Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 5 votes

Simple Checkout - for 2.3.1 (official support thread)


  • Please log in to reply
364 replies to this topic

#61   pantarra

pantarra
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Real Name:Gina

Posted 12 February 2012 - 17:27

thank you for your help
I reinstalled everything from scratch I have no other addons when I use paypal express it works fin, but i need customer to be loged in so paypal express dosnt work for me when I use paypal standard I still get this message from paypal
The link you have used to enter the PayPal system contains an incorrectly formatted item amount.

thanks agin for your help

#62   Tabula_Rasa

Tabula_Rasa
  • Members
  • 53 posts
  • Real Name:Sean Rice
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boston, MA

Posted 12 February 2012 - 17:28

@Tabula_Rasa, this ain't OPC. This is completely new work written from scratch by the most honorable @fulluvscents, the OP of this thread.


Thanks. Sorry. I found this with the deprecation of OPC and figured it was a do-over. /biggrin.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

Anyway, the question stands: Authorize, UPS, USPS? /biggrin.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

#63   PupStar

PupStar
  • Members
  • 637 posts
  • Real Name:Mark
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2012 - 17:35

Thanks. Sorry. I found this with the deprecation of OPC and figured it was a do-over. /biggrin.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

Anyway, the question stands: Authorize, UPS, USPS? /biggrin.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />


so are you using OPC or Simple Checkout???

#64   Tabula_Rasa

Tabula_Rasa
  • Members
  • 53 posts
  • Real Name:Sean Rice
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boston, MA

Posted 12 February 2012 - 17:42

so are you using OPC or Simple Checkout???


I started using versions of OPC, but when I got to the end of the OPC forum thread, I followed the instructions to deprecate OPC and install the new version ...?

I have a back-up of every version I've gone through before any changes, so I can back up.

#65   Tabula_Rasa

Tabula_Rasa
  • Members
  • 53 posts
  • Real Name:Sean Rice
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Boston, MA

Posted 12 February 2012 - 17:45

I started using versions of OPC, but when I got to the end of the OPC forum thread, I followed the instructions to deprecate OPC and install the new version ...?

I have a back-up of every version I've gone through before any changes, so I can back up.


http://forums.oscomm...1/page__st__160 page 9 and 10.

#66   pantarra

pantarra
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Real Name:Gina

Posted 12 February 2012 - 20:34

thank you for your help
I reinstalled everything from scratch I have no other addons when I use paypal express it works fin, but i need customer to be loged in so paypal express dosnt work for me when I use paypal standard I still get this message from paypal
The link you have used to enter the PayPal system contains an incorrectly formatted item amount.

thanks agin for your help


Paypal express works but I need user to be loged in is there away to take off paypal express button from the shopping cart.php page? everything would work then

#67   PupStar

PupStar
  • Members
  • 637 posts
  • Real Name:Mark
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 February 2012 - 20:52

Paypal express works but I need user to be loged in is there away to take off paypal express button from the shopping cart.php page? everything would work then


to remove the option from shopping_cart.php comment out this code:

<?php
    $initialize_checkout_methods = $payment_modules->checkout_initialization_method();
    if (!empty($initialize_checkout_methods)) {
?>
  <p align="right" style="clear: both; padding: 15px 50px 0 0;"><?php echo TEXT_ALTERNATIVE_CHECKOUT_METHODS; ?></p>
<?php
	  reset($initialize_checkout_methods);
	  while (list(, $value) = each($initialize_checkout_methods)) {
?>
  <p align="right"><?php echo $value; ?></p>
<?php
	  }
    }
?>

Regards

Mark

#68   PJ_Willow

PJ_Willow
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:Paul Williams

Posted 13 February 2012 - 11:59

Hi all
I've installed this add-on using the 'drop-on-top' method. I renamed the sql.txt to sql.php and ran by calling from /website/sql.php, is this the correct way? I'm thinking not...

When I go into admin > configuration I do not have a checkout option.

This is on a fresh install of OSC, downloaded and installed yesterday.

