Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

One Page Checkout Support


  • Please log in to reply
2289 replies to this topic

#141   tokyoguy

tokyoguy
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Real Name:Mark McBennett

Posted 15 May 2009 - 07:52

I seem to be talking to myself here, but anyway...I just compared the page source HTML between the ITWeb version of the checkout page and mine. The first thing that jumps out at me is that the JS scripts are not in the header. As I suspected, this is linked to the fact that the site uses STS. At last I think I may be close to a solution.

Edited by tokyoguy, 15 May 2009 - 07:54.


#142   tokyoguy

tokyoguy
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Real Name:Mark McBennett

Posted 15 May 2009 - 08:33

As a quick test, I created an STS template file and saved that as checkout.php.html. I needed to fiddle with what JS/CSS info to include in the template file but...

Whoo Hoo! /biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

I just got it to work. I placed an order and it came through PayPal no problem. All emails were sent out as usual. I'll need to test it a bit more but that was a successful order on a live store!

Thanks to all who offered advice.

#143   tokyoguy

tokyoguy
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Real Name:Mark McBennett

Posted 15 May 2009 - 09:09

There is still one problem remaining and that's the "Change Address" buttons. They don't do anything. I need to check what sw45859 said about that.

And one gripe - the states dropdown menu give the 2/3-letter abbreviated form of each state/county/prefecture name. These are familiar for US customers but not so for customers in, say, the UK or here in Japan. I understand the space constraint with this layout, so there are two choices I can see - change the layout to allow for a wider dropdown menu; or include a small icon that links to a list of the relevant abbreviations. The latter is likely to be a lot more troublesome.

#144   johnnybebad

johnnybebad
  • Members
  • 672 posts
  • Real Name:Johnny

Posted 15 May 2009 - 13:12

A new version of this contribution is on the way, we have already fixed the following issues:
#1: Taxes in pricing
#2: Added the defines for the address book window buttons
#3: removed the ability to remember the customers entered information for one page checkout
#4: done some cleanup in the source for the full js functions vs ones that require php
#5: fixed an issue with the password entry where it was being double encrypted resulting in not being able to log in
#6: fixed an issue where the charset's didn't match up, now the checkout file and it's ajax requests are UTF-8

Answers to problems:
#1: if you see an update button, then you do not have javascript enabled in your browser, this contribution is JS only right now but later will support non-js browsing
#2: if you're getting the error about a call to on a non-object, then see #1. if that's not the problem then make sure you have a payment method selected
#3: for the sts buttons, the JS in this contribution relies either on a class name or an id assigned to the button, make sure your buttons have the same attributes as the ones in the default setup.
#4: the paypal standard is there because it's in osc 2.2ms2, it's mainly there so that you can see that any payment module that sends an email within itself needs to have those changes made, otherwise you will end up with no address in the emails.

Thank you all for the feedback on this contribution, we're working to make it 100% usable but please understand that it can take time to get to fixing or adding anything to it when there's work on the board that must take priority.

Stephen


Hi Stephen,

It is a fantastic contribution, wrt to the sts, I havent actually changed the files in the curremt version I am running (I have tried a checkout.php.html and can get it to the same standing as not having the file at all and up and running in sts mode), they are running in my sts store without modification, everything but the change address appears to be working in a useable state.

I have spent days working on the buttons and got nowhere mainly due to my lack of understanding I guess, I have played with the code and only got the site to use the default change shipping address OPTIONS.

Enlightement on what it is that is actually needed for the sts would prove a big winner.

Thanks
Johnny
Getting better with mods but no programmer am I.

#145   itwebexperts

itwebexperts
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Real Name:Kevin Javitz
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 May 2009 - 18:32

new version posted 1.04 http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/6646

#146   johnnybebad

johnnybebad
  • Members
  • 672 posts
  • Real Name:Johnny

Posted 16 May 2009 - 00:04

Dont know about anyone else but found 1.04 worse so far, still evaluating.

In earlier version you got the site to call up the relvant language file so the correct currency dispalyed, in 1.04 I got boxes for every section where a currency symbol was displayed.

I can get it back by removing the two lines that define the character set and call it and replace with the language file call.

How is everyone else getting on with the latest version?
Getting better with mods but no programmer am I.

#147   johnnybebad

johnnybebad
  • Members
  • 672 posts
  • Real Name:Johnny

Posted 16 May 2009 - 07:16

Alas I am struggling with 1.04 completley.

No Java.

Errors when amending anything in the products section error Fatal error: Call to a member function pre_confirmation_check() on a non-object in /home/simplydr/public_html/w4/includes/classes/onepage_checkout.php on line 611

Johnny
Getting better with mods but no programmer am I.

