Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

New Attribute Manager Released..


  • Please log in to reply
98 replies to this topic

#21   strictlypc

strictlypc
  • Members
  • 162 posts
  • Real Name:David Phung
  • Location:Walnut, CA

Posted 09 April 2003 - 00:53

Hi Mike,

This is a great contribution. Any chance this will work with:

Attributes Option Type Selection from "Contezero"

http://www.oscommerc...ions,766/page,2

Thank you,
StrictlyPC

#22   Greeves

Greeves
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Real Name:Mike G.

Posted 09 April 2003 - 01:16

Hi Mike,

This is a great contribution.  Any chance this will work with:

Attributes Option Type Selection from "Contezero"

http://www.oscommerc...ions,766/page,2

Thank you,
StrictlyPC


I am using it with the option type feature from Chandra Roukema, but to the best of my knowledge it should work with any option type feature contribution.. as long the added option type is handled in the same manner as the rest of the options. Here's what one of my client's attribute screen looks like with the added options type feature:

[img]http://downloads.ephing.com/attributescreen.gif[/img]
Attribute Manager: http://downloads.ephing.com

#23   Druide

Druide
  • Members
  • 882 posts
  • Real Name:Patience is a Virtue
  • Location:Kentucky (USA)

Posted 09 April 2003 - 07:14

Mike, updated your work a little /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

hope your not mad about it....lol


Added sort order, weight, weight prefix for those who have Linda's (Attributes Sorter & Copier v5.1 with weight) contribution installed.

it still stays your 'toy', i had some emailproblems here otherwise i would have send the update to you Mike

#24   Greeves

Greeves
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Real Name:Mike G.

Posted 09 April 2003 - 14:40

Mike, updated your work a little /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

hope your not mad about it....lol

 
Added sort order, weight, weight prefix for those who have Linda's (Attributes Sorter & Copier v5.1 with weight) contribution installed.

it still stays your 'toy', i had some emailproblems here otherwise i would have send the update to you Mike


Cool ... I guess I was working on compatibility with another contribution when you posted this.. then I read the post and decided to go ahead and take a look at what you did etc.. I ended up adding Linda's contribution to my configuration section.. and released v4.

Here's some details on v4:

Added compatibility for:
1) Linda McGrath's Attribute Sorter/Copier v5.1 with weight *Thanks Druide for the inspiration =)
2) Option Type Features version 2.02.MS1 by countezero

When you click on the "edit attributes" button on Categories / Products screen -> edit the attributes for the product -> click Save -> You will be directed back to the Categories / Products screeen *With that same product selected.
Attribute Manager: http://downloads.ephing.com

#25   strictlypc

strictlypc
  • Members
  • 162 posts
  • Real Name:David Phung
  • Location:Walnut, CA

Posted 09 April 2003 - 18:09

Hi Mike,

Thanks for including the "contezero" features with your contribution. I have installed your version 4 but have one question. For example, I noticed that in order to do a "3x2" special, the prefix for that would be "sx-". How would I select that in your contribution. I've noticed that you can only select one prefix at a time and cannot combine multiple prefix.

Thank you,
David

#26   Greeves

Greeves
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Real Name:Mike G.

Posted 09 April 2003 - 19:25

Hi Mike,

Thanks for including the "contezero" features with your contribution.  I have installed your version 4 but have one question.  For example, I noticed that in order to do a "3x2" special, the prefix for that would be "sx-".  How would I select that in your contribution.  I've noticed that you can only select one prefix at a time and cannot combine multiple prefix.  

Thank you,
David


Well, I think the easiest thing for everyone would be for me to release v4a /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

done & done... sorry about that.
Attribute Manager: http://downloads.ephing.com

#27   AnnieO

AnnieO
  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Real Name:Cindy

Posted 10 April 2003 - 06:47

For anyone looking for an easy-to-install attribute manager, you may want to try this. I personally have installed almost all 10 of Mike's New Attribute Manager contributions because it is so easy to install. (hmmm....maybe it's time for Even Newer Attribute Manager!)/biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

As for anyone else using Chandra Roukema's equally wonderful Product Attributes - Option Type Feature, this contribution does indeed work with it as long as there is only one text option field. Unfortunately, my main shop has several, so I have not yet been able to use both of these contributions on the same cart...but I have not given up just yet.

Thanks again to both Mike and Chandra.

#28   Greeves

Greeves
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Real Name:Mike G.

Posted 10 April 2003 - 12:34

For anyone looking for an easy-to-install attribute manager, you may want to try this.  I personally have installed almost all 10 of Mike's New Attribute Manager contributions because it is so easy to install.  (hmmm....maybe it's time for Even Newer Attribute Manager!)/biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />  

As for anyone else using Chandra Roukema's equally wonderful Product Attributes - Option Type Feature, this contribution does indeed work with it as long as there is only one text option field.  Unfortunately, my main shop has several, so I have not yet been able to use both of these contributions on the same cart...but I have not given up just yet.

Thanks again to both Mike and Chandra.


*Newer* v4b /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />
I just got through adding a compatibility setting for Chandra's Option Type Feature contribution.. and it seems to all be working nicely. Please let me know if I missed anything /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

Mike G.

