Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

FedEx - Web Services v9


  • Please log in to reply
628 replies to this topic

#61   luvubeauty

luvubeauty
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:02

Easiest thing to do is change hosting. Use of SOAP is becoming increasingly common in web services so a hosting company that refuses to install it is not eCommerce friendly.

I can't just pick up and switch hosts. I am in a contract in which I have paid for a while. I have lots of different shipping modules that work without a problem right now, if it is just this one, then I will move onto a different add-on, instead of starting fresh.

Can you tell us where that code is suppose to go please?
Do you know what the differences are between pear soap and soap?

#62   luvubeauty

luvubeauty
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:04

Canada Post is on a nation-wide strike. No mail or parcels are going anywhere through them.

The Canada Post module still works fine.


Right now, what I am going to do is I changed the text on my shipping page of the Canada Post add-on to read fedex and up'ed the rate up a class or two to cover the additional cost.

#63   FlyingKites

FlyingKites

    Projects Director

  • Partner
  • 1,441 posts
  • Real Name:Kym
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:New York

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:11

I can't just pick up and switch hosts. I am in a contract in which I have paid for a while. I have lots of different shipping modules that work without a problem right now, if it is just this one, then I will move onto a different add-on, instead of starting fresh.

Can you tell us where that code is suppose to go please?
Do you know what the differences are between pear soap and soap?

You need to ask your hosting. How well they respond in a crisis is an indicator of how good a hosting company they are. They don't sound too good to me.
Kym
We support qdPM Open Framework Project Management

#64   FlyingKites

FlyingKites

    Projects Director

  • Partner
  • 1,441 posts
  • Real Name:Kym
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:New York

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:14

Canada Post is on a nation-wide strike. No mail or parcels are going anywhere through them.

The Canada Post module still works fine.

If you don't need FedEx long term then I suggest you do what the other person suggested and adjust the Canada Post handling fee to try and cover any additional costs to send via FedEx.

Or install the old FedEx module.
Kym
We support qdPM Open Framework Project Management

#65   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:14

Right now, what I am going to do is I changed the text on my shipping page of the Canada Post add-on to read FedEx and up'ed the rate up a class or two to cover the additional cost.


Well, if you can figure out a way to do that (don't forget to change the CP logo for the FX logo), you are looking at about a 50% increase in the cost and the options you get from CP aren't going to match the ones from FedEx.

Good luck with that and, if there was another FedEx module that worked, we wouldn't be having this quaint conversation /biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#66   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:19

If you don't need FedEx long term then I suggest you do what the other person suggested and adjust the Canada Post handling fee to try and cover any additional costs to send via FedEx.

Or install the old FedEx module.


I adopted the Canada Post module for a while and even modded it to allow people to add a percentage of the shipping as a handling charge, so, I know the code pretty well. What she is going to try and do isn't going to be easy and make it look right.

The old FedEx module won't work because they aren't giving out meter codes for it any more.

Edited by Druid6900, 17 June 2011 - 19:19.

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#67   luvubeauty

luvubeauty
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:28

Well, if you can figure out a way to do that (don't forget to change the CP logo for the FX logo), you are looking at about a 50% increase in the cost and the options you get from CP aren't going to match the ones from FedEx.

Good luck with that and, if there was another FedEx module that worked, we wouldn't be having this quaint conversation /biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

I only really offer one service with Canada Post nationally, that is expedited. Not hard to change the text, take out the image and up the prices through the canada post profile. Right now i am offering the same cost through fedex as canada post anyways because of the stupid strike until I figure this out. I am still searching and searching for a result.

Oh and my company prices for Fedex are far from a 50% increase which makes it easier to choose what level in the shipping profile on the canada post website

Edited by luvubeauty, 17 June 2011 - 19:29.


#68   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 June 2011 - 19:33

I only really offer one service with Canada Post nationally, that is expedited. Not hard to change the text, take out the image and up the prices through the canada post profile. Right now i am offering the same cost through fedex as canada post anyways because of the stupid strike until I figure this out. I am still searching and searching for a result.

