Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Google XML Sitemap SEO


  • Please log in to reply
1398 replies to this topic

#1381 ONLINE   Tsimi

Tsimi

    The King of Avatars

  • Members
  • 854 posts
  • Real Name:Lambros
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan

Posted 19 December 2014 - 03:48

@Jack_mcs

 

Hi Jack

 

It seems like the cron Job failed. Getting the following e-mail.

 

 

/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 1: ?php: No such file or directory
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 2: /bin: is a directory
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 3: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 4: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 5: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 6: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 7: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 8: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 9: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 10: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 11: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 12: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 13: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 14: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 15: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 16: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 17: product Imgs: command not found
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 18: product Imgs/: is a directory
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 20: syntax error near unexpected token `'../''
/home/xxxxx/xxxxxx/public_html/googlesitemap/index.php: line 20: `    chdir('../');'

 

What went wrong? osC Version is 2.3.3.4. Permission to the googlesitemap folder is 755


Edited by Tsimi, 19 December 2014 - 03:49.

"real music was erased from existence in the mid 90's"


#1382   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 19 December 2014 - 04:05

For your problem, it appears something is wrong with the file. I had a problem on a site a while back where the cron job would run and It was due to a conflict with the name because of a redirect in the shops code. I renamed the googlesitemap/index.php file to gs_index.php and then changed the cron job to call that file. Give that a try and see if it helps.

 

By the way, I just realized the instructions don't mention setting up a cron job so I can see where that would confuse people. I'll add that to the next version.



#1383 ONLINE   Tsimi

Tsimi

    The King of Avatars

  • Members
  • 854 posts
  • Real Name:Lambros
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan

Posted 19 December 2014 - 04:09

@Jack_mcs

 

 

I renamed the googlesitemap/index.php file to gs_index.php and then changed the cron job to call that file. Give that a try and see if it helps.

 

Thanks Jack will do and report back asap.

 

 

 

By the way, I just realized the instructions don't mention setting up a cron job so I can see where that would confuse people. I'll add that to the next version.

 

that is a good idea. :thumbsup:


Edited by Tsimi, 19 December 2014 - 04:12.

"real music was erased from existence in the mid 90's"


#1384   dhooper

dhooper
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Real Name:Diana Hooper
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Logsden, OR

Posted 19 December 2014 - 17:10

I am attempting to add this contribution.  When I ran the sql I received this error

 

#1048 - Column 'set_function' cannot be null

 

But, when I go to the admin all the options seem to be there.  Do I need to change anything?


Edited by dhooper, 19 December 2014 - 17:12.

Diana

#1385   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 19 December 2014 - 17:26

Please look at the settings and see if there is one named "Exclude these pages." That is probably the one that caused the failure so it may not have been added.



#1386   dhooper

dhooper
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Real Name:Diana Hooper
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Logsden, OR

Posted 19 December 2014 - 17:47

No, that one is not there and I'd really like that one! :)


Diana

#1387   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 19 December 2014 - 18:19

Try running this and see if it works:

INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, set_function, date_added, use_function)
 VALUES ('Exclude these pages', 'GOOGLE_XML_SITEMAP_EXCLUDE_PAGES', '', 'Add these pages to the built-in file exclude list. This will prevent the links from being added to the pages site map.', '289', '20', 'tep_cfg_select_option(array(\'true\', \'false\'), ', now(), NULL);


#1388   dhooper

dhooper
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Real Name:Diana Hooper
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Logsden, OR

Posted 19 December 2014 - 19:17

Yes, that worked! :)  Now, how do I add pages to exclude?  It only has a true/false setting.  I want to exclude conditions, privacy, password reset, and a few custom ones that I've created.


Diana

#1389   dhooper

dhooper
  • Members
  • 89 posts
  • Real Name:Diana Hooper
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Logsden, OR

Posted 19 December 2014 - 23:07

Never mind... I found where to add the files in sitemap.class  Thanks a bunch!  :)


Diana

#1390 ONLINE   Tsimi

Tsimi

    The King of Avatars

  • Members
  • 854 posts
  • Real Name:Lambros
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan

Posted 21 December 2014 - 03:14

@Jack_mcs

 

Hi Jack

 

Got new e-mails and it seems that it failed again. Same messages as before.

Renamed the index.php and also adjusted the path for the cron job with same result.

Don't know exactly why that is happening but i guess i'll switch back to manual update mode.

I don't have that many new products on a regular basis so it's OK.


"real music was erased from existence in the mid 90's"


#1391   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 21 December 2014 - 15:40

The correct syntax for the above database problem us below, in case anyone else has this problem:

INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, date_added) 
 VALUES ('Exclude these pages', 'GOOGLE_XML_SITEMAP_EXCLUDE_PAGES', '', 'Add these pages to the built-in file exclude list. This will prevent the links from being added to the pages site map.', '289', '20', now());



#1392   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 21 December 2014 - 15:42

@Tsimi The problem has something to do with your server so I can't help with that.



#1393   dr_lucas

dr_lucas
  • Members
  • 303 posts
  • Real Name:Michaela
  • Gender:Female

Posted 27 January 2015 - 19:14

@Jack_mcs - first, thank you for the contribution!

