Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Google XML Sitemap SEO


  • Please log in to reply
1367 replies to this topic

#41   SunDust

SunDust
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Real Name:Robert

Posted 07 March 2009 - 10:30

I installed googlexml_sitemap_seo_v_1.1

I had to rename the sitemap.class_Alternate.php to sitemap.class.php because of issues with fopen.

It still did not work until I copied the gss.xsl file into the store root. I did not see this in the instructions, so is this a correct step to take?


Hi Coopco,

Yes, you have to copy the gss.xsl in the same folder as xml files. And yes, that step lack in the instructions...

#42   SunDust

SunDust
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Real Name:Robert

Posted 07 March 2009 - 10:50

Please try the new version.

Jack



WONDERFUL!!, No problem now, everything works fine!! I have used the sitemap.class.php (I have not used sitemap.class_Alternate.php).

I recommend to make the change of the post #32, If you don't make it, everything will works fine but you can receive a error message in localhost test on the line 44 of the file index.php (but it will work).


Thank you for your effort and time.

SunDust

#43   jrthor2

jrthor2
  • Members
  • 225 posts
  • Real Name:Jason
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 March 2009 - 12:56

I meant sitemap_class.php.

Jack

ok, so then how do I fix the language parameter on the end of my url's since I installed the Ultimate SEO URL's?

#44 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 07 March 2009 - 13:08

I installed googlexml_sitemap_seo_v_1.1

I had to rename the sitemap.class_Alternate.php to sitemap.class.php because of issues with fopen.

It still did not work until I copied the gss.xsl file into the store root. I did not see this in the instructions, so is this a correct step to take?

Hmm, that's strange about sitemap.class_Alternate.php since the file isn't called anywhere so it shouldn't be an issue. I don't have an answer for that one.

For the gss file, yes, that is correct. I did add it to the original list of files but forgot to mention to upload it.

Jack

#45 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 07 March 2009 - 13:09

ok, so then how do I fix the language parameter on the end of my url's since I installed the Ultimate SEO URL's?

This doesn't have anything to do with Ultimate SEO. If the url's it create are incorrect, then you need to ask in that support thread.

Jack

#46   jrthor2

jrthor2
  • Members
  • 225 posts
  • Real Name:Jason
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 March 2009 - 13:32

This doesn't have anything to do with Ultimate SEO. If the url's it create are incorrect, then you need to ask in that support thread.

Jack

Well, my site works fine, and it gets the language url fine, as en. But, when your script creates the site index files, the language is not correct, so I don't believe it's an issue with Ultimate SEO URL's.

#47   pschwab

pschwab
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Real Name:Paul Schwab

Posted 09 March 2009 - 00:30

Hi Jack,

I just installed the 1.1 version you posted on 3/6, but I'm having one error when I run the /googlesitemap/index.php. All permissions are set to 777 and all sitemaps are created successfully except the manufacturers. I tried the fix from you post #7 but still get the error. Any idea what I need to do? The output is below. Thanks in advance.

Opening /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapproducts.xml
FS_CAT /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
Server http://www.kurvyassets.com
Save Path /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
WS_CAT //
Write /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapproducts.xml
Generated Google Product Sitemap Successfully

Opening /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapcategories.xml
FS_CAT /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
Server http://www.kurvyassets.com
Save Path /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
WS_CAT //
Write /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapcategories.xml
Generated Google Category Sitemap Successfully

ERROR: Google Manufacturers Sitemap Generation FAILED!

Opening /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapspecials.xml
FS_CAT /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
Server http://www.kurvyassets.com
Save Path /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
WS_CAT //
Write /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapspecials.xml
Generated Google Specials Sitemap Successfully

Opening /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapindex.xml
FS_CAT /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
Server http://www.kurvyassets.com
Save Path /home1/kurvyass/public_html//
WS_CAT //
Write /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapindex.xml
Generated Google Sitemap Index Successfully

Array
(
[QUERY] => Array
(
[PRODUCTS] => Array
(
[STATUS] => success
[NUM_ROWS] => 18
)

[CATEOGRY] => Array
(
[STATUS] => success
[NUM_ROWS] => 21
)

[MANUFACTURERS] => Array
(
[STATUS] => success
[NUM_ROWS] => 1
)

[SPECIALS] => Array
(
[STATUS] => success
[NUM_ROWS] => 2
)

)

[SAVE_FILE_XML] => Array
(
[0] => Array
(
[file] => /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapproducts.xml
[status] => success
[file_exists] => true
)

