Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

USPS Rate V4, Intl Rate V2 (official support thread)


  • Please log in to reply
1336 replies to this topic

#61   heritageorchards

heritageorchards
  • Members
  • 13 posts
  • Real Name:john f

Posted 25 February 2012 - 19:45

Hello,
I am using USPS Rate V4 Intl Rate V2 - v.1.4
Is it possible to use the module for orders that are over 70Lbs? Say a customer orders 100 Lbs of material, can I set it to split the shipment into a 70 lb and 30 lb package? Right now it just charges the 70 lb rate no matter what the total package weight is.
Thanks!

John

#62   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 26 February 2012 - 17:09

Well, this looked like a VERY good alternative to the USPS Methods contrib until I got to the part about JQuery being required and not being able to run on pre-2.3.1 sites.

I have my site and several franchised operations out there running 2.2 and I'm not about to take them down and start from scratch with 2.3.1

Too bad, it's a good, clean contrib with enough functions to make it simple, yet effective but, for me, it's not worth all the work I'd have to do just to use it on all the US franchises.

Great work though.

Edited by Druid6900, 26 February 2012 - 17:10.

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#63   leonjp

leonjp
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Real Name:Leon

Posted 02 March 2012 - 18:12

Hi
running osCommerce 2.3.1
USPS module out of the box only showed library mail as shipping option
Installed USPS Methods and could not show First Class Parcel
Uninstalled USPS shipping
overwrote ALL catalog files with old backup files
Installed USPS Rate V4 - followed instructions
When I go to "check out" - checkout_shipping.php is blank
Am I missing something simple?
Should I have restored my database from an old backup?

#64   terryduncilsr

terryduncilsr
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:terry duncil sr

Posted 08 March 2012 - 17:03

Jetta

UPDATE**

it was the webhost blocking out going connections for free hosting , so i went paid and kabang, it works!!!

thanks

#65   jeffreyice1

jeffreyice1
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:Jeffrey Ice

Posted 09 March 2012 - 18:01

Help with your Fix!!! I install 2.3.1 about 6 weeks ago and was having issues with international rates. I saw your post and since its a new install I copied the files and ran the script provided. Now I get the following error. Any Ideas on how to correct. Or script to modify configuration_description. I tried manualy through the SQL Manager UI but looks like it does not work...

Thanks

1406 - Data too long for column 'configuration_description' at row 1

insert into configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, set_function, date_added) values ('Shipping Methods (Domestic and International)', 'MODULE_SHIPPING_USPS_TYPES', '0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00, 0, 70, 0.00', 'Checkbox: Select the services to be offered
Minimum Weight (lbs)first input field
Maximum Weight (lbs):second input field

USPS returns methods based on cart weights. These settings will allow further control (particularly helpful for flat rate methods) but will not override USPS limits', '6', '0', 'tep_cfg_usps_services(array(\'First-Class MailRM Large Envelope\', \'First-Class MailRM Parcel\', \'Media MailRM\', \'Parcel PostRM\', \'Priority MailRM\', \'Priority MailRM Flat Rate Envelope\', \'Priority MailRM Legal Flat Rate Envelope\', \'Priority MailRM Padded Flat Rate Envelope\', \'Priority MailRM Small Flat Rate Box\', \'Priority MailRM Medium Flat Rate Box\', \'Priority MailRM Large Flat Rate Box\', \'Priority MailRM Regional Rate Box A\', \'Priority MailRM Regional Rate Box B\', \'Priority MailRM Regional Rate Box C\', \'Express MailRM\', \'Express MailRM Flat Rate Envelope\', \'Express MailRM Legal Flat Rate Envelope\', \'Express MailRM Flat Rate Boxes\', \'First-Class MailRM International Large Envelope**\', \'First-Class MailRM International Parcel**\', \'Priority MailRM International\', \'Priority MailRM International Flat Rate Envelope**\', \'Priority MailRM International Small Flat Rate Box\', \'Priority MailRM International Medium Flat Rate Box\', \'Priority MailRM International Large Flat Rate Box\', \'Express MailRM International\', \'Express MailRM International Flat Rate Envelope\', \'Express MailRM International Flat Rate Boxes\', \'USPS GXGTM Envelopes**\', \'Global Express GuaranteedRM (GXG)**\'), ', now())

[TEP STOP]



Jetta, Both Fields are Text. The issue is with Description. That was set to varchar(255) I modified it to varchar(510) and the module installs. BUT THEN You can not edit (Just disapears) an no functionality in products. To me it seems like to much data is being inserted into the description field by mistake and all other fields are now incorrect. Im installed on windows 7 with mysql 5. Could there be an issue in the sql command installing the module?

Thanks

PS I did a new install and database of 2.3.1 and updated the files for usps on the new install. And same problem.

Edited by jeffreyice1, 09 March 2012 - 18:02.


#66   adanob

adanob
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Real Name:Adano Brown

Posted 10 March 2012 - 04:04

Hi:
Thanks for the reply. I am still working on the shipping module. I will figure it out eventually.

