• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

STS vs BTS

tripp

I know it's probably a designers preference, but does anyone have a pros/cons list for each of the templating system contributions? (Simple Template, Basic Template, more?)

I'm really new to OSC but it looks great so far, I'd just like to make informed decisions when choosing a design direction. Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks!

Chad Arimura

Just my opinion Chadd, but there really isn't any competition between the two template systems. I only fiddled with both for an hour or so and decided to hard code instead, thus my knowledge of the two isn't vast. Both are good - very good in fact, but each approaches the subject differently. STS allows you to move things around on the page easly whilst BTS tends to modify the existing layout. Both are NOT extemely flexible because OSC isn't designed with easy modification in mind.

Why not set up two instances of OSC on your server, be it hosted or at home. Run each template system on different copies of OSC and decide for yourself which is best. As I said, I reverted back to the old system of slogging it out because it gave me more scope.

You are right. I made so many modifs to the original OSC that the templates have become ambiguous.

I use Dreamweaver or Notepad to make the necessary changes. Works better.

--- DontheCat ---

Obviously the truth is what's so

Not so obviously, it's also so what.

That's what I was thinking.... setup two instances and check them both out. It's important that I get a lot of this PHP code separated from the presentation HTML, and I noticed both moving that direction.

Thanks for the opinions. Any other comments are appreciated.

Chad

Go into the My Store forums and ask this same question and you'll hear stronger opinions and examples of site done using a template system. I have seen some impressive sites that don't look like the typical osC layout, which is their biggest advantage.