Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

[Addon} Modular Front Page


  • Please log in to reply
1061 replies to this topic

#281   bob815

bob815
  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 22 May 2011 - 04:08

Jim
Thanks for the fast reply and the fix.Would I be better off going with the Modular SEO Header Tags?

#282   kymation

kymation

    Code Monkey

  • Community Sponsor
  • 8,288 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Keebaugh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen WA USA

Posted 22 May 2011 - 04:14

It's up to you. Modular SEO Header Tags is a set of 2.3.1 modules, so there's very few changes to existing files. However, it is only header tags, so you'll need to get your social bookmarks from a separate Addon. Fortunately there's a number of those.

Regards
Jim

My Addons

Banners Box Download Support
Categories Accordion Box Download Support
Closest Shipper 2.2x Support
Document Manager 2.2x Support
Generic Box Download Support
Get 1 Free 2.2x Support
Modular Front Page Download Support
Modular SEO Header Tags Download Support
MVS 2.2x Support
PDF Datasheet Download Support
Price in Cart Only/MAPP Download Support
Price Updater 2.2x
Products Specifications 2.3.x Development Version Support Bugs/Suggestions
Request a Review Download Support
Shopping List Download Support New!
Specials Image Overlay Download Support
Superfish Categories Box Download Support
Theme Switcher 2.3+ Support  Updated


#283   yadetar

yadetar
  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Real Name:Janina
  • Gender:Female

Posted 22 May 2011 - 18:44

Hello all,

First of all, thank you so much for this great addon! I like especially the scroller and banner rotator.

Just a simple question. Where can I change the color of the scroller border? What file? I've searched around, but cannot find.

Thanks,
yadetar

#284   kymation

kymation

    Code Monkey

  • Community Sponsor
  • 8,288 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Keebaugh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen WA USA

Posted 22 May 2011 - 21:38

In catalog/includes/modules/front_page/scroller, Line 136:
        $header .= '  border: 1px solid #000;' . "\n";

It's standard CSS.

Regards
Jim

My Addons

Banners Box Download Support
Categories Accordion Box Download Support
Closest Shipper 2.2x Support
Document Manager 2.2x Support
Generic Box Download Support
Get 1 Free 2.2x Support
Modular Front Page Download Support
Modular SEO Header Tags Download Support
MVS 2.2x Support
PDF Datasheet Download Support
Price in Cart Only/MAPP Download Support
Price Updater 2.2x
Products Specifications 2.3.x Development Version Support Bugs/Suggestions
Request a Review Download Support
Shopping List Download Support New!
Specials Image Overlay Download Support
Superfish Categories Box Download Support
Theme Switcher 2.3+ Support  Updated


#285   Greecom

Greecom
  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Real Name:polak
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2011 - 23:33

Hi
First thank you for a really perfect add-on very nice also the instruction manual perfect.
After installing I got everything working perfectly but I have also installed KISS_Error_Handling_Debugging and when I enable specials on front page its show one error do you know where the problem can be?
Thanks and again great.

Error Handling:
E_NOTICE Error Count: 4
Error: Undefined index: tax_id
File: includes/modules/front_page/specials.php
Line: 89

#286   kymation

kymation

    Code Monkey

  • Community Sponsor
  • 8,288 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Keebaugh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen WA USA

Posted 23 May 2011 - 00:42

That's an error on my part. Change Line 89 to this:
            $products_price .= '<span class="productSpecialPrice">' . $currencies->display_price($specials_products['specials_new_products_price'], tep_get_tax_rate($specials_products['products_tax_class_id'])) . '</span>';

Regards
Jim

My Addons

Banners Box Download Support
Categories Accordion Box Download Support
Closest Shipper 2.2x Support
Document Manager 2.2x Support
Generic Box Download Support
Get 1 Free 2.2x Support
Modular Front Page Download Support
Modular SEO Header Tags Download Support
MVS 2.2x Support
PDF Datasheet Download Support
Price in Cart Only/MAPP Download Support
Price Updater 2.2x
Products Specifications 2.3.x Development Version Support Bugs/Suggestions
Request a Review Download Support
Shopping List Download Support New!
Specials Image Overlay Download Support
Superfish Categories Box Download Support
Theme Switcher 2.3+ Support  Updated


