Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 14 votes

Header Tags SEO


  • Please log in to reply
7642 replies to this topic

#6721   elara

elara
  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Real Name:Eduardo Lara

Posted 01 July 2012 - 16:39

I can't say without knowing how you upgraded or installed Header Tags but, somehow, some of the settings were duplicated. If this is a new installation, then just use the uninstall and install scripts. If not, then you will have to manually delete the duplicate items in the database.


Hi Jack,

I tried to upgrade Header Tags SEO from 3.2.6 to 3.2.8 using the update procedure, but I had problems that I was unable to solve and I went back to with the backup files. Make sense database could be the problem because DB needed to be expanded I remember.

I am a beginer on this, so please tell me what I need to do in the database.

Thanks, Edo.

#6722   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 01 July 2012 - 16:46

Hi Jack,

I tried to upgrade Header Tags SEO from 3.2.6 to 3.2.8 using the update procedure, but I had problems that I was unable to solve and I went back to with the backup files. Make sense database could be the problem because DB needed to be expanded I remember.

I am a beginer on this, so please tell me what I need to do in the database.

Thanks, Edo.

If it is a new installation, use the uninstall/install files. If it isn't, then you have to edit the database manually. There are examples in these forums on the web if you don't know how to do the latter.

#6723   elara

elara
  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Real Name:Eduardo Lara

Posted 01 July 2012 - 22:36

<p> </p>
<p>

<br />
If it is a new installation, use the uninstall/install files. If it isn&#39;t, then you have to edit the database manually. There are examples in these forums on the web if you don&#39;t know how to do the latter.<br />

</p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>
<div>Hi Jack,</div>
<div>Thanks for your answer, but I can edit a database, I am using PhPAdmin and I can see (in the DB configuration table) several H.T.SEO duplicated registers, but problem is I dont know which of them to delete and which not. I see that duplicated registers are very similar, althought they have some little differences. Is there a list with SEO´s 3.2.6 valid registers o some thing like that?</div>


#6724   elara

elara
  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Real Name:Eduardo Lara

Posted 01 July 2012 - 22:50

Hello Jack.

looking for a solution from other angle........

Is there some way to take my "store name" and add it (beside the product name), inside of the header title tag in my products pages?.

Thanks a lot!


(I have OSC 2.31 and Header Tags SEO 3.2.6, I was unable to update to 3.2.8 and I went back)

Edited by elara, 01 July 2012 - 22:52.


#6725   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 01 July 2012 - 23:55

<p> </p>
<p></p>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>
<div>Hi Jack,</div>
<div>Thanks for your answer, but I can edit a database, I am using PhPAdmin and I can see (in the DB configuration table) several H.T.SEO duplicated registers, but problem is I dont know which of them to delete and which not. I see that duplicated registers are very similar, althought they have some little differences. Is there a list with SEO´s 3.2.6 valid registers o some thing like that?</div>

Sort the configuration table by the configuration_key column and the duplicates will have the same name and be easy to spot.

#6726   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 01 July 2012 - 23:58

Is there some way to take my "store name" and add it (beside the product name), inside of the header title tag in my products pages?.

No,not without editing code. Besides, using the store name as a keyword is one of the top mistakes most shop owners make with SEO. There ae some exceptions but it is almost always a mistake to do that.

#6727   elara

elara
  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • Real Name:Eduardo Lara

Posted 02 July 2012 - 00:23

Hi,

thanks you very much again Jack.

Sorry, maybe I am misunderstanding something here. I mean, that I wish to use the store name in the header "title" tag, not in the header "keyword" tag.


Really that I would like is have a title header tag as the Google SEO guide recomends, it says in its example:

<html>
<head>
<title>Brandon's Baseball Cards - Buy Cards, Baseball News, Card Prices</title>
<meta name="description=" content="Brandon's Baseball Cards provides a
large selection of vintage and modern baseball cards for sale. We also offer
daily baseball news and events in">
</head>
<body>


(1) The title of the homepage for our baseball card site, which lists the business
name and three main focus areas.

