Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Graphical Borders


  • Please log in to reply
244 replies to this topic

#61   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 August 2008 - 18:37

all of them
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#62   crag364

crag364
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Real Name:Craig

Posted 13 August 2008 - 18:45

After just checking all the images are already transparent as they are saved as gif's so it cannot be that. In the stylesheet I notice that the background for the center is set to white. Would this have anything to do with it?

Edited by crag364, 13 August 2008 - 18:46.


#63   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 13 August 2008 - 18:47

After just checking all the images are already transparent as they are saved as gif's so it cannot be that. In the stylesheet I notice that the background for the center is set to white. Would this have anything to do with it?



gifs are'nt transparent unless you make them so when you create them!!
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#64   CGhoST

CGhoST
  • Members
  • 230 posts
  • Real Name:Cyber Ghost

Posted 13 August 2008 - 23:30

I would suspect the paths, but to tell any more I`d need to see the site.


Unfortunately the site is not in a position that it can be put online just yet. Its in development state in it only works on localhost.

Whe you say the paths, what paths are you talking about? The code that i showed you has no relevance to the showing of the borders?

#65   crag364

crag364
  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Real Name:Craig

Posted 14 August 2008 - 18:22

Hi,

I have made alot of progress and the boxes i've made now look like this:

[img]http://www.aquablonde.com/artwork/Without%20bot.jpg[/img]

As you can see there is a gap at the bottom. This seems to be where the bot.gif has to be placed. However when I place this in the image it turns out like this:

[img]http://www.aquablonde.com/artwork/With%20Bot.jpg[/img]

I can not get it looking any differntly. Any ideas how I get this right?

Thanks!

Craig

#66   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 14 August 2008 - 20:01

Hi,

I have made alot of progress and the boxes i've made now look like this:

[img]http://www.aquablonde.com/artwork/Without%20bot.jpg[/img]

As you can see there is a gap at the bottom. This seems to be where the bot.gif has to be placed. However when I place this in the image it turns out like this:

[img]http://www.aquablonde.com/artwork/With%20Bot.jpg[/img]

I can not get it looking any differntly. Any ideas how I get this right?

Thanks!

Craig


the defaul corners are 14 x 12 and bottom is 2x12, if your bottom hieght dont match cornerd you get this.
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#67   amazingcomics

amazingcomics
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Real Name:Chris

Posted 18 August 2008 - 11:00

Hi Guys,
This contrib was easy to install, the only issue I have is with the category product listing center box. the headings are not over the graphics, and are instead below, as white on white background, any pointers appreciated. To help please visit www.amazingcomics.com.au and go to a product category. run the mouse around the top of the box to see the titles,

Cheers
Chris

#68   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 18 August 2008 - 11:24

The borders are achieved by wrapping the box in a table, to which the background pics are applied, these elements are seperate to the those of the box they surround, if you place your heading titles in this they will not line up with the colums below to which they apply. I do not believe there is a solution except apply size settings to border elements & box elements, this would be awkward & site specific.

I would point out manufacturer & category names can be placed within the border header without problem.

If you were to use the latest of Product Listing Enhancements, Thumbnails & Manufacturer Headings http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/6051

that has drop downs for sort order, so eliminates need for column headings
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#69   amazingcomics

amazingcomics
  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Real Name:Chris

Posted 18 August 2008 - 11:49

Hi Spooks,
?Thanks for your reply. I'm a little confused as all other boxes left/rigt columns, and featured products have the heading text appear over the graphic? Are these different classes, treated diferently?

Cheers
Chris

The borders are achieved by wrapping the box in a table, to which the background pics are applied, these elements are seperate to the those of the box they surround, if you place your heading titles in this they will not line up with the colums below to which they apply. I do not believe there is a solution except apply size settings to border elements & box elements, this would be awkward & site specific.

I would point out manufacturer & category names can be placed within the border header without problem.

If you were to use the latest of Product Listing Enhancements, Thumbnails & Manufacturer Headings http://addons.oscommerce.com/info/6051

that has drop downs for sort order, so eliminates need for column headings



#70   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 18 August 2008 - 11:57

No, I said it can be done, but if you do it wont line up!!
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#71   random183

random183
  • Members
  • 51 posts
  • Real Name:Becky
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Earth

Posted 18 August 2008 - 14:47

Guys,

Great contribution and nice and easy to install!

One quick question though..
My text on the main page is not in a box and I think it would look a lot nicer if it did! (This is the main text in the central column).

Is it a case of adding a bit of code to the "define('TEXT_MAIN'... in languages\english\index.php? or is there a little more to it?

Thanks in advance.

Mat

#72   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 18 August 2008 - 15:04

If you look ealier in this thread the answers are there:

You can style any box using the included functions........
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#73   naccm

naccm
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:Mac

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:36

Hello,
Great looking boxes, if I could get them to work completely. The borders work around the sides and bottom of the boxes, but not the top. I have separate_price_422, FCKeditor_1.2 installed and figure there must be something in there that affects this contri. and I just can't figure it out. Maybe it is more simple than that, but I can only bumble my way through the code. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Here's what I get and if I comment out .mws_boxTop in the stylesheet there is no change. [img]http://www.is-comp.com/test_site/example.jpg[/img]

#74   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 01 September 2008 - 10:35

Check your install, perhaps your missing an image?
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#75   naccm

naccm
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:Mac

Posted 01 September 2008 - 20:46

Check your install, perhaps your missing an image?

That was my first thought, but notice the font is not correct either. The font is an overlay on the gif, no? I have installed on a clean shop and it worked fine, but we need the separate price to work. I was going to install the borders first then manually do the sppc, but it is a big contri. so easier to install sppc on clean shop then add others. Plus, I figured I may end up in the same boat after all that work if I don't know what is causing it to miss that image. Any other thoughts? Thanks for the quick response.

Edited by naccm, 01 September 2008 - 20:47.


#76   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 01 September 2008 - 21:13

If you install on a vanilla setup you will see that the box headings do overlay the top graphic.

I know sppc does much messing, I have no need for it so wont go near unless a client asks me to, so I`m afraid you'd best ask in the sppc forum, sorry.

/wink.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=';)' />
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#77   naccm

naccm
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:Mac

Posted 02 September 2008 - 04:38

Bummer, I was hoping you could wave your magic wand. I suspect the people of sppc will have the reverse problem of knowing about this contri. Nonetheless I will give it a try. It must be the call to the box heading that was affected by sppc., but I can't figure it out. Thanks for the help.

Side note - Your image is driving me crazy because I know I have seen it. Wasn't Shaun of the Dead, but am I on the right track?
-Mac

#78   sanejane

sanejane
  • Members
  • 36 posts
  • Real Name:sane jane

Posted 02 September 2008 - 19:37

this looks very cool. I'm going to try it right now. any chance to get the sliced PSD?

#79   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 02 September 2008 - 20:02

Side note - Your image is driving me crazy because I know I have seen it. Wasn't Shaun of the Dead, but am I on the right track?


No, much more furureristic!!
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.

#80   spooks

spooks
  • Members
  • 7,017 posts
  • Real Name:Sam
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 02 September 2008 - 20:05

You need to speak to Mike Summers, but I don't think he about any more.
Sam

Remember, What you think I ment may not be what I thought I ment when I said it.

Contributions:


Auto Backup your Database, Easy way

Multi Images with Fancy Pop-ups, Easy way

Products in columns with multi buy etc etc

Disable any Category or Product, Easy way

Secure & Improve your account pages et al.