#287   Greecom

Greecom
  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Real Name:polak
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 May 2011 - 02:20

That's an error on my part. Change Line 89 to this:

            $products_price .= '<span class="productSpecialPrice">' . $currencies->display_price($specials_products['specials_new_products_price'], tep_get_tax_rate($specials_products['products_tax_class_id'])) . '</span>';

Regards
Jim


Thank You
Works like a Charm

#288   Greecom

Greecom
  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Real Name:polak
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 May 2011 - 16:35

Hi Jim
Found another error on home page when I change language its show this error

Error Handling:
E_WARNING Error Count: 1
Error: constant(): Couldn't find constant MODULE_FRONT_PAGE_TEXT_MAIN_CZECH
File: includes/modules/front_page/text_main.php
Line: 47

Greecom

#289   kymation

kymation

    Code Monkey

  • Community Sponsor
  • 8,288 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Keebaugh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen WA USA

Posted 23 May 2011 - 16:43

That happens when you install a new language after installing this module, or when you have a language that is improperly installed.

Regards
Jim

My Addons

Banners Box Download Support
Categories Accordion Box Download Support
Closest Shipper 2.2x Support
Document Manager 2.2x Support
Generic Box Download Support
Get 1 Free 2.2x Support
Modular Front Page Download Support
Modular SEO Header Tags Download Support
MVS 2.2x Support
PDF Datasheet Download Support
Price in Cart Only/MAPP Download Support
Price Updater 2.2x
Products Specifications 2.3.x Development Version Support Bugs/Suggestions
Request a Review Download Support
Shopping List Download Support New!
Specials Image Overlay Download Support
Superfish Categories Box Download Support
Theme Switcher 2.3+ Support  Updated


#290   Greecom

Greecom
  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Real Name:polak
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 May 2011 - 16:53

That happens when you install a new language after installing this module, or when you have a language that is improperly installed.

Regards
Jim


WOW you are fast
thanks for that fast replay

#291   yadetar

yadetar
  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Real Name:Janina
  • Gender:Female

Posted 23 May 2011 - 19:48

Thank you so much Jim!

BR,
yadetar

In catalog/includes/modules/front_page/scroller, Line 136:

        $header .= '  border: 1px solid #000;' . "\n";

It's standard CSS.

Regards
Jim



#292   bob815

bob815
  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 20:45

Jim,
I need some advice. I've followed all the install directions and everything seems to be working properly as far as the install goes. I'm one of those guys that read instructions but need examples for the instructions to make sense.My web site involves selling photographs of actors and I've uploaded over 5000 of them. The way I've designed the site my first category breaks them down by "afpha order" ie "Actor H"; the second category is by name say "Hanks,T" and then I might have 10 photographs of Tom Hanks in various movies. To upload all these photographs I copied and pasted in the db so basicly they all have the same info in the product name and description ie 1 photo would say Tom Hanks<br>Movie:Forrest Gump<br>Co-Star: Sally Fields then I have a reference photo with a heading of Sally Fields <br>Movie:Forrest Gump<br>Co-Star: Tom Hanks which would be under the "Actor F category sub category "Fields,S". I could have another photograph (product) that would have the identical name and description only with a different item number because its a different picture even though it too may have Fields and Hanks in the photo also. When I run the "Test" these are the errors that kick back in the hundreds. Should I just eliminate the tags for all products and just tag the "Actor H" and "Hanks,T" categories and if so what would the step by step procedure be? Thanks so much for your help and quick response. Your the first person I've come across that gives this kind of help so fast. Thanks again ....Bob

Test Results
Duplicate title found: explain
for English
exists more than once.

Duplicate meta description found: explain

for English
exists more than once.

Missing Title and/or descriptions: explain

#293   kymation

kymation

    Code Monkey

  • Community Sponsor
  • 8,288 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Keebaugh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen WA USA

Posted 23 May 2011 - 20:56

I'm not sure what you're asking here. If it's duplicate meta tags, you need to install something like Modular SEO Header Tags and use the Insert modules to add your own tags. Or you could fix your page titles and descriptions to be more unique. The meta tag addons have their own support threads, so you should ask there.

