• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

config error with new installation

Sharon_U

Hello, I'm having an error during new installation. Its reads as follows:

The configuration files do not exist, or permission levels are not set.

Please perform the following actions:

cd /home/sharonu/public_html/catalog/includes/

touch configure.php

chmod 706 configure.php

cd /home/sharonu/public_html/catalog/admin/includes/

touch configure.php

chmod 706 configure.php

What does this mean? Can I correct this? I'm a newbie and not a techie either so I'm hoping for something that won't go over my head.

Thanks,

Sharon

Hello!

I've got same problem.

The difference is my very first try was successful.

But after I' got .htacces and tried to open the catalog folder I've got some error message.

So (I stupid) tired with a new install. That was an incredible BAD idea.

I deleted and uploaded the whole site.

I can to run the install and I?m getting the error message:

"The configuration files do not exist, or permission levels are not set."

I made lots of try I?ve done everything as at the very first time.

I reseted the site with the administrators.

What happened?

wbrg: Da.

smilie

You're getting these problems because your configure.php file permisisons are not correctly set. For the duration of the install set them to 777 (full permissions) so that the install can write data to them. After the install has completed successfully reset the permissions on those two files to 644, 444, or 400 - depending on your server.

All other files should be 644, and folders need to be 755 or 777.

Vger

You're getting these problems because your configure.php file permisisons are not correctly set. For the duration of the install set them to 777 (full permissions) so that the install can write data to them. After the install has completed successfully reset the permissions on those two files to 644, 444, or 400 - depending on your server.