All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

1. Past hour
  2. ArtcoInc

Hack attempt - is there a way to prevent this?

@greasemonkey (while off topic regarding hack attempts ...) I also reviewed that search add-on here ... M
  3. Today
  4. greasemonkey

As a suggestion for a different smart search that doesn’t write to your DB... try this one (I’ve been using it for a couple years... works great). https://apps.oscommerce.com/Redirect=9351
  5. ArtcoInc

Stop Google adding bogus names

@trophy As others have stated, Google is not doing this. A spammer or hacker is doing it. Using Google as an email address, or as a company name, is very common. I get a number of these on one of my shops all the time. M
  6. JcMagpie

A simple string scrubbing function using, https://www.php.net/manual/en/function.preg-replace.php function ScrubInput($input) { // allow only letters //$scrub = preg_replace("/[^a-zA-Z]/", "", $input); // allow only letters and numbers //$scrub = preg_replace("/[^a-zA-Z0-9]/", "", $input); // allow only letters, numbers, and whitespace $scrub = preg_replace("/[^a-zA-Z0-9\s]/", "", $input); // Let's get rid of all CAPS $scrub = strtolower($scrub); // limit input to 40 chars $scrub = substr($scrub, 0, 40); // Let's get rid of all CAPS $scrub = strtolower($scrub); return $scrub; } // test the function echo ScrubInput("iaja this 1237412~! is @#$%^&*() how -=+_] it [{};:/ works .,>?OKAMNBVCXZLKJHG'\""); ?> Result: iaja this 1237412 is how it works ok
  7. ArtcoInc

@pete2007 Out of the box, osC does not save search queries in the database. I'm using an add-on called SmartSuggest that, amongst other things, creates a new database table and saves the search queries. I find this important since I can now see what people are searching for, and use that information to either adjust the text on my site, or adjust my product lines (if I sell apples, and people are searching for oranges ... ). M
  8. Jack_mcs