Oh and my company prices for Fedex are far from a 50% increase which makes it easier to choose what level in the shipping profile on the canada post website


OK, well, then it may just work well for you. We use CP for everything because the price/performance ratio is much higher (in our experience) than any courier. In the thousands of items we have shipped, CP has never lost or damaged a single one, something I can't say for the couriers we used to have and no longer use.
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#69   luvubeauty

luvubeauty
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 17 June 2011 - 20:29

I honestly don't think it has to do with this whole soap issue. I have two fedex modules added on and nothing is showing up during checkout, no rates, no errors...nothing! Did I miss something? I remember having this issue with the UPS addon but I can't remember what the fix was /sad.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':(' />

#70   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 June 2011 - 21:07

I honestly don't think it has to do with this whole soap issue. I have two fedex modules added on and nothing is showing up during checkout, no rates, no errors...nothing! Did I miss something? I remember having this issue with the UPS addon but I can't remember what the fix was /sad.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':(' />


Well, if you are trying to use the direct API version, it won't work because the meter number you have won't work with it and they aren't giving out any new meter numbers for it as it is being retired.

The web services version is the one that will work, but, it requires the soap extension to work.

Same results, two different causes.

Basically, for the reasons stated above, your hosting computer isn't connecting to the FedEx computer, so, you aren't getting any displayable data back.
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#71   luvubeauty

luvubeauty
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 17 June 2011 - 21:24

Well, if you are trying to use the direct API version, it won't work because the meter number you have won't work with it and they aren't giving out any new meter numbers for it as it is being retired.

The web services version is the one that will work, but, it requires the soap extension to work.

Same results, two different causes.

Basically, for the reasons stated above, your hosting computer isn't connecting to the FedEx computer, so, you aren't getting any displayable data back.

Who's your host?

#72   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 June 2011 - 22:59

Who's your host?


EasyCGI, who's yours (is this like, you show me yours...) Umm, nevermind LMAO.
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#73   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 18 June 2011 - 23:01

Since this whole PHP SOAP vs Pear SOAP started, I've been doing a little research and, just FYI, if you have any of the following Endurance International Group owned ISPs, chances you have PHP SOAP compiled into your *ix Apache code is pretty slim. Chances that you'll be able to get them to install it, unless you go to the EIG website and scream long and loud, are slim as well. If you have a Windows server (.asp) you MAY have PHP SOAP Lite which MAY or MAY NOT work with this module. I don't know for sure. You WILL need PHP SOAP for this module to function correctly because FedEx has switched from a API model to a Web Service model. EIG are the hosting equivalent of The Borg. All in one Data Center, all set up the same, and your individual needs are irrelavent, Just the names are different. Look them up....

The ISPs are; www.2slick.com, AccountSupport, www.apollohosting.com, www.berryinfosysllc.com, www.bizland.com, www.bluedomino.com, www.carielweb.com, www.computersconcepts.net, www.dollar2host.com, www.dot5hosting.com, DomainHost, www.easycgi.com, www.ehost.com, www.entryhost.com, www.fatcow.com, www.freeyellow.com, www.globat.com, www.hostaday.com, www.hostcentric.com, www.hostingbyexcel.com, www.hostwithmenow.com, www.hostyoursite.com, www.hypermart.net, IMOutdoorsHosting, www.ipage.com, www.ipower.com, IpowerWeb, www.myresellerhome.com, www.networkshosting.com, www.osullivansystems.com, www.powweb.com, www.purehost.com, www.readyhosting.co.uk, www.readyhosting.com, www.sabapro.com, www.southeastweb.com, www.spry.com, www.startlogic.com, www.tighthost.com, www.usanethosting.com, www.VirtualAve.net, www.vpslink.com, www.web2010.com, www.webdevhosting.com, www.webhost4life.com, WebstrikeSolutions, www.xeran.com, YourWebHosting, www.zipitdesigns.com

This list is from 04/2010 and they have "acquired" several more hosting providers since then. The names without a www or .whatever are dead and gone.

Even if they do say the will install the extensions, be prepared to wait. I have been waiting, oh, about 32 hours for a 45 minute re-compile.

There ARE other ISPs out there that supply PHP SOAP on all their packages, regardless of price or flavour and that aren't owned by EIG. You just have to look for them. I found the one I'm going to if this takes too much longer.