Regards
Jim

My Addons

Banners Box Download Support
Categories Accordion Box Download Support
Closest Shipper 2.2x Support
Document Manager 2.2x Support
Generic Box Download Support
Get 1 Free 2.2x Support
Modular Front Page Download Support
Modular SEO Header Tags Download Support
MVS 2.2x Support
PDF Datasheet Download Support
Price in Cart Only/MAPP Download Support
Price Updater 2.2x
Products Specifications 2.3.x Development Version Support Bugs/Suggestions
Request a Review Download Support
Shopping List Download Support New!
Specials Image Overlay Download Support
Superfish Categories Box Download Support
Theme Switcher 2.3+ Support  Updated


#294   bob815

bob815
  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 22:34

Jim,
Thanks for the fast reply.I'll go back and re-read the instructions again. Maybe it might sink in.This SEO stuff is much more complicated than I need it to be. I just don't know enough about it to communicate it properly. Sorry for wasting your time....Bob

#295   PanTira

PanTira
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 28 May 2011 - 17:44

Hi,

Thanks for the great addon!
Works fine, but I have a little problem.
In the special box on the front page, the original price displayed in gross but the special price in net.
Can you help me, how do I change this?

Thanks
Regards

#296   kymation

kymation

    Code Monkey

  • Community Sponsor
  • 8,288 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Keebaugh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen WA USA

Posted 28 May 2011 - 17:52

Answered here.

Regards
Jim

My Addons

Banners Box Download Support
Categories Accordion Box Download Support
Closest Shipper 2.2x Support
Document Manager 2.2x Support
Generic Box Download Support
Get 1 Free 2.2x Support
Modular Front Page Download Support
Modular SEO Header Tags Download Support
MVS 2.2x Support
PDF Datasheet Download Support
Price in Cart Only/MAPP Download Support
Price Updater 2.2x
Products Specifications 2.3.x Development Version Support Bugs/Suggestions
Request a Review Download Support
Shopping List Download Support New!
Specials Image Overlay Download Support
Superfish Categories Box Download Support
Theme Switcher 2.3+ Support  Updated


#297   PanTira

PanTira
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Real Name:Tira

Posted 28 May 2011 - 19:24

Answered here.

Regards
Jim


Ohh sorry...
Thanks for fast reply!

regards

#298   gshutzy

gshutzy
  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Real Name:graham shuttleworth
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:lancashire,uk

Posted 10 June 2011 - 16:10

could someone help please. i have searched this thread for the answer but i could not find it. maybe because it is so obvious.

i installed this sometime ago and when i started to have a play it re-arranged all my index. by this i mean that if say i chose customer greeting = true. that would not remove the original customer greeting and just add it at the bottom of the screen. in fact it seems to do this to all the modules that this add-on has. the scroll is on there at the moment but it looks fine at the bottom.


any help?
please tell me if i dont make sence, i ramble most of the time.

#299   kymation

kymation

    Code Monkey

  • Community Sponsor
  • 8,288 posts
  • Real Name:Jim Keebaugh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen WA USA

Posted 10 June 2011 - 16:46

You messed up the changes to catalog/index.php. Go take another look at it.

Regards
Jim

My Addons

Banners Box Download Support
Categories Accordion Box Download Support
Closest Shipper 2.2x Support
Document Manager 2.2x Support
Generic Box Download Support
Get 1 Free 2.2x Support
Modular Front Page Download Support
Modular SEO Header Tags Download Support
MVS 2.2x Support
PDF Datasheet Download Support
Price in Cart Only/MAPP Download Support
Price Updater 2.2x
Products Specifications 2.3.x Development Version Support Bugs/Suggestions
Request a Review Download Support
Shopping List Download Support New!
Specials Image Overlay Download Support
Superfish Categories Box Download Support
Theme Switcher 2.3+ Support  Updated


#300   gshutzy

gshutzy
  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Real Name:graham shuttleworth
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:lancashire,uk

Posted 10 June 2011 - 17:20

sorry to bother you again but i have downloaded winmerge. very useful tool. i have gone throught the idex and made the changes required but my index now looks like this.

www.vanity-flai-uk.com

could you please tell me where my left column is and why my right column is at the bottom.

sorry for sounding like a novice.

thanks for you help tho. i can see this as being very easy to use(once i have it set up)

haha, i have found that when i enable the customer greeting the left and right columns change.

Edited by gshutzy, 10 June 2011 - 17:25.