Jump to content



Photo
* * * * - 10 votes

ULTIMATE Seo Urls 5 - by FWR Media


  • Please log in to reply
4057 replies to this topic

#41   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 24 May 2009 - 20:22

Worked it out (I think) Changed the '/' to 'index.php' and all now works as expected


To be correct (html/php it would be ..
<img src="images/m03.jpg" width="329" height="34" alt=""><a href="<?php echo tep_href_link(FILENAME_DEFAULT); ?>"><img class="gradualfader" src="images/m05.gif" width="77" height="34" border="0" alt="One of a Kind - Home"></a>

Don't use short tags <? it is deprecated and will cause issues in the future <? is an xml tag php tags should be

<?php
?>

#42   stevea1234

stevea1234
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Real Name:Steve A

Posted 24 May 2009 - 20:29

To be correct (html/php it would be ..

<img src="images/m03.jpg" width="329" height="34" alt=""><a href="<?php echo tep_href_link(FILENAME_DEFAULT); ?>"><img class="gradualfader" src="images/m05.gif" width="77" height="34" border="0" alt="One of a Kind - Home"></a>

Don't use short tags <? it is deprecated and will cause issues in the future <? is an xml tag php tags should be

<?php
?>



Still learning!! The site is based on a very badly edited template and I'm trying my best to correct the many, many errors.

#43   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 25 May 2009 - 10:15

Ultimate by name ultimate by nature.

Update coming soon!

Three super fast admin selectable cache methods.

1) Existing file based cache. (No MySQL queries after full cache load).

2) Fast MySQL cache requiring 1 database query after full cache load.

3) The lightening fast Memcached!
For larger shops on dedicated servers/VPS this is the ultimate speed solution. Requires php_memcache.dll in php.ini and memcached daemon compiled into apache.

Read about memcached

So you can choose the most efficient cache method for your individual online shop.

#44   stevea1234

stevea1234
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Real Name:Steve A

Posted 25 May 2009 - 10:23

Is V5 compatible with Links Manager II http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/5272 ?

When I turn SEO Urls on I get a page not found error when selecting the links category.

Thanks

Steve

#45   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 25 May 2009 - 10:33

Is V5 compatible with Links Manager II http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/5272 ?

When I turn SEO Urls on I get a page not found error when selecting the links category.

Thanks

Steve


Never looked at it .. I'll have a look this evening Steve.

The current links contribution module expects the following: -

The seo url marker to be -links-

The _GET key to be named lPath and to be an integer.

The query is looking in table TABLE_LINK_CATEGORIES_DESCRIPTION for the field link_categories_name

Edited by FWR Media, 25 May 2009 - 10:34.


#46   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 25 May 2009 - 15:16

New Version Uploaded

Update from revision 65 to 67:

Changelog:

Added 2 cache systems so there are now 3 fast cache systems available via admin.

1) FileSystem
2) Database
3) Memcached (requires Memcached compiled in apache and installed in php.ini)

The superfast Memcached option is really for those with larger shops on a dedicated server/VPS as it is unlikely to be available on shared hosting.

Edited by FWR Media, 25 May 2009 - 15:30.


#47   jwilkins

jwilkins
  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Real Name:James Wilkins
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull, UK

Posted 26 May 2009 - 09:04

Hi Rob,

Thanks for the release of your Ultimate SEO Urls 5 - the install went smoothly and all is working perfectly!

I have a question regarding two of your contributions that I have installed on my store in development (I'm about a week away from releasing it and am doing a 'genereal tidy up'):

Google Duplicate Content Manager v1.0 and Independant SEO URL Validation v1.0.4 - Would you recommend that I retain these contributions in my store, or have either of these been addressed in your release of Ultimate SEO Urls 5?

As far as I'm aware, the Independant SEO URL Validation seems directed towards Chemo's USU and may be 'extra code' that I don't require. Forgive my 'not fully understanding' their usage.. I'm still in the 'steep learning curve' stage!

Kind regards,
James

#48   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 26 May 2009 - 09:48

Hi Rob,

Thanks for the release of your Ultimate SEO Urls 5 - the install went smoothly and all is working perfectly!

I have a question regarding two of your contributions that I have installed on my store in development (I'm about a week away from releasing it and am doing a 'genereal tidy up'):

Google Duplicate Content Manager v1.0 and Independant SEO URL Validation v1.0.4 - Would you recommend that I retain these contributions in my store, or have either of these been addressed in your release of Ultimate SEO Urls 5?