I hope this list helps to prevent people from beating their heads against the wall trying to get this contribution to work.

The FedEx Direct API module will not work. If you have an account and meter # for it already, it will work until they take it down and you will have to go to the Web Service module (this one) and, if you have one of the above ISPs, chances are you are going to be SOL

Edited by Druid6900, 18 June 2011 - 23:05.

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#74   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 19 June 2011 - 20:13

OK, still waiting for them to put the SOAP extension on my server (I don't think they are actually going to do it, but, the ticket is still open, I just haven't heard anything from anyone in 2 1/2 days).

While I was waiting, I went to the EIG website and kicked on their door. Here is what I got back.

Richard,

Thank you for reaching out to us directly with your feedback. I can understand your concern and appreciate the importance this functionality has on your business. I’m going to forward this request to our Product and Engineering department for review and consideration.

As you can imagine, any changes that we make to the infrastructure will have an impact to all customers on the platform. That being said, sometimes we are faced with changes like this that could potentially open us up to a security hole or have other adverse problems to the customer base as a whole. However, you make a persuasive argument that we need to consider very closely.

I can’t guarantee that we will go forward with this change, but I will send you an update as soon as I have more information on the subject.

Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback,

-Ernie Lopez

Director, Technical Support Department.


Now, I don't know if this is sincere or just a nice "take a hike" reply, but, they are aware of the issue.

However, I'm not sure I care to wait around to find out.

I made a lengthy reply to the above, so, we'll see what happens tomorrow.
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#75   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 21 June 2011 - 22:30

OK, latest developments.

Received this e-mail today, which surprised the hell out of me;

Richard,

I’ve had an opportunity to discuss this with my Network team. As it stands, we do have the intention of adding this functionality but we are a month or two away. In essence, we need to recompile PHP and while that is simple enough, the regression testing that goes along with that will take some time. We need to make sure that we don’t have any compatibility issues upon recompile and that means methodically go over everything with a fine tooth comb before going to production.

I can keep you in the loop as far as when we plan to push forward but it will be month or so before we have more info.

-Ernie


Still 1 to 2 months away from PHP SOAP on the EIG servers, HOWEVER, I am working with some of their technical staff to get this module implemented correctly on servers with PEAR SOAP, for now.

When they mod and test the code (I'm not a coder) and I test it on my site (no PHP SOAP) and see if it works or not, I will not only let you know, I will bring the modded code back here for others that are have the same problem as I (and others) are.

There is a good chance that Mr. Lopez will give this effort his blessing and we'll have it sooner rather than later.

Edited by Druid6900, 21 June 2011 - 22:31.

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#76   takiko

takiko
  • Members
  • 91 posts
  • Real Name:Karen
  • Gender:Female

Posted 22 June 2011 - 23:27

The module works so I am not sure why it does not work on your site. YOu are saying that when you get to checkout_shipping the entire page is blank? Hvae you done the Soap test to see that soap is installed on your server?


i have checked my sever, it said the soap is enable and php version is 5.1.6
what can I do to fix the error?

#77   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 23 June 2011 - 00:27

i have checked my sever, it said the soap is enable and php version is 5.1.6
what can I do to fix the error?


OK, I went back through the posts and in one of them, you said that you were missing a couple of the items that you need to fill in on the Admin panel for this module.

Did you ever get the additional codes to fill in?

Your need:

FedEx Web Services Key
FedEx Web Services Password
FedEx Meter Number
FedEx Account Number

The last one you probably have as it is the one for your standard FedEx account. For the other 3, you need to call FedEx and tell them you want to use their Web Services. They will take you through the procedure, talking you through it over the phone, of what to click on to, first, get your test server credentials and then your production server credentials.

After you get those three, it should just be a matter of plugging them in and away you go.
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#78   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 23 June 2011 - 00:46

Well, after spending a couple of hours on the phone with a technical support team from my ISP, easyCGI (yes, it's in the EIG list), it appears that the module can't be easily modded to work with PEAR SOAP. A re-wrire seems to be what is needed.