#148   tokyoguy

tokyoguy
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Real Name:Mark McBennett

Posted 16 May 2009 - 07:46

I guess I won't be upgrading to 1.04 then You probably already know this Johnny, but that error is caused when the relevant JS is not loading on your checkout page. The css/javascript is called from with the catalog/checkout.php file itself, but this one doesn't seem to be, so I included it in my STS template:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" src="includes/checkout/checkout.js"></script>

Still with 1.03, I've been doing little tweaks. One of which is to make the telephone number a required field and add it to the shipping address form, too. A telephone number is a pretty standard requirement for any international shipping company and I'm surprised it's left out by default. I've yet to look at how to fix the "Change Address" buttons, though I think it's one of the fixes in 1.04. As the new version seems to have created new problems, I'll see if I can find the specific changes related to this issue. If itwebexperts could point me to a file/line number, that'd be a big help.

I also have to figure out what configuration settings will work best - requiring login and creating an account by default. Something's not quite right because I've had one customer create an order that wasn't completed on PayPal. No account was created for that customer.

Edited by tokyoguy, 16 May 2009 - 07:53.


#149   johnnybebad

johnnybebad
  • Members
  • 672 posts
  • Real Name:Johnny

Posted 16 May 2009 - 08:52

I guess I won't be upgrading to 1.04 then /mellow.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':mellow:' /> You probably already know this Johnny, but that error is caused when the relevant JS is not loading on your checkout page. The css/javascript is called from with the catalog/checkout.php file itself, but this one doesn't seem to be, so I included it in my STS template:

<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" src="includes/checkout/checkout.js"></script>

Still with 1.03, I've been doing little tweaks. One of which is to make the telephone number a required field and add it to the shipping address form, too. A telephone number is a pretty standard requirement for any international shipping company and I'm surprised it's left out by default. I've yet to look at how to fix the "Change Address" buttons, though I think it's one of the fixes in 1.04. As the new version seems to have created new problems, I'll see if I can find the specific changes related to this issue. If itwebexperts could point me to a file/line number, that'd be a big help. /biggrin.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':D' />

I also have to figure out what configuration settings will work best - requiring login and creating an account by default. Something's not quite right because I've had one customer create an order that wasn't completed on PayPal. No account was created for that customer.



This oh so perculiar I have seen 1.04 working elsewhere, so maybe I have installed the module wrong or another module is interfering somewhere. I dont really no. what I can say is version 1.03 works fine for me with my setup except the change address buttons.

Johnny
Getting better with mods but no programmer am I.

#150   johnnybebad

johnnybebad
  • Members
  • 672 posts
  • Real Name:Johnny

Posted 16 May 2009 - 10:22

Well 1.04 version got to work in firefox but not IE.

still cant get the change address buttons to work.

If you are having trouble getting 1.04 to work you can change the char set in the english.php or equivalent to use utf-8 instead of the other, for the £ sign you may need to change the character to it is equivalent value in utf-8.

crazy crazy world.

Johnny
Getting better with mods but no programmer am I.

#151   tokyoguy

tokyoguy
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Real Name:Mark McBennett

Posted 16 May 2009 - 14:08

I haven't been able to figure out the problem with the "Change Address" buttons. My source code shows the exact same HTML for them as is on the ITWebExperts demo page.

<table id="changeBillingAddressTable" border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="2">
	<tr>
		<td class="main" align="right"><a id="changeBillingAddress" href="http://www.itwebexperts.com/onepagecheckout/checkout_payment_address.php"><img src="includes/languages/english/images/buttons/button_change_address.gif" border="0" alt="IMAGE_CHANGE_ADDRESS" title=" IMAGE_CHANGE_ADDRESS " width="146" height="22"></a></td>
	</tr>
</table>

(Note that the defines for this and other buttons are missing on their site. I added them to my /includes/languages/english/checkout.php)

I've had this on the live site for a couple of days now and have processed a few orders (one came in just now). So it's working, after a fashion. But what bothers me more than the "Change Address" buttons not working is the same problem with the "Login" button. Existing account holders will no doubt be delighted to return and find this new, compact checkout. But they won't be able to login and may give up rather than try and login elsewhere.

Edited by tokyoguy, 16 May 2009 - 14:21.


#152   johnnybebad

johnnybebad
  • Members
  • 672 posts
  • Real Name:Johnny

Posted 16 May 2009 - 16:07

I haven't been able to figure out the problem with the "Change Address" buttons. My source code shows the exact same HTML for them as is on the ITWebExperts demo page.