Thanks again.

#6728   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 02 July 2012 - 03:42

Hi,

thanks you very much again Jack.

Sorry, maybe I am misunderstanding something here. I mean, that I wish to use the store name in the header "title" tag, not in the header "keyword" tag.

I don't think google means to take that literally. In that example, if that was your site, you would be telling the search engines you want people that search for "Brandon's Baseball Cards" to end up on your site. The problem is that it is doubtful that anyone is searching for "Brandon's Baseball Cards," unless that happens to be some manufacturer. If it is just the name of your site, you will end up ranking number one for it but it will be a useless ranking because no one is looking for it. But you can do it if you want. Just go into Page Control for index.php and enter the name in the box there. If you want it to also appear on the category pages, check the category box.

#6729   Grant7

Grant7
  • Members
  • 104 posts
  • Real Name:Grant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted 03 July 2012 - 11:23

Prior to the last version or two, the update file was specific to the version bieng updated. I changed this recently to check previous changes so it will work for any version, but only from that one forward. So if you use the update file (be sure to use the update settings option), it should catch many of the changes but there will be some that are missing due to the age of your version. All of the mysql updates are in the update files so if you do them as described, you won't have any problems, though it might take a while.


Ok cool, no that's fine, I'll go through the update files and upload the latest files. Cheers!


Getting an error when uploading from 3.0.4 to 3.0.5 - I just want to have the root checkbox available firstly so I can change some title tags for seo, then I may upload to more recent versions.

Everything looks fine in admin, I can see the root checkbox in the "page control" section, however, when I try to make a change to a file, for example to index.php, I get an error like this:

"Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in xxx/xxx/public_html/shop/includes/functions/header_tags.php on line 43

Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in xxx/xxx/public_html/shop/includes/functions/header_tags.php on line 44

Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in xxx/xxx/public_html/shop/includes/functions/header_tags.php on line 45

Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in xxx/xxx/public_html/shop/includes/functions/header_tags.php on line 46"

Any idea what could be causing that error?

Thanks.

#6730   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 03 July 2012 - 12:33

Getting an error when uploading from 3.0.4 to 3.0.5 - I just want to have the root checkbox available firstly so I can change some title tags for seo, then I may upload to more recent versions.

Everything looks fine in admin, I can see the root checkbox in the "page control" section, however, when I try to make a change to a file, for example to index.php, I get an error like this:

"Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in xxx/xxx/public_html/shop/includes/functions/header_tags.php on line 43

No, not specifically. Being on an old version and in-between versions makes it difficult to troubleshoot from here. My guess is there is some difference in the Header Tags files you are using.

#6731   zpupster

zpupster
  • Members
  • 229 posts
  • Real Name:craig

Posted 03 July 2012 - 16:57

hello,

i installed 3.28 on an oscommerce 2.3.1 and i recently added a page pdfs.php. i added this thru a contribution add a new page.

when i go into admin section> Header Tags SEO V 3.2.8> page control the new page is not being picked up. other pages i added are being picked up
. i compared the 2 files and they are the same.

what am i missing??

craig

#6732   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 03 July 2012 - 17:33

hello,

i installed 3.28 on an oscommerce 2.3.1 and i recently added a page pdfs.php. i added this thru a contribution add a new page.

when i go into admin section> Header Tags SEO V 3.2.8> page control the new page is not being picked up. other pages i added are being picked up
. i compared the 2 files and they are the same.

what am i missing??

craig

I'm not familiar with that contribution so I can't really say. But in 2.3, no special code is needed for the page to be recognized as long as it is a correctly setup page. That means there needs to be a file in the languages directory with the same name and an entry in the filenames.php file for that file. If those are there, I've no idea where the problem is. But you could make a copy of a page that is showing, like privacy.php and rename it to that pages name. If it then shows up, the problem is in that code.