#67   CrassOne

CrassOne
  • Members
  • 88 posts
  • Real Name:Mark

Posted 13 March 2012 - 21:53

Hi Jetta et al,

I've been reading this thread and still have some confusion about upgrading to the new Rate Calculator V4:

Will this module (USPS Rate V4 Intl Rate V2) work in OSCommerce 2.2?
Which is the the most recent version with the full set of files?
If I just want to make the changes USPS requires to use the new V4 Rate Calculator, are there instructions for just that?

Thanks for any help.

#68   fqstore

fqstore
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Real Name:Don R
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 March 2012 - 12:27

Hi folks,
I am trying to run this version on my site and find it A PAIN! I am new to this and my web guy does not know much about commerce. My problem is are 2 fold.
  • The rates are not showing the correct prices. They are .75 cents off. Parcel Post is .85 cents off. When I look at the USPS shipping site the priority price does not match mine on my site. I entered the same weight for both sites.
  • Doing a test purchase shows the shipping module choosing first class large envelope for a product that weighs 1.6 pounds. Don't know how to make it choose a default that would be better suited.

I don't trust a customer to change the shipping option to the correct setting. I have this version and was careful to choose the latest from the commerce support site. I read on the fourm that many people are happy with the shipping module. I just wish that I was one of them and getting my site live on the internet. I cannot in good consious make it live knowing my site will be overcharging shipping.

Any help will be appreciated and I will send it on to my web guy.

Thanks,
Don

#69   fqstore

fqstore
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Real Name:Don R
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 March 2012 - 14:34

Jetta,

I have installed your latest version of USPS module. I am having a few issues.
  • An item that weighs 5 lbs is being choosen for a lrg 1st class envelope. It is first on the list. I would have thought that it would have defaulted to a parcel post. I need pp or regular priority to be picked when the item is heavy.
  • All of my prices are .75 cents high. Comparing to the USPS site the prices are not the same. My flat rates are not correct. They should be the current going rate and they are not. Community sponsor Dunweb tells me that I cannot use flat rate on the USPS module unless I make separate zones. I don't understand why.
  • I need to have an option for free shipping. This module my computer guy cannot get to work. http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/4475

I have read your posting as well as others stating how this module is esay to use. It has been anything but for me. Is it something we are doing or not doing correct? Many postings state that once they got this module installed the problems went away. I don't see anything be mentioned about problems like mine.

This is my first experience with commerce or a web site and my computer guy is not experienced in commerce either. I have been trying to get live now for a month working on the site, modules. I really would like to get this corrected and get live. Anybody that can help would really be appreciated.

Don

#70   jhande

jhande
  • Members
  • 2,236 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Hande
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Keene, NH USA

Posted 27 March 2012 - 18:17

I need to have an option for free shipping. This module my computer guy cannot get to work. http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/4475

Don


Hey Don,

That contribution was designed to work (haha) with osC v2.2, if you're running 2.3.1 it probably won't mix well.
Also check the support thread, lot's of problems with NO support. I'd look for another option.

Keep an eye on my thread maybe something will become helpful, especially for your computer guy.
- :: Jim :: -
- My Toolbox ~ Adobe Web Bundle, XAMPP & WinMerge | Install ~ osC v2.3.3.4 -

#71   fulluvscents

fulluvscents
  • Members
  • 305 posts
  • Real Name:Jetta
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana

Posted 29 March 2012 - 01:12

It's been a while. Sorry to miss all the questions.

@Druid6900

This mod SHOULD work in 2.2 sites functionally. It just won't show the shipping options to customers. Jquery is only used to display EXTRA options to the customer, not to grab rates or display those. However, I have not tested it in a 2.2 shop, so I don't make any guarantees. PLUS, if you do want to use the jquery features, then just add a javascript include reference to your template_top file and link to one of the CDN hosted jquery files. For example: http://code.jquery.c...ry-1.7.2.min.js

@fqstore

USPS shouldn't even be returning 1st class rates for a 5 lb package. If that is the case, then it's possibly something in the script I'll need to look at.

Free shipping is supplied in the order totals module. Under shipping, you can select free shipping. Or, I'm sure there's an actual shipping mod out there that you can use as well. What you will find however, is that enabling free shipping will shut off the other options, so if your customer does want to upgrade shipping and pay extra, they are out of luck. There is also a contribution to bypass this so that free and paid shipping options will both show.

@CrassOne

How is the new mod working in your 2.2 shop? Would you be so kind as to share your experience and the outcome?

NOTE TO ALL - this module uses functions that require PHP5.2 or higher. Since 5.2 was released two years ago, I would suspect that most shop owners have this version or better. If not, I'd suggest upgrading, not for the sake of this mod, but for the sake of all your scripts and any future upgrades you may want to make.

@heritageorchards

I think this is something you set up in your configuration, under shipping/packaging. The USPS mod will not do the math as to a 70 lb and a 30 lb package. If your max package weight is set at 100 lbs, then USPS will only charge for their max weight (70 lbs). If your max weight is set at 70, then the core script will break your order into two packages. USPS will then divide the total weight (100 lbs) by 2 and will charge the base rate and extra services for two 50 lb packages, with one shared handling fee. So, you need to set a reasonable max package weight in your main configuration settings.