[1] => Array
(
[file] => /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapcategories.xml
[status] => success
[file_exists] => true
)

[2] => Array
(
[file] => /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapspecials.xml
[status] => success
[file_exists] => true
)

[3] => Array
(
[file] => /home1/kurvyass/public_html//sitemapindex.xml
[status] => success
[file_exists] => true
)

)

)

#48 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 09 March 2009 - 02:27

Do you have any manufactures entered? Someone reported a problem with that previously and it was because his manufacturers tables were not completly filled in. You could also try the other version of the sitemap_class.php file. Your configure file has an extra / in it for the path since /home1/kurvyass/public_html// should be /home1/kurvyass/public_html/, but I don't think that will cause these problems, though it should be fixed.

Jack

#49   pschwab

pschwab
  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Real Name:Paul Schwab

Posted 09 March 2009 - 03:32

Do you have any manufactures entered? Someone reported a problem with that previously and it was because his manufacturers tables were not completly filled in. You could also try the other version of the sitemap_class.php file. Your configure file has an extra / in it for the path since /home1/kurvyass/public_html// should be /home1/kurvyass/public_html/, but I don't think that will cause these problems, though it should be fixed.

Jack



I only had 1 manufacturer entered. I made up a second one and that cleared the error somehow. I have no idea why there is the extra / in my path. It appeared after I installed the "SEO Urls 2.1.d Nov 08" contrib, but I have no idea how to correct it, though I wish I could. I just don't know enough and don't want to break it.

Thanks for all the awesome work you do. You have no idea how many times you've helped me out!!

#50 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 09 March 2009 - 14:48

I'm glad I could help. As for the extra slash, it is almost certainly a mistake in your includes/configure.php file. You should post the problem in the general support forum along with the contents of that file, minus the database details, and someone will take a look at it.

Jack

#51   mcksly

mcksly
  • Members
  • 70 posts
  • Real Name:Darlene

Posted 10 March 2009 - 01:02

I'm having an issue that I haven't been able to solve by reading through any of the forums.

Google has accepted both my:
sitemapcategories.xml and my
sitemapindex.xml

but there are errors with my sitemapproducts.xml

The error says:

The XML page cannot be displayed
Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet. Please correct the error and then click the Refresh button, or try again later.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A semi colon character was expected. Error processing resource 'http://www.bella-blanca.com/sitemapproducts.xml'. Line 130...

<loc>http://bella-blanca....ts_id=192</loc>
----------------------------...


Here is what the file looks like... am I simply missing a semi colon?

Thanks in advance /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<urlset xmlns="http://www.google.com/schemas/sitemap/0.84">
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=194</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>1.0</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=179</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=188</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-23</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=190</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=196</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=201</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=203</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=204</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=206</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-09-10</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=195</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=178</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=191</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=193</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=183</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=182</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=186</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=180</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=192</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-23</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=200</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
	<url>
		<loc>http://bella-blanca.com/product_info.php?products_id=176</loc>
		<lastmod>2008-06-24</lastmod>
		<changefreq>weekly</changefreq>
		<priority>0.1</priority>
	</url>
</urlset>


#52   jrthor2

jrthor2
  • Members
  • 225 posts
  • Real Name:Jason
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2009 - 01:47

This doesn't have anything to do with Ultimate SEO. If the url's it create are incorrect, then you need to ask in that support thread.

Jack

So Jack, how can I fix this?

Thanks!

#53 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 10 March 2009 - 02:19

I'm having an issue that I haven't been able to solve by reading through any of the forums.

Google has accepted both my:
sitemapcategories.xml and my
sitemapindex.xml

but there are errors with my sitemapproducts.xml

The error says:

The XML page cannot be displayed
Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet. Please correct the error and then click the Refresh button, or try again later.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A semi colon character was expected. Error processing resource 'http://www.bella-blanca.com/sitemapproducts.xml'. Line 130...

<loc>http://bella-blanca....ts_id=192</loc>
----------------------------...

My guess is that you have the Search Engine Friendly option turned on in admin since the format of the links don't match.
That option should not be used.

Jack

#54 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 10 March 2009 - 02:23

So Jack, how can I fix this?

Thanks!

It doesn't apply to this contribution. This one just creates url's from what it is given. If something is being added, it is because of some setting or code change in your shop, not because of the contribution. Without being able to look at the problem, your settings and files, I can't even guess at what the problem might be.