<table id="changeBillingAddressTable" border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="2">
	<tr>
		<td class="main" align="right"><a id="changeBillingAddress" href="http://www.itwebexperts.com/onepagecheckout/checkout_payment_address.php"><img src="includes/languages/english/images/buttons/button_change_address.gif" border="0" alt="IMAGE_CHANGE_ADDRESS" title=" IMAGE_CHANGE_ADDRESS " width="146" height="22"></a></td>
	</tr>
</table>

(Note that the defines for this and other buttons are missing on their site. I added them to my /includes/languages/english/checkout.php)

I've had this on the live site for a couple of days now and have processed a few orders (one came in just now). So it's working, after a fashion. But what bothers me more than the "Change Address" buttons not working is the same problem with the "Login" button. Existing account holders will no doubt be delighted to return and find this new, compact checkout. But they won't be able to login and may give up rather than try and login elsewhere.


pm for a possible solution to the change address in STS to try, just had a freelancer look at the project and they appear to have ressolved the issue in V1.03, the other problems you have may be ressolvable by a similar process. Could well be the best $40 I spent!

I would like it testing so I can confirm it works before posting the solution.

Thanks
Johnny
Getting better with mods but no programmer am I.

#153   cornishpirate

cornishpirate
  • Members
  • 122 posts
  • Real Name:Alan
  • Location:Cornwall, England

Posted 17 May 2009 - 18:55

Has anyone used payment module Protx Direct with this?

#154   steve_s

steve_s
  • Members
  • 1,580 posts
  • Real Name:steve
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 18 May 2009 - 21:36

Has anyone used payment module Protx Direct with this?


It is meant to be compatible with most if not all payment modules, go ahead and try it on a test server first

#155   cornishpirate

cornishpirate
  • Members
  • 122 posts
  • Real Name:Alan
  • Location:Cornwall, England

Posted 19 May 2009 - 10:48

It is meant to be compatible with most if not all payment modules, go ahead and try it on a test server first

I did, of course, try it.

On going into checkout.php "There was an error setting payment method, please inform IT Web Experts about this error."

#156   joske12345

joske12345
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Real Name:joske

Posted 19 May 2009 - 14:50

Other question.

Has anyone got an idea where i can find the "Please fill in your billing address for payment options" text to edit?

Thanks very much!


edit: 16:52

found it checkout.php <- how obvious

Edited by joske12345, 19 May 2009 - 14:52.


#157   steve_s

steve_s
  • Members
  • 1,580 posts
  • Real Name:steve
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 19 May 2009 - 21:03

I did, of course, try it.

On going into checkout.php "There was an error setting payment method, please inform IT Web Experts about this error."


Did you let IT Web Experts know, so they can fix it?

#158   sw45859

sw45859
  • Members
  • 308 posts
  • Real Name:stephen walker
  • Location:Arkansas

Posted 20 May 2009 - 03:50

I will warn everyone now, payment modules are mostly supported for oscommerce version 2.2 ms2, at some point the oscommerce team changed how the payment modules work. ( ie. they use $paymentmodule->confirmation() to pull up the entry fields and enter orders, rather than using the $paymentmodule->selection() function for the entry fields and the confirmation function for entering orders )
there's code there in the includes/classes/onepage_checkout.php to comment or uncomment to support these, remember to never set the checkout to live without testing your payment method with it, as sometimes it can take some tweaking to get it working 100%.

Also, there's a new update coming soon for the charsets.

Here's the deal: AJAX only supports sending data back using the UTF-8 charset so we've added a function to help this process work with database data and input entered data to hopefully stop the issues with encodings once and for all.

#159   cornishpirate

cornishpirate
  • Members
  • 122 posts
  • Real Name:Alan
  • Location:Cornwall, England

Posted 20 May 2009 - 08:38

I will warn everyone now, payment modules are mostly supported for oscommerce version 2.2 ms2, at some point the oscommerce team changed how the payment modules work. ( ie. they use $paymentmodule->confirmation() to pull up the entry fields and enter orders, rather than using the $paymentmodule->selection() function for the entry fields and the confirmation function for entering orders )
there's code there in the includes/classes/onepage_checkout.php to comment or uncomment to support these, remember to never set the checkout to live without testing your payment method with it, as sometimes it can take some tweaking to get it working 100%.

Stephen

Thanks for helping me sort the Protx Direct problem. I am running RC2a, but fixed as above indicating MS2 !!

Confusing? But what the hell, it works.

#160   cornishpirate

cornishpirate
  • Members
  • 122 posts
  • Real Name:Alan
  • Location:Cornwall, England

Posted 20 May 2009 - 13:26

Are there any plans to incorporate QTPro with this?