As far as I'm aware, the Independant SEO URL Validation seems directed towards Chemo's USU and may be 'extra code' that I don't require. Forgive my 'not fully understanding' their usage.. I'm still in the 'steep learning curve' stage!

Kind regards,
James


Hi James

Validation is inbuilt so Independant SEO URL Validation is not needed (nor is it compatible)

Google Duplicate Content Manager can still be used.

Rob

#49   jwilkins

jwilkins
  • Members
  • 63 posts
  • Real Name:James Wilkins
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull, UK

Posted 26 May 2009 - 10:55

Hi James

Validation is inbuilt so Independant SEO URL Validation is not needed (nor is it compatible)

Google Duplicate Content Manager can still be used.

Rob



Thanks Rob - I shall therefore remove the Independant SEO URL Validation.

James

#50   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 27 May 2009 - 08:26

Is V5 compatible with Links Manager II http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/5272 ?

When I turn SEO Urls on I get a page not found error when selecting the links category.

Thanks

Steve


To work with links manager 2:

catalog/.htaccess

Find ...

# Links contribution
RewriteRule ^(.*)-links-([0-9]+).html$ links.php?lPath=$2&%{QUERY_STRING}

Change to ...

# Links contribution
RewriteRule ^(.*)-links-([0-9_]+).html$ links.php?lPath=$2&%{QUERY_STRING}

catalog/includes/modules/ultimate_seo_urls5/modules/Usu_links.php

Replace the complete method public function acquire($dependency)

With ..

public function acquire($dependency){
	if ( is_numeric(str_replace('_', '', $dependency)) ){
	  $this->lPath = $dependency;
	} else {
	  return false;
	}
	if ( false !== strpos($dependency, '_') ){
	  $single_lpath = (int)ltrim(strrchr($dependency, '_'), '_');
	} else {
	  $single_lpath = (int)$dependency;
	}  
	// Bypass the query if already in the registry
	if ( false !== isset(usu::$registry->{$this->dependency}[$this->lPath]) ){
	  usu::$performance['queries_saved']++;
	  return true;
	}
	$placeholders = array( ':lPath', ':languages_id' );
	// $values are already type cast
	$values = array( $single_lpath, usu::$languages_id );
	$this->query = str_replace($placeholders, $values, $this->base_query);
	$result = usu::query( $this->query );
	$this->query = null;
	$row = tep_db_fetch_array( $result );
	tep_db_free_result( $result );
	if ( false === $row ){
	  return false;
	}
	$this->link_text = $this->linkText($row['lName']);

	if ( false === isset(usu::$registry->{$this->dependency}) ){
	  usu::$registry->{$this->dependency} = array();
	}
	usu::$registry->attach($this->dependency, $this->lPath, $this->getProperties());
  } // End method

In future releases this will be called Usu_links2.php and Usu_links.php will be moved to a new directory in the contribution called "old contribution modules"

#51   jwatts

jwatts
  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Real Name:Justin Watts

Posted 27 May 2009 - 12:10

Hmmm that looks ok as it is actually .. when installed add a product to cart from product_listing (long line of products) then in the cart click continue which should take you back to the list of products.

Hover over all the products and make sure they don't all have the same products_id.

this mod was actually nothing to do with this module but eradicated a bug in osCommerce . . the bug only showed itself with ultimate seo urls 2 and your code may well have been a fix for it already.


I added a product from the product_listing page. Then in the cart I clicked continue and it brought me back to the product info page (not the product listing page). Hmmm... not sure why... do you have any thoughts on that?

Aside from that, by the way, the contribution works great! =D Many thanks again!
Justin

#52   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 27 May 2009 - 12:18

I added a product from the product_listing page. Then in the cart I clicked continue and it brought me back to the product info page (not the product listing page). Hmmm... not sure why... do you have any thoughts on that?

Aside from that, by the way, the contribution works great! =D Many thanks again!
Justin


As I mentioned before .. your site has altered that code, if you used the code from the contribution it would work correctly.

#53   stevea1234

stevea1234
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Real Name:Steve A

Posted 27 May 2009 - 18:43

To work with links manager 2:

catalog/.htaccess

Find ...

# Links contribution
RewriteRule ^(.*)-links-([0-9]+).html$ links.php?lPath=$2&%{QUERY_STRING}

Change to ...