#6733   Grant7

Grant7
  • Members
  • 104 posts
  • Real Name:Grant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted 03 July 2012 - 22:32

No, not specifically. Being on an old version and in-between versions makes it difficult to troubleshoot from here. My guess is there is some difference in the Header Tags files you are using.


I ended up playing around with checking and unchecking various boxes in page control and it got rid of the implode warning on all pages.

I still have a couple of issues though:

1) I can't seem to modify the header tags of a few files that I have added myself (not in the default oscommerce package) even though they are listed in page control.

2) How do I add pages that are not appearing in "page control" that I want to modify the header tags for, when running "add missing pages" doesn't seem to add them?

3) When I have the root checkbox unticked in index.php, it doesn't show the index.php title tag on the categories or sub-categories pages, but it does show on the manufacturers pages, and I need to remove this.

Thanks /smile.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

#6734   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 04 July 2012 - 02:42

1) I can't seem to modify the header tags of a few files that I have added myself (not in the default oscommerce package) even though they are listed in page control.

2) How do I add pages that are not appearing in "page control" that I want to modify the header tags for, when running "add missing pages" doesn't seem to add them?

3) When I have the root checkbox unticked in index.php, it doesn't show the index.php title tag on the categories or sub-categories pages, but it does show on the manufacturers pages, and I need to remove this.

1 - If you are not using 2.3 then you need to add the Header Tags code to the file.
2 - See my reply above yours regarding this.
3 - If you are not using the latest version, that might be the case. The fix is to upgrade.

#6735   pedrodriguez11

pedrodriguez11
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Real Name:Sven

Posted 04 July 2012 - 05:35

Hi,
Thanks for your great contribution.

I installed Header Tags SEO V 3.2.8 on Osc v2.3.1,everything seems working fine. Now I have a problem.when I realize a search on the site I get the following error:

1146 - Table 'db420072642.TABLE_HEADERTAGS_KEYWORDS' doesn't exist

select 1 FROM TABLE_HEADERTAGS_KEYWORDS where keyword = 'dorado' and language_id = 2

[TEP STOP]


I have read all the posts and doublechecked database_tables.php in catalog/includes and admin/includes, the advances_search_results.php and all the other changed files... Can't find any mistake there, but in my database if I check the headertags_keywords I get MySQL has returned an empty value
Uninstalled and installed the headertags_seo_..., Fill the tags with result:
2951 Category tags have been filled.
2951 Manufacturer tags have been filled.
2951 Product tags have been filled.
languages in the Header Tags table are: 2 ( Espanol ).
Test is OK, No errors of Permission Settings...

What else can be wrong???

#6736   Grant7

Grant7
  • Members
  • 104 posts
  • Real Name:Grant
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted 04 July 2012 - 06:52

1 - If you are not using 2.3 then you need to add the Header Tags code to the file.
2 - See my reply above yours regarding this.
3 - If you are not using the latest version, that might be the case. The fix is to upgrade.


Thanks for your reply Jack. For 1) and 2) I realised that I had some duplicate entries in the database for each page that I was having trouble with, so when I removed those I was able to get all pages working. For 3 I found the fix for this in a more recent version, where the root tags were removed from the manufacturers pages, so all good now.

Thanks again! Cheers, Grant

#6737   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 04 July 2012 - 12:05

Hi,
Thanks for your great contribution.

I installed Header Tags SEO V 3.2.8 on Osc v2.3.1,everything seems working fine. Now I have a problem.when I realize a search on the site I get the following error:

1146 - Table 'db420072642.TABLE_HEADERTAGS_KEYWORDS' doesn't exist

Capital letters in an error mean a definition can't be found so you've missed something. That definition is in the database_tables.php file and there are two of them.

