• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

IDEA ! (For oscommerce forums)

Ramesh

Hi all,

I was thinking....would it not be useful if we had a section for new users (begineers ) and a section for advanced users.

Maybe split General Chat into two ?

Makes it easier for the two groups to focus on their section.

(and when we have a moment , we can dive in and help those new users

who are in the same position as us many months ago)

Just a thought...what do you think ?

Regards,

Ramesh

Special Effects / 3d + Flash

:D That would be my question too? The number of posts one makes certainly doesn't qualify them as an expert by any means......I post a lot, I try to help where I can...but, write an original piece of code???? I don't thin so.... :lol:

:idea: I'm sure most users would classify themselves. I come from a background in perl and living in a perl enviornment until I came over here to osC. I'm still a beginner in many parts of the system eventhough I'm working on a fourth version of my mod. I personally would head to the beginner section for some points and and the advanced forum for others.

Let the user decide :wink:

Since we're talking about forum structures. I would really like to see a code related forum. I hate asking for php help in the General Chat forum. Also, I think that such a forum would draw more of the php experienced people back into the forums more often.

NewsDesk(934) / FAQDesk(1106) / OrderCheck(1168) :::

I mentioned a beginners channel a while back and the only response was BirdBrain and she was all for it.

I do see one draw back though, is that some of these newbies have a habit of posting in the wrong forums now, what is the chance that they will do it when there is a beginners forum.

I'm also all for deviding up the forums a little more. I thought the addition of General Chit Chat and My Store was wonderful . In fact this thread should be in General ChitChat not General Chat.

Steve