Jack

#55   uniquexme

uniquexme
  • Members
  • 79 posts
  • Real Name:Desmond Tay

Posted 10 March 2009 - 07:12

Jack, i have just submitted my sitemap to google under the webmaster tool. i was wondering how many sites should i submit? coz i submit this only :
http://www.hobby-asi...itemapindex.xml

do i still need to submit the other like :
http://www.hobby-asi...pcategories.xml
http://www.hobby-asi...nufacturers.xml
http://www.hobby-asi...mapproducts.xml
http://www.hobby-asi...mapspecials.xml

thanks. for the cron job, i think i m not able to do it. so i guess i will do w/o it. thanks

#56   Coopco

Coopco
  • Members
  • 9,557 posts
  • Real Name:Leslie Cooper
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sea Lake, Victoria, Australia

Posted 10 March 2009 - 11:51

Hmm, that's strange about sitemap.class_Alternate.php since the file isn't called anywhere so it shouldn't be an issue. I don't have an answer for that one.

For the gss file, yes, that is correct. I did add it to the original list of files but forgot to mention to upload it.

Jack

Hi Jack

FYI, and to clarify, the original sitemap_class.php has on line 291

if ($fp = fopen($filename, 'w+')){

and this was the cause of the error (my webhost has banned fopen, which causes me much grief).

When I renamed sitemap.class_Alternate.php to sitemap_class.php all worked.

One tiny thing. I receive email notifications of 404 errors. In summary:
Error Code: 404
Requested URL: http://domainname/gss.css
Referer: http://domainname/sitemapindex.xml

This occurs on all of the sitemaps, but the sitemaps still generate ok (I guess).

Edited by Coopco, 10 March 2009 - 12:00.



The Coopco Underwear Shop



If you live to be 100 years of age, that means you have lived for 36,525 days. Don't waste another, there aren't many left.

#57 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 10 March 2009 - 12:43

Jack, i have just submitted my sitemap to google under the webmaster tool. i was wondering how many sites should i submit? coz i submit this only :
http://www.hobby-asi...itemapindex.xml

do i still need to submit the other like :

You should add them all.

Jack

#58 ONLINE   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,566 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 10 March 2009 - 13:09

Hi Jack

FYI, and to clarify, the original sitemap_class.php has on line 291

if ($fp = fopen($filename, 'w+')){

and this was the cause of the error (my webhost has banned fopen, which causes me much grief).

When I renamed sitemap.class_Alternate.php to sitemap_class.php all worked.

One tiny thing. I receive email notifications of 404 errors. In summary:
Error Code: 404
Requested URL: http://domainname/gss.css
Referer: http://domainname/sitemapindex.xml

This occurs on all of the sitemaps, but the sitemaps still generate ok (I guess).

Both files use fopen so I don't understand how one can work and not the other.

For the 404 error, try removng this line from the gss.xml file
<link href="gss.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet"/>

Jack

#59   Coopco

Coopco
  • Members
  • 9,557 posts
  • Real Name:Leslie Cooper
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sea Lake, Victoria, Australia

Posted 10 March 2009 - 13:36

Both files use fopen so I don't understand how one can work and not the other.

For the 404 error, try removng this line from the gss.xml file

<link href="gss.css" type="text/css" rel="stylesheet"/>

Jack

Hi Jack

Thanks for the 404 error fix, no more errors.

It is weird. You are correct about the fopen in both files, I should have checked, but I did say it causes me grief.

I just copied the original back and I get

Warning: fopen(/hsphere/local/home/domainnamestuff/googlesitemapsitemapproducts.xml): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /hsphere/local/home/domainnamestuff/googlesitemap/sitemap.class.php on line 291
ERROR: Google Product Sitemap Generation FAILED!

etc for the remaining sitemaps.

When I do the rename stuff, I get

Write /hsphere/local/home/domainnamestuff/sitemapproducts.xmlGenerated Google Product Sitemap Successfully

etc for the remaining sitemaps.

Will have another look tomorrow and see if I can come up with a solution.


The Coopco Underwear Shop



If you live to be 100 years of age, that means you have lived for 36,525 days. Don't waste another, there aren't many left.

#60   mcksly

mcksly
  • Members
  • 70 posts
  • Real Name:Darlene

Posted 10 March 2009 - 13:58

My guess is that you have the Search Engine Friendly option turned on in admin since the format of the links don't match.
That option should not be used.

Jack



"Use Search engine safe URL's" has always been set to false in admin

Is there any other reasons why the format of the links doesn't match? I'm not sure what you mean by this as well

Cheers!