Photo

Importing my existing product database into os commerce

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1   fpoint

fpoint
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 May 2012 - 16:31

I'm new to OS commerce. I've been using agoracart for years and have over 400 products in the database.

1. Can I import my database into OS Commerce?
2. What field structure must I use?
3. What file types can be imported?

Thanks
Mike Sparks
Focal Point

#2   ggrant3

ggrant3
  • Members
  • 322 posts

Posted 15 May 2012 - 16:34

Look at the Easy Populate contribution/add-on.

You will most likely have to cut and paste some things into specific columns but it will make the process easier for you.

#3   DunWeb

DunWeb

The Censored One

• Members
  • 13,084 posts

Posted 15 May 2012 - 18:27

@fpoint

Easy Populate

Chris
:|: Was this post helpful ? Click the LIKE THIS button :|:

See my Profile to learn more about add ons, templates, support plans and custom coding (click here)

#4   WallaceNetworks.co.uk

WallaceNetworks.co.uk
  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 May 2012 - 20:48

I used to use easypopulate for importing products into osCommerce, but found it had severe limitations.

After this, I moved to using a paid for product called osCommerce Manager, which resolved many of these limitations and generally worked well.

But then, I started having issues when trying to import thousands of products in one go, where the import would fail. Unfortunately after several attempts to get a satisfactory* and conclusive response from MagneticOne who make the product, I then resigned myself to the fate of having to perform product imports using the database software that osCommerce runs on, MySQL.

For importing of products however, this is how i do it.

1.> start of with a product list as comma, tab, or semi-colon seperated plain text file

2.> mysqlimport