract the files from within the package

tar -xzf tep_catalog-pr2.1.tar.gz

2. This creates a directory called 'tep_catalog-pr2.1'. Enter this directory and copy the 'catalog' directory to your webroot directory of your webserver:

cd tep_catalog-pr2.1

cp -R catalog /usr/local/apache/htdocs/

For this example, '/usr/local/apache/htdocs/' is used as the webroot root directory of apache.