#72   dculley

dculley
  • Members
  • 318 posts
  • Real Name:Dean Culley
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Charleston, SC (USA)

Posted 30 March 2012 - 01:22

I just loaded your add on. When I went to admin/modules and added USPS. then I went to edit it and received the following message: Fatal error: Call to undefined function tep_cfg_usps_services() in /home/content/l/a/d/lady3597/html/shop/catalog/admin/modules.php(232) : eval()'d code on line 1

Can you help?

#73   fulluvscents

fulluvscents
  • Members
  • 305 posts
  • Real Name:Jetta
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana

Posted 30 March 2012 - 07:08

Did you add the function to the admin/functions/general.php file?

Biggest mixup is making the changes to the catalog/functions/general.php instead of admin functions.

#74   rwest

rwest
  • Members
  • 81 posts
  • Real Name:Ron West
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WA

Posted 30 March 2012 - 19:43

I have just finished installing this contribution on my 2.2 test shop. I skipped the checkout_shipping.php, as the readme said that it isn't used pre-2.3.1. Is this correct?

I am seeing one error in my checkout_shipping page, however...-2147219101 Missing value for Service.

Either (I assume) I do need to add the code for checkout_shipping, or do I need to register for the V4 API tools? I am already registered for the older API, not sure if that UserID is still usable with V4.

Ron

#75   jeffreyice1

jeffreyice1
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:Jeffrey Ice

Posted 30 March 2012 - 21:48

Jetta, Any info on my post above?

Both Fields are Text. The issue is with Description. That was set to varchar(255) I modified it to varchar(510) and the module installs. BUT THEN You can not edit (Just disapears) an no functionality in products. To me it seems like to much data is being inserted into the description field by mistake and all other fields are now incorrect. Im installed on windows 7 with mysql 5. Could there be an issue in the sql command installing the module?

Thanks

PS I did a new install and database of 2.3.1 and updated the files for usps on the new install. And same problem

#76   dculley

dculley
  • Members
  • 318 posts
  • Real Name:Dean Culley
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Charleston, SC (USA)

Posted 30 March 2012 - 23:41

Hi Jetta,

On the files that download there was not general.php to modify. only changed the categoreis.php files and uploaded the usps.php.

Where is this php?

#77   dculley

dculley
  • Members
  • 318 posts
  • Real Name:Dean Culley
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Charleston, SC (USA)

Posted 31 March 2012 - 00:04

in searching for tep_cfg_usps_services. the line is on 325 of the USPS.php that was uploaded. I hope this helps you find out the problem. Thanks

#78   rwest

rwest
  • Members
  • 81 posts
  • Real Name:Ron West
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WA

Posted 31 March 2012 - 02:21

Please see my post #74 from earlier today. I have solved my error, I had not installed all files. However, I now get no USPS data on the checkout_shipping page, and clicking continue does not advance to the checkout_payment page.

Can anyone tell me if a new registration for the API RateV4 tools is needed? As I mentioned previously, I have a UserID from the older API tools. At this point I don't know if I have errors in my code, or simply need a new UserID.

Thank you.

#79   fulluvscents

fulluvscents
  • Members
  • 305 posts
  • Real Name:Jetta
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Fort Wayne, Indiana

Posted 31 March 2012 - 03:03

@jeffreyice1

If the description is too long, try setting that to text as well. If that doesn't work, let me know.

@rwest

I got the exact same error last night when installing the zencart USPS mod on a zen shop. I don't know what it was, but I clicked a few things in admin and made it go away. Not being my script, I wasn't going to mess with it. Now that I am aware that it's affecting this mod as well, I'll try to look into it and see what that is. If you change anything in admin to make it go away, would you post what changes you made, so it will help me pinpoint the source of the problem?

If it's not returning rates, make sure you've selected shipping options, and that you have your zip code set in your configuration settings. Those are the first things that pop to mind. And if that doesn't work, then find the line that is commented with the TEP_MAIL function. Uncomment it, run the cart for a test run, and see what gets sent to you in the email.

No need to upgrade your API username.

@dculley

The function isn't defined, because the general.php file wasn't modified. It sounds like you installed one of the "add ons" for the mod, and not the mod itself. ADD-ON USPS restrict Methods by Product I uploaded the add ons to the same page because they ONLY work with that USPS mod. Sorry if it's confusing. The versions are in order of least to most options. At the bottom is a plain mod without extras. As you go higher, they get more "souped up". The highest full package is USPS Rate V4 Intl Rate V2 - v.1.7 - FIX

You can open any version, addon, or compatibility pack, for a description of that particular download.

Edited by fulluvscents, 31 March 2012 - 03:05.


#80   rwest

rwest
  • Members
  • 81 posts
  • Real Name:Ron West
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WA

Posted 31 March 2012 - 03:29

Thank you, Jetta.

Well, I do have my zip configured for my store. I notice that after I edit and save the services, text gets stored in the min and max fields. Initially for 1st-Class Lg. Env min=0 max=70 and Handling=0.00. After saving this, and going back in, the values have now changed. min=First Class Mail max=0 and Handling=70. Also, the selection checks get cleared.

Thank you.