I really like the idea of improving the checkout process, a long drawn-out process always puts me off making online purchases.

thanks

#69   oxwivi

oxwivi
  • Members
  • 250 posts
  • Real Name:Oxwivi Oxwil

Posted 13 February 2012 - 15:17

@PJ_Willow, do you have access to any database frontend on your server such as phpMyAdmin? It's quite a straightforward to run the SQL query there.

#70   PJ_Willow

PJ_Willow
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:Paul Williams

Posted 13 February 2012 - 16:34

Yep I do, don't know why I didn't realise that I use PHPmyadmin all the time. /huh.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':huh:' /> I take it that will resolve the configuration > checkout issue

#71   fulluvscents

fulluvscents
  • Members
  • 305 posts
  • Real Name:Jetta
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana

Posted 13 February 2012 - 17:09

@oxwivi

Awe, you're sweet, but be nice.

@dog-toyz

Yes. The jquery for the dialogs is in the place varina pointed out. The html for the divs is at the bottom of the checkout.php file with IDs to identify them. Just wrap your divs around those.

@Tabula_Rasa

edited - I missed an entire page of discussion. I see (or at least it appears) that you've got it figured out now.

Edited by fulluvscents, 13 February 2012 - 17:13.


#72   altoid

altoid
  • Community Sponsor
  • 1,009 posts
  • Real Name:Steve
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania

Posted 13 February 2012 - 18:12

Thanks for converting this for me. Unfortunately it didn't do what it was supposed to. I got a input text box instead of my item name. Without any coding in checkout.php I got the same thing yesterday. So it looked all pretty but didn't do anything. /sad.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':(' />

I double checked the add on's coding in 3 page checkout, and while it kind of worked, it didn't quite give me what I wanted with more than one item in the cart.

I need to abandon that add on and find a better one. Grr...

It is so annoying that they changed the Paypal checkout from v 2.2. I really liked the itemized descriptions...now I have to try and find something else that will work.


Same issue here as Varina had with the product descriptions carrying through to PayPal. Looks like she used the same mod I did. It works on the stock 2.3.1 checkout process but I tried to install this on Simble Checkout and on a trial run up to the PayPal page, where the Store and/or the Product used to be was a blank box.

So that would be good to have sometime along the way.

BTW...just installed this yesterday and was pleased not only that the checkout was consolidated efficiently but the presentation of the checkout page is very professional. I like the way the existing shop color scheme carries through on the checkout page. Outstanding work Jetta.
I am not a professional webmaster or PHP coder by background or training but I will try to help as best I can.
I remember what it was like when I first started with osC. It can be overwhelming.
However, I strongly recommend considering hiring a professional for extensive site modifications, site cleaning, etc.
There are several good pros here on osCommerce. Look around, you'll figure out who they are.

#73   pantarra

pantarra
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Real Name:Gina

Posted 13 February 2012 - 19:14

thank you for your help
I reinstalled everything from scratch I have no other addons when I use paypal express it works fine, but i need customer to be loged in so paypal express dosnt work for me when I use paypal standard I still get this message from paypal
The link you have used to enter the PayPal system contains an incorrectly formatted item amount.

although paypal express works paypal shows the transaction on paypal looks like this
Pay Rent OnlinePay Rent Online $575.00
  • Item number: 29
  • Item price: $1.00 <======I dont want this showing
  • Quantity: 575 <======I dont want this showing

when I use paypal standard without 1 page checkout payment goes threw paypal displays this which I prefer, notice item price and quanity

Tenants Payments OnlineTenants Payments Online $575.00
  • Item price: $575.00
  • Quantity: 1
when I use your excellent mod with no addons I get the error above, I have the OCS product set to $1.00 and use the quanity to adjust the rent amount to whatever the renters rent is..

Id love to have your addon working but I have to use only paypal standard not paypay express
paypal express works paypal standarrd dosnt work

Please help
Thank You so much

#74   oxwivi

oxwivi
  • Members
  • 250 posts
  • Real Name:Oxwivi Oxwil

Posted 13 February 2012 - 19:39

Oh yes, speaking of PayPal, with PayPal Express activated, it's not possible to choose it from the selection list and confirm order. The only way is the PayPal button after the - OR -. Remedy any?