So, that is that if you are on the EIG list in a previous post. The time frame for PHP SOAP, which is what this module really needs, is, as I said earlier, one to two months.

For those of you on EIG servers who are still using the old API model, you should be fine until the PHP SOAP roll-out and then you can switch to this module.

For those of us that were switching because of the Canada Post strike, well, they should be legislated back to work the end of this week or the beginning of next, so we can go back to CP and wait until the PHP roll-out to add this shipping module.

For those that are new, on an EIG server and want to add this module, you'll either have to wait or switch to an ISP that has PHP SOAP.

I did what I could, EIG did what they could and the scope of the required change was outside of what they do about code that won't run. They see the need for PHP SOAP and they also see the need to roll it out in a responsible manner.

If anyone HAS re-written this application so that it runs under PEAR SOAP, I'd be glad to hear about it.
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

#79   luvubeauty

luvubeauty
  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 23 June 2011 - 01:32

Well, after spending a couple of hours on the phone with a technical support team from my ISP, easyCGI (yes, it's in the EIG list), it appears that the module can't be easily modded to work with PEAR SOAP. A re-wrire seems to be what is needed.

So, that is that if you are on the EIG list in a previous post. The time frame for PHP SOAP, which is what this module really needs, is, as I said earlier, one to two months.

For those of you on EIG servers who are still using the old API model, you should be fine until the PHP SOAP roll-out and then you can switch to this module.

For those of us that were switching because of the Canada Post strike, well, they should be legislated back to work the end of this week or the beginning of next, so we can go back to CP and wait until the PHP roll-out to add this shipping module.

For those that are new, on an EIG server and want to add this module, you'll either have to wait or switch to an ISP that has PHP SOAP.

I did what I could, EIG did what they could and the scope of the required change was outside of what they do about code that won't run. They see the need for PHP SOAP and they also see the need to roll it out in a responsible manner.

If anyone HAS re-written this application so that it runs under PEAR SOAP, I'd be glad to hear about it.


LOL, I am with Startlogic. Sorry it took so long to reply. I had to step away for a few days or I was going to loose my mind! Once I did more searching throughout my admin area, it noticed quite a few errors because I have a heavily mod'ed site...so I ended up deleted it anyways, I just didn't have time to start messing with everything. I might approach it again in a while though (a while meaning when I get my sanity back LOL).
I still don't quite get the difference between php soap and pear soap though, I searched and searched and my tech support was no help, they had the nerve to tell me to google it. I nearly lost my mind on them! Either way, I can't obviously do anything anytime soon :@

#80   Druid6900

Druid6900
  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • Real Name:Richard
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 23 June 2011 - 01:58

LOL, I am with Startlogic. Sorry it took so long to reply. I had to step away for a few days or I was going to loose my mind! Once I did more searching throughout my admin area, it noticed quite a few errors because I have a heavily mod'ed site...so I ended up deleted it anyways, I just didn't have time to start messing with everything. I might approach it again in a while though (a while meaning when I get my sanity back LOL).
I still don't quite get the difference between php soap and pear soap though, I searched and searched and my tech support was no help, they had the nerve to tell me to google it. I nearly lost my mind on them! Either way, I can't obviously do anything anytime soon :@


Yes, it's been a rather trying experience for me as well, but, we gave it our best shot.

OK, let me see if I can explain the difference.

The "operating system" of non-Windows servers is a bunch of code called Apache. Basically, it handles the "calls" from all the code that makes up you OsCommerce store (for example) and directs those calls to the "libraries" that handles what that code wants to do.

With PHP SOAP, the SOAP "library" is part of the Apache code so, any module that "calls" for a SOAP function is handled automatically.

With PEAR SOAP, the way it works is as a "stand-alone" program outside of the Apache code. Therefore, if you want a SOAP function handled, you have to build the module to "call" any of the functions individually. So, if you are writing code for the stand-alone PEAR SOAP, you have to include these calls which you wouldn't have to if you had the PHP SOAP extension installed because the Apache code would handle them all without the calls.

Here is the ultimate simplified explanation; PHP Soap is an automatic transmission, PEAR SOAP is a 4 speed manual transmission LOL
No Good Deed Goes Unpunished