# Links contribution
RewriteRule ^(.*)-links-([0-9_]+).html$ links.php?lPath=$2&%{QUERY_STRING}

catalog/includes/modules/ultimate_seo_urls5/modules/Usu_links.php

Replace the complete method public function acquire($dependency)

With ..

public function acquire($dependency){
	if ( is_numeric(str_replace('_', '', $dependency)) ){
	  $this->lPath = $dependency;
	} else {
	  return false;
	}
	if ( false !== strpos($dependency, '_') ){
	  $single_lpath = (int)ltrim(strrchr($dependency, '_'), '_');
	} else {
	  $single_lpath = (int)$dependency;
	}  
	// Bypass the query if already in the registry
	if ( false !== isset(usu::$registry->{$this->dependency}[$this->lPath]) ){
	  usu::$performance['queries_saved']++;
	  return true;
	}
	$placeholders = array( ':lPath', ':languages_id' );
	// $values are already type cast
	$values = array( $single_lpath, usu::$languages_id );
	$this->query = str_replace($placeholders, $values, $this->base_query);
	$result = usu::query( $this->query );
	$this->query = null;
	$row = tep_db_fetch_array( $result );
	tep_db_free_result( $result );
	if ( false === $row ){
	  return false;
	}
	$this->link_text = $this->linkText($row['lName']);

	if ( false === isset(usu::$registry->{$this->dependency}) ){
	  usu::$registry->{$this->dependency} = array();
	}
	usu::$registry->attach($this->dependency, $this->lPath, $this->getProperties());
  } // End method

In future releases this will be called Usu_links2.php and Usu_links.php will be moved to a new directory in the contribution called "old contribution modules"



Thanks!!! Works perfectly

Regards

Steve

#54   madstarr

madstarr
  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Real Name:Sitara

Posted 27 May 2009 - 23:00

PLEASE HELP! I am not real familiar with this contribution or auto installs.
When I installed I got the error:

Cannot open file '.htaccess' for writing. Check if the file exists or try to change file permissions and click the "Retry" button.


i tried to change permissions on the .htaccess file in ftp but it would not allow write from public.

When in the administration panel it appears that SEO URL installed and on my site. All the navigation buttons work for the main structure of the site (eg. home, new products, specials, my accounts, contact us) but the links to all my products result in a page not found 404 error.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Sitara
www.clicknswim.com

Edited by madstarr, 27 May 2009 - 23:01.


#55   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 28 May 2009 - 06:38

PLEASE HELP! I am not real familiar with this contribution or auto installs.
When I installed I got the error:

Cannot open file '.htaccess' for writing. Check if the file exists or try to change file permissions and click the "Retry" button.


i tried to change permissions on the .htaccess file in ftp but it would not allow write from public.

When in the administration panel it appears that SEO URL installed and on my site. All the navigation buttons work for the main structure of the site (eg. home, new products, specials, my accounts, contact us) but the links to all my products result in a page not found 404 error.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Sitara
www.clicknswim.com


You are in the wrong support forum .. this is the new Ultimate Seo Urls 5 .. you have the old 2 series.

#56   Shadolin

Shadolin
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Real Name:Patrick Hegarty

Posted 28 May 2009 - 11:18

Hi Robert,
Thanks for a great add on. /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />
After installing Manually and double checking that I had done it correctly, I got the the following error message in the admin section.

Seo Urls 5	  

Warning: call_user_func(tep_reset_cache_data_seo_urls) [function.call-user-func.html]: First argument is expected to be a valid callback in (removed full directory list)\catalog\admin\includes\functions\general.php on line 1195
Title 	Value 	Action 
Enable SEO URLs? 	true 	 
Turn degug reporting on/off. 	true 	Info 
Reset SEO URLs Cache 		Info 
Set the number of days to store the cache. 	7 	Info 
Remove all non-alphanumeric characters? 	false 	Info 
Enter special character conversions 		Info 
Choose URL Rewrite Type 	rewrite 	Info 
Output W3C valid URLs? 	true 	Info 
Filter Short Words 	3 	Info 
Add category parent to beginning of URLs? 	true 	Info 
Add cPath to product URLs? 	false 	Info 
Select caching system. 	FileSystem 	Info

It works fine and the URL rewrites are great, but I'm concerned about this error. Any help would be appreciate. Thanks
---
Have Fun!!!

