• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

(Almost) Completely Lost -PayPal

Hi all,

Please let me begin by saying that I have read thread after thread on the OsComm boards about this issue and I must be a real dummy but I can't seem to figure out exactly what I should do to correct my current problem with Paypal payments.

I am a newbie to OsCommerce although not to the net and to selling things. I have installed the PayPal module and input my appropriate PayPal information. I do not have PayPal IPN on (couldn't figure it out), and I do not have PayPal's Payment Data Transfer turned on either (couldn't figure that one out either).

I have installed no contributions to my store.

I have gone into PayPal and told it my return URL, and I have tested it, and it seems to work.

I did a test order and payment (to myself). The process allows a payment to be made for

a specific designated item that I added to my shopping cart, PayPal receives the payment and notifies me by email of the payment and my Oscomm admin panel indicates that an order has been received. HOWEVER,

the email that PayPal sends does NOT indicate WHICH PARTICULAR ITEM has been paid for - it only says that a payment for X dollars has been made. There is no indication of what the payment is for. That is also the case when I look at the payment in my PayPal account - there is no indication of

what has been paid for, only that money has been sent to me by that person.

There is something about the way my store is currently set up that is not telling PayPal

what specific item is being purchased (and what item is being paid for). Something

about my setup of OsComm is not communicating that very crucial piece

of information to PayPal.

Can you please advise me on what additional thing(s) need to be changed, and give

me VERY specific directions on how to do so? As I said, I am a newbie to this, and it's hard to figure out. Please be patient with me, I'm trainable.