Jump to content


Corporate Sponsors


Latest News: (loading..)

- - - - -

A GPL question?


4 replies to this topic

#1 lynphocyte

  • Community Member
  • 2 posts
  • Real Name:Tom Brown

Posted 16 December 2003, 15:26

Hello all,

I've noticed someone selling what appears to be osCommerce in the city where I live.



Is this allowed? I thought the GPL prohibited this?

Lynphocyte :unsure:

Edited by The_Bear, 17 December 2003, 00:14.


#2 burt

  • Community Sponsor
  • 6,975 posts
  • Real Name:G Burton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK/DEV/on

Posted 16 December 2003, 15:36

The GPL specifically allows this.

http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/selling.html

Edited by burt, 16 December 2003, 15:37.

The Dirty Little Secrets that no osCommerce template sellers want you to know...revealed...

Support is commercially available. The question is whether you value your business
highly enough to spend money on it.

For commercial support from known developers who support osCommerce
ethos, please post at http://forums.oscommerce.com/forum/79-commercial-support/

#3 lynphocyte

  • Community Member
  • 2 posts
  • Real Name:Tom Brown

Posted 16 December 2003, 15:47

What about the other aspects of the GPL. Source availability, re-branding and keeping intact copyright and warranty notices?

Lynphocyte

#4 burt

  • Community Sponsor
  • 6,975 posts
  • Real Name:G Burton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK/DEV/on

Posted 16 December 2003, 16:15

What about it ? Check out GPL Section 2c.
The Dirty Little Secrets that no osCommerce template sellers want you to know...revealed...

Support is commercially available. The question is whether you value your business
highly enough to spend money on it.

For commercial support from known developers who support osCommerce
ethos, please post at http://forums.oscommerce.com/forum/79-commercial-support/

#5 iiinetworks

  • Community Member
  • 3,734 posts
  • Real Name:Matt

Posted 17 December 2003, 00:08

Tom,

If you feel that that site is violating osCommerce's copyright, please email one of the developers with the site URL and ways in which you find it to violate the copyright/license. You may want to check out this faq entry first to get a clearer idea of what is and is not allowed. It would also be helpful if you could explain how you got to something that you recognized as an osCommerce store (in the email, not here)...as I was not able to duplicate that.

Please don't post links to web site designers, etc. here, as it is prohibited in the forums. An email to one of the four developers (Harald, David, Mark, Matthijs) is much better. Both because it does not advertise their services and because it allows osCommerce more flexibility in their dealings with the site.

Thanks,
Matt