 

Sorry if the question was asked and answered before, but does this module support catalogs with over 50,000 products? Does it auto-generate additional sitemap files as required? Does it make sure the total file size of each sitemap is under 10mb?


If my post has helped you in any way, and since I am doing this free of charge, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Like This" button at the bottom right corner of my helpful post. Clicking is free of charge too. ;-)
This is a nice way of thanking and motivating any other person who voluntarily helped you in the forum, not just me...

My contributions:

FedEx - Web Services v9
FAQ System
Who's Online Enhancement
Order Editor
MoneyBookers IPN
Ship in Cart (MS2)
Admin Products Paging
Margin Report v1.00
2Checkout INS / IPN (Instant Notification System) for MS2.2
Visitor Web Stats
Time Zone Offset - Adjust to match your location
User Tracking with Admin 1.0
Category Meta Tags

#1394   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 27 January 2015 - 19:29

@dr_lucas I haven't looked at that part of the code in a while. I know it definitely creates multiple map files if the number of products is over 50,000. I don't recall it checking for file size but the limit is 50 MB, not 10 MB: see here. I suppose it is possible for a file to reach that large but I've not seen it yet.



#1395   dr_lucas

dr_lucas
  • Members
  • 303 posts
  • Real Name:Michaela
  • Gender:Female

Posted 27 January 2015 - 19:36

Thanks, Jack. It seems google size limit is different than the standard, which is 10mb, and if we want sitemaps that can be read by all search spiders, it would be better to make the code check for that limit and create a new sitemap if reach the 10mb.

More details here: https://productforum...ers/nd5RDhMMfhk


If my post has helped you in any way, and since I am doing this free of charge, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Like This" button at the bottom right corner of my helpful post. Clicking is free of charge too. ;-)
This is a nice way of thanking and motivating any other person who voluntarily helped you in the forum, not just me...

My contributions:

FedEx - Web Services v9
FAQ System
Who's Online Enhancement
Order Editor
MoneyBookers IPN
Ship in Cart (MS2)
Admin Products Paging
Margin Report v1.00
2Checkout INS / IPN (Instant Notification System) for MS2.2
Visitor Web Stats
Time Zone Offset - Adjust to match your location
User Tracking with Admin 1.0
Category Meta Tags

#1396   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 28 January 2015 - 00:56

Good point. Even though I deal with SEO all the time, I still fall into the trap of thinking of things in relation to google.

 

But I'm still wondering if even 10 MB would be reached. Have you tested this on a site that would create multiple files?



#1397   dr_lucas

dr_lucas
  • Members
  • 303 posts
  • Real Name:Michaela
  • Gender:Female

Posted 28 January 2015 - 01:00

@Jack_mcs

Yes, I did on my own site and it generated only 1 file of 50,000 products (out of the 90,000 I have). The file size was 12MB.

I have an older version (1.2) so that is possibly the reason it did not generate the consecutive file, but still - 12MB form 50,000 products is larger than the allowed standard.


If my post has helped you in any way, and since I am doing this free of charge, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Like This" button at the bottom right corner of my helpful post. Clicking is free of charge too. ;-)
This is a nice way of thanking and motivating any other person who voluntarily helped you in the forum, not just me...

My contributions:

FedEx - Web Services v9
FAQ System
Who's Online Enhancement
Order Editor
MoneyBookers IPN
Ship in Cart (MS2)
Admin Products Paging
Margin Report v1.00
2Checkout INS / IPN (Instant Notification System) for MS2.2
Visitor Web Stats
Time Zone Offset - Adjust to match your location
User Tracking with Admin 1.0
Category Meta Tags

#1398   dr_lucas

dr_lucas
  • Members
  • 303 posts
  • Real Name:Michaela
  • Gender:Female

Posted 28 January 2015 - 01:08

Correction, it seems all the version files show the same version 1.2, so I believe mine maybe a newer one - 1.4 or 1.5, if that makes any difference.


If my post has helped you in any way, and since I am doing this free of charge, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Like This" button at the bottom right corner of my helpful post. Clicking is free of charge too. ;-)
This is a nice way of thanking and motivating any other person who voluntarily helped you in the forum, not just me...

My contributions:

FedEx - Web Services v9
FAQ System
Who's Online Enhancement
Order Editor
MoneyBookers IPN
Ship in Cart (MS2)
Admin Products Paging
Margin Report v1.00
2Checkout INS / IPN (Instant Notification System) for MS2.2
Visitor Web Stats
Time Zone Offset - Adjust to match your location
User Tracking with Admin 1.0
Category Meta Tags

#1399   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,833 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 28 January 2015 - 14:13

The option to create more than one file once the 50,000 limit was reached has been part of the addon since it was released. There's only one spot in the file where 50000 is mentioned. I just changed that to 50 for a site I have here and six product maps files were created so the code is working correctly. If you troubleshoot it, please keep in mind that there are two files, sitemap.class.php and sitemap.class_Alternate.php, so be sure to edit the correct one, which is determined by the first setting of this addon.