PS: Is there any way to remove remove entries from the contribution section? For one thing I've sumitted quite a few updates and the thread is getting rather long. Also, a week or so ago I accidentally submitted v2 as a new contribution rather than a package addition.
Attribute Manager: http://downloads.ephing.com

#29   AnnieO

AnnieO
  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Real Name:Cindy

Posted 10 April 2003 - 14:52

haha...now you wanna edit your contribution list! Hey...all those versions were very helpful to me because I could see at what point you were and keep trying 'em. We all know there is no such thing as "final". Thanks much.
-Annieo

#30   bmcewan

bmcewan
  • Members
  • 390 posts
  • Real Name:Barry McEwan
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Yorkshire - UK

Posted 10 April 2003 - 15:46

Small problem...might be a bit vague but.....

running MS1 with chandras option type feature 1.4 i have an option value set up with id o as text as per chandras readme although there is no name in the name column and a product option set up with name as the name and option type set up as text however when i go into your attribute manager it shows as No Values under this option where i would expect the text option to show.

even a little light would be appreciated.

cheers
barry
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."

"I don't want to achieve immortality through my work; I want to achieve immortality through not dying."

#31   AnnieO

AnnieO
  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Real Name:Cindy

Posted 10 April 2003 - 16:29

um, yeah Barry, I am struggling with same issue.

#32   CC

CC
  • Members
  • 1,289 posts
  • Real Name:....
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here \o/

Posted 17 April 2003 - 15:29

Just a quickie...

I wanted to know which version works best with snapshot from Dec 23rd 2002?
I dont use chandra's mod, but i do use Linda's attributes manager with weight, 5.1 I think it is.

With this in mind which version do you recommed for vs 2.2 from Dec 23rd 02? It aint MS1 remember.

Thanks

CC.

#33   alquanto

alquanto
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Michael Klein

Posted 05 May 2003 - 20:26

Well well well...

Linda's Contrib is on its way.
What do you think about a contrib that integrates her NEW Attribute Copier?

This great contrib and Linda's additions (hmm...) - ehm, Linda's contrib together - nearly worth for MS2 - IMHO

Michael

:arrow: PS keep up the good work!

#34   Ajeh

Ajeh
  • Members
  • 6,327 posts
  • Real Name:Linda McGrath
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 05 May 2003 - 20:55

Thanks for the kind words, Michael

But without osCommerce ... my stuff would be worth poop.

I have a fantastic foundation in which base these Add-on ... and a great community to help provide ideas, suggestions and thankfully ... a friendly test audience.

Cannot wait until this is done ... docs are coming along, and tests are looking good ... keep your fingers crossed! /biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

#35   alquanto

alquanto
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Michael Klein

Posted 05 May 2003 - 22:48

Thanks for the kind words, Michael

You're wellcome!

But without osCommerce ... my stuff would be worth poop.

I have a fantastic foundation in which base these Add-on ... and a great community to help provide ideas, suggestions and thankfully ... a friendly test audience.

But... I think your contrib is essential to osC...

Cannot wait until this is done ... docs are coming along, and tests are looking good ... keep your fingers crossed! /biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

okdk - we pray for good code 8)

Michael

#36   alquanto

alquanto
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Michael Klein

Posted 05 May 2003 - 22:59

:?: A suggestion:
If there are LOTS of Attributes in the AttributeManager the loadtime is a bit long, eg. if you have a country-selectbox (approx. 200 entries)....

Is there a chance to collapse/expand unused Attributes?

eg. if you wanna sell t-shirts and flags... I only need the country-list for the flags, not for t-shirts... so it would be nice if I'd have to activate the collapsed countrylist by clicking on the Option. After reloading *swoosh* there they are: the 200 optionvalues.

Michael

#37   alquanto

alquanto
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Michael Klein

Posted 05 May 2003 - 23:04

:?: Is there a chance to group options by category?

Eg. I only need the option "color" in the category "childish teethbrushes" - and NEVER a countrylist for that category...

Any ideas? something useful? :idea:


Michael

#38   alquanto

alquanto
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Michael Klein

Posted 05 May 2003 - 23:26

:?: Is there a chance to group options by category?

Eg. I only need the option "color" in the category "childish teethbrushes" - and NEVER a countrylist for that category...

Any ideas? something useful?   :idea:


I was not the only one with this idea:
http://forums.oscomm...opic.php?t=2649

any comments?

Michael

#39   Ajeh

Ajeh
  • Members
  • 6,327 posts
  • Real Name:Linda McGrath
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 06 May 2003 - 02:18

I will be looking more seriously into this idea after this version is out.

I have puttered around with it on and off and have seen the need to shrink down several areas regarding attributes as well as a few other sections as well, especially for people with large databases to manage.

#40   alquanto

alquanto
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Michael Klein

Posted 06 May 2003 - 23:10

I will be looking more seriously into this idea after this version is out.

I have puttered around with it on and off and have seen the need to shrink down several areas regarding attributes as well as a few other sections as well, especially for people with large databases to manage.

...like me with nearly 20000 Products...? :wink:

Michael