#57   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 28 May 2009 - 11:20

Hi Robert,
Thanks for a great add on. /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />
After installing Manually and double checking that I had done it correctly, I got the the following error message in the admin section.

Seo Urls 5	  

Warning: call_user_func(tep_reset_cache_data_seo_urls) [function.call-user-func.html]: First argument is expected to be a valid callback in (removed full directory list)\catalog\admin\includes\functions\general.php on line 1195
Title 	Value 	Action 
Enable SEO URLs? 	true 	 
Turn degug reporting on/off. 	true 	Info 
Reset SEO URLs Cache 		Info 
Set the number of days to store the cache. 	7 	Info 
Remove all non-alphanumeric characters? 	false 	Info 
Enter special character conversions 		Info 
Choose URL Rewrite Type 	rewrite 	Info 
Output W3C valid URLs? 	true 	Info 
Filter Short Words 	3 	Info 
Add category parent to beginning of URLs? 	true 	Info 
Add cPath to product URLs? 	false 	Info 
Select caching system. 	FileSystem 	Info

It works fine and the URL rewrites are great, but I'm concerned about this error. Any help would be appreciate. Thanks


You missed out a part of the admin install you should have added function tep_reset_cache_data_seo_urls to the bottom of admin/includes/functions/general.php

you may have added it to catalog/includes/functions/general.php by mistake.

Edited by FWR Media, 28 May 2009 - 11:22.


#58   Shadolin

Shadolin
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Real Name:Patrick Hegarty

Posted 28 May 2009 - 11:30

You missed out a part of the admin install you should have added function tep_reset_cache_data_seo_urls to the bottom of admin/includes/functions/general.php

you may have added it to catalog/includes/functions/general.php by mistake.


DOH!
Your right, I had put it in the wrong file, thanks for that. /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />
---
Have Fun!!!

#59   jwatts

jwatts
  • Members
  • 40 posts
  • Real Name:Justin Watts

Posted 28 May 2009 - 19:12

Hi Robert,

All is running smoothly with this contribution! I have 2 general questions about its performance...

1 - Does it have to have the product id appended to the URL (is this a security measure in case 2 products have the same name)? For example, /catalog/product-name-p-123.html. Can the "-p-123" be removed?

2 - Is it possible to have each category as a "subdirectory" for the URL, or somehow include them in the URL? For example, a product "product-name" in the subcategory "subcategory" in the main category "category" would come out like /catalog/category/subcategory/product-name.html or /catalog/category-subcategory-product-name.html?

I wasn't sure if either of those could be a setting to change in .htaccess, or if that would require a lot more coding.

Thanks again for a great contribution!
Justin

#60   FWR Media

FWR Media
  • Members
  • 6,839 posts
  • Real Name:Robert Fisher
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stowmarket - Suffolk - UK

Posted 28 May 2009 - 19:25

Hi Robert,

All is running smoothly with this contribution! I have 2 general questions about its performance...

1 - Does it have to have the product id appended to the URL (is this a security measure in case 2 products have the same name)? For example, /catalog/product-name-p-123.html. Can the "-p-123" be removed?

2 - Is it possible to have each category as a "subdirectory" for the URL, or somehow include them in the URL? For example, a product "product-name" in the subcategory "subcategory" in the main category "category" would come out like /catalog/category/subcategory/product-name.html or /catalog/category-subcategory-product-name.html?

I wasn't sure if either of those could be a setting to change in .htaccess, or if that would require a lot more coding.

Thanks again for a great contribution!
Justin


Hi Justin

USU5 like the 2005 original uses -p-123 (retained for compatibility), there has to be some method of passing the products_id/cPath through to the osCommerce script .. there are other seo url contributions that use pure text .. BUT .. pure text is an intangible/unreliable whereas e.g. products_id/cPath are unique as dictated by MySQL autoincrement.

So the answer to the first question is that they are essential.

Regarding path based uris ... www.mysite.com/my/great/product/p/123 I have purposely NOT included this feature for two reasons ..

Firstly it is effectively a lie .. that directory structure does not exist and the best of the bots are not stupid (well they are they are bots but you get the idea).

Secondly it is now suggested that Google bot is stepping back through directory paths and as these paths are not real is likely to create problems.

I thought about it and I know that software such as Drupal use such paths but decided against it.

Edited by FWR Media, 28 May 2009 - 19:26.