#6738   pedrodriguez11

pedrodriguez11
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Real Name:Sven

Posted 04 July 2012 - 14:36

Yes, and I checked them both... /includes/database_tables.php:
...
define('TABLE_ZONES', 'zones');
/*** Begin Header Tags SEO ***/
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS', 'headertags');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_CACHE', 'headertags_cache');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_DEFAULT', 'headertags_default');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_SEARCH', 'headertags_search');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_SILO', 'headertags_silo');
/*** End Header Tags SEO ***/
?>

and admin/includes/database_tables.php:
...
define('TABLE_ZONES', 'zones');
/*** Begin Header Tags SEO ***/
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS', 'headertags');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_CACHE', 'headertags_cache');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_DEFAULT', 'headertags_default');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_KEYWORDS', 'headertags_keywords');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_SEARCH', 'headertags_search');
define('TABLE_HEADERTAGS_SILO', 'headertags_silo');
/*** End Header Tags SEO ***/
?>

But I still get this error. Where else can the mistake be???

#6739   ianhaney

ianhaney
  • Members
  • 859 posts
  • Real Name:Ian Haney
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 July 2012 - 22:17

Hi

I have got this add on installed and love it but want to make sure I am using it to its full potential to benefit me

Can Jack or someone just quickly look over the following and see that is done correctly

Meta Tag Information

Product Title Tag: Hello Kitty Fashion Set - childrens toys - irhtoys.co.uk

Product Description Tag: Start your jewellery collection and keep it stored safely with the Hello Kitty Fashion Set
This jewellery storage case is shaped like Hello Kitty's face, has a handle for easy carrying, and opens out to reveal plenty of space to hold jewellery
Featuring a slide-out drawer with seperate storage compartments, and six heart-shaped pegs for hanging and displaying your favourite items of jewellery. To start off your collection, the jewellery box contains a heart-shaped Hello Kitty bracelet, ring, necklace and earrings. You even get a detachable hand mirror, to see how pretty you look in your new jewellery!. The Hello Kitty Fashion Set is a great first jewellery set for fans of Hello Kitty. Recommended Age: 4 years and over

Product Keywords Tag: Hello Kitty Fashion Set, fashion set, Hello Kitty, hello kitty, childrens toys, toys in uk, uk, basildon, essex, irhtoys.co.uk

Product Listing Text: Hello Kitty Fashion Set

Product Page Sub Text: Hello Kitty Fashion Set

Any advice or anything would be great

Sorry its long

Edited by ianhaney, 06 July 2012 - 22:18.


#6740   Jack_mcs

Jack_mcs
  • Members
  • 26,472 posts
  • Real Name:Jack York
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 06 July 2012 - 23:41

Product Title Tag: Hello Kitty Fashion Set - childrens toys - irhtoys.co.uk

Product Description Tag: Start your jewellery collection and keep it stored safely with the Hello Kitty Fashion Set
This jewellery storage case is shaped like Hello Kitty's face, has a handle for easy carrying, and opens out to reveal plenty of space to hold jewellery
Featuring a slide-out drawer with seperate storage compartments, and six heart-shaped pegs for hanging and displaying your favourite items of jewellery. To start off your collection, the jewellery box contains a heart-shaped Hello Kitty bracelet, ring, necklace and earrings. You even get a detachable hand mirror, to see how pretty you look in your new jewellery!. The Hello Kitty Fashion Set is a great first jewellery set for fans of Hello Kitty. Recommended Age: 4 years and over

Product Keywords Tag: Hello Kitty Fashion Set, fashion set, Hello Kitty, hello kitty, childrens toys, toys in uk, uk, basildon, essex, irhtoys.co.uk

Keyword like irhtoys.co.uk are not helpful unless it is a branded site, like amazon or ebay. Keywords like UK are pretty useless since it is doubtful that anyone would search for UK, unless they wanted information about the UK, in which case it wouldn't apply to site, most likely. The description is the kind of thing google is looking for. They want it to be descriptive instead of just saying "we sell product a." But if you notice their listings, they only show two lines (generally around 160 characters) so you need to word the description with the main keywords for the page in those first few lines for them to be effective..