• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

osCommerce on nginx platform(minor question only)

gerardpacete

Hi everyone, sorry I'm a newbie here. I want to know how to get rid of Additional Protection With htaccess/htpasswd warning on admin pannel under configuration>>administrators.

I am using nginx not apache and thus .htaccess is not functioning.

Attached is the photo. post-335514-0-70388800-1428490048_thumb.png  

Its not a major problem actually but just a bit disturbing.

OsCommerce is running very well on my own server. Thumbs up guys and thanks!

LEMP Server Platform User/Administrator

First, you should be using your hosting control panel's option to password protect the admin directory (and its children), if such a service is offered. It has the best odds of working properly for you, on your particular server platform. Only if no such protection is offered, should you try to use what is shipped with osC (which may require considerable rewriting, if you are not on an Apache server).

Second, /admin/administrators.php contains the code which gives you the warning. It attempts to read the DIR_FS_ADMIN/.htpasswd_oscommerce file, and if it does not exist, or does not contain certain information, it will give an error message. If you know for a fact that your admin is secured by other means, and need to eliminate the spurious error message, you could disable the check. Depending on your version, you might comment out most of the checks:

#  if (is_array($htpasswd_array)) {
#    if (empty($htpasswd_array)) {
#      $secMessageStack->add(sprintf(HTPASSWD_INFO, implode('<br />', $authuserfile_array)), 'error');
#    } else {
      $secMessageStack->add(HTPASSWD_SECURED, 'success');
#    }
#  } else if (!$is_iis) {
#    $secMessageStack->add(HTPASSWD_PERMISSIONS, 'error');
#  }

It's possible that other operations, such as updating (rewriting) the password file, may need to be disabled, but we'll cross that bridge when we come to it.