#75   fulluvscents

fulluvscents
  • Members
  • 305 posts
  • Real Name:Jetta
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana

Posted 13 February 2012 - 21:51

@oxwivi

After fussing with it for two days, where I could either get PPExpress to work, or the other mods to work, I realized that with the single page checkout, the only way to use PP Express correctly was to use the button and allow immediate (Express) checkout. However, after moving that code around in checkout_confirmation, it might be possible now to do it the way I originally planned. I will try to look into that again but I've got a few other projects I have to finish up.

#76   fulluvscents

fulluvscents
  • Members
  • 305 posts
  • Real Name:Jetta
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana

Posted 13 February 2012 - 22:03

Regarding PayPal. First, I want to say that there is nothing about PayPal that I like. That being out of the way:

Before anything can be done or recommended, it needs to be clarified whether you are using the stock paypal mods. If contributions, then that's really a creature I don't want to mess with, myself.

If these are stock mods, then the second thing is to test with the stock checkout versus the simple checkout and see if they act differently.

If they are the same between normal checkout and this checkout, then it is a MOD issue, and something you want to bring up in the appropriate threads for those mods. If they are different, then it is an issue with THIS checkout and something that I need to look into.

How your products display after you leave the checkout and go to the PP page is set up through the mod itself, not the checkout. BUT, if for some reason the checkout isn't setting the correct information before you get there, then that is a checkout problem.

The short of it is that before I'll look into anything, I need to know that the mod is a stock mod, and that it is not functionally acting the same in this checkout as it is in the stock checkout.

I hope all that made sense.

#77   pantarra

pantarra
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Real Name:Gina

Posted 13 February 2012 - 23:11

for me the standard paypal works fine without the 1 page checkout ( I turn off 1 page checkout and also have 2 versions install 1 with your addon 1 without) standard paypal check works fine when 1 page checkout isnt install or when I turn off 1 page checkout
yet paypal express works for me but its display in paypal dosnt work for me

but when I turn on 1 page checkout I get that error
The link you have used to enter the PayPal system contains an incorrectly formatted item amount.

im using the paypal addon thats part of OSCs 2.31 installation, Paypal is I think the #1 method of paying online, I would never put my CC number anywhere especially on ebay or and shopping cart

Thanks again your addon looks great

#78   altoid

altoid
  • Community Sponsor
  • 1,009 posts
  • Real Name:Steve
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania

Posted 14 February 2012 - 02:37

I hope all that made sense.


I'd like to know the basis for your PayPal opinion, but that's another topic for another time. /smile.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

To your response, I think I understand your point and it does make sense to me.

In hindsight, what I was asking about probably does not fall to directly simple checkout to solve, considering that the paypal product name mod that I am familiar with requires changes to the paypal_standard module itself to get this to work. So just tweaking simple checkout itself won't work from what I can presume. But I don't know code well enough to even venture a guess.

So getting PayPal to work with simple checkout is probably something that would be done separately I suppose.

Thanks
I am not a professional webmaster or PHP coder by background or training but I will try to help as best I can.
I remember what it was like when I first started with osC. It can be overwhelming.
However, I strongly recommend considering hiring a professional for extensive site modifications, site cleaning, etc.
There are several good pros here on osCommerce. Look around, you'll figure out who they are.

#79   MiCR0

MiCR0
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Real Name:Cliff

Posted 14 February 2012 - 09:05

Hi there could be a good idea to add in http://www.oscommerc...tributions,1168 so you can check make sure there are no problems also help track who is not coming back from payment if you are using an off site gateway.

#80   oxwivi

oxwivi
  • Members
  • 250 posts
  • Real Name:Oxwivi Oxwil

Posted 14 February 2012 - 09:42

My test osC is stock 2.3.1 and the included modules. Unlike the report of PPS, the PPE button processes the order properly. But as I said, no option in the SCO itself, and two separate buttons might do very well to confuse the customers.