Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

RSS Feed contribution support thread


  • Please log in to reply
372 replies to this topic

#1   Ralph2

Ralph2
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Real Name:Ralph

Posted 14 March 2007 - 22:02

This is the support thread for the RSS Feed contribution.

The contribution can be found and downloaded here: RSS Feed.

#2   pixclinic

pixclinic

    FrenchyBee

  • Members
  • 715 posts
  • Real Name:Frenchy Bee
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle

Posted 15 March 2007 - 03:41

Hi

some issues:
- can't add products to cart with CHEMO's urls: the product ID is not appended in the url.
- set the feed limit to 20, but 80 are showing up.
- some products have images, other don't.

#3   ruboo

ruboo
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Real Name:Arman

Posted 15 March 2007 - 03:50

Just wondering, why this piece of code is needed?
-----------------------------------------------
Open all the php files within the catalog folder / root of your website (e.g. index.php, contact_us.php etc):

###Add before / above the </head> tag:

<?php
if (!isset($lng) || (isset($lng) && !is_object($lng))) {
include(DIR_WS_CLASSES . 'language.php');
$lng = new language;
}

reset($lng->catalog_languages);
while (list($key, $value) = each($lng->catalog_languages)) {
?>
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="<?php echo STORE_NAME . ' - ' . BOX_INFORMATION_RSS; ?>" href="<?php echo tep_href_link(FILENAME_RSS, 'language=' . $key, 'NONSSL', false); ?>">
<?php
}
?>
--------------------------------------------------
I installed all without the above and all seems to work correctly, and without any bug, Do I need to install the above? what is it for?

#4   pixclinic

pixclinic

    FrenchyBee

  • Members
  • 715 posts
  • Real Name:Frenchy Bee
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle

Posted 15 March 2007 - 23:30

Hi

some issues:
- can't add products to cart with CHEMO's urls: the product ID is not appended in the url.
- set the feed limit to 20, but 80 are showing up.
- some products have images, other don't.


was a cache problem for the number of products and images.

The only thing not working for me is the add to cart button, I get the following error (whether ultimate SEO url is on or off)

1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1

select products_price from products where products_id = 

[TEP STOP]

the products_id is not retrieved by the query???

#5   chee

chee
  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Real Name:chee

Posted 16 March 2007 - 09:17

good contribution!

Quick bug:

1) i added 1 item 10 mins ago, but it showing like 15 hours ago for that item on the rss list!?

2) click on the green arrow next to the "15 hours ago", the product link is not valid "Product not found. Please try again with another search keywords."

clue?

Edited by chee, 16 March 2007 - 09:22.


#6   Ralph2

Ralph2
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Real Name:Ralph

Posted 16 March 2007 - 13:07

Just wondering, why this piece of code is needed?


The code places a line like:
<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="Myshop.com - Catalogus Feed" href="http://myshop.com/rss.php?language=en">

within the head of your webshop's pages containing the code. As soon as RSS supporting browsers like IE7 and Firefox read such a line in a page header, they notify a visitor of your website that there's a RSS feed available to them. The notification itself is usually done via an orange RSS icon which shows up (Firefox) or starts to glow (IE7).

Since the notification is only activated if a page contains the code in its head, it's recommandable to place the php code in all the pages (with a head tag!) located within your catalog folder. Since the pages located in your catalog folder can be seen by visitors.

So, if you want to maximize the change of visitors noticing your shop's RSS feed, it's recommandable to use the code. But you don't have to.

#7   Ralph2

Ralph2
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Real Name:Ralph

Posted 16 March 2007 - 13:21

was a cache problem for the number of products and images.

The only thing not working for me is the add to cart button, I get the following error (whether ultimate SEO url is on or off)

1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1

select products_price from products where products_id = 

[TEP STOP]

the products_id is not retrieved by the query???


I'm glad you solved the first problem.

I'm just wondering; are you using the rss.php file as inluded with the v1.0 package or did you only update the rss.php which you were already using?

You see, I noticed "products_price" within your error. While all references to the products_price, $price etc are actually removed since v1.0.

Possible solution: try it with the original v1.0 rss.php. I hope that that'll solve your last problem.

#8   Ralph2

Ralph2
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Real Name:Ralph

Posted 16 March 2007 - 14:07

good contribution!

Quick bug:

1) i added 1 item 10 mins ago, but it showing like 15 hours ago for that item on the rss list!?

2) click on the green arrow next to the "15 hours ago", the product link is not valid "Product not found. Please try again with another search keywords."

clue?


It looks like the feed is pulling the time / data from a wrong or possibly deleted database record.

I've a few questions for you:

1 - Are you using an updated version of your old rss.php? Is so, try the original rss.php as included with v1.0.

2 - Green arrow... I suppose you're using IE7. If you hold the mouse cursor over the green arrow, does the URL / link which shows up at the bottom of your browser look something like:

http://yourwebshop.com/product_info.php?products_id=93

If not, could you please show me the URL / link which your browser comes up with when holding the cursor over the green arrow?

3 - Is the product still in your database or did you remove it? If the message you stated is displayed on the product_info.php, which pretty much means the green arrow link itself is working fine, you might want to verify this. I'm asking this because IE7 displays removed products as old articles in the feed, until they are pushed away by new products / articles. This means that when you click on such an old feed article, your shop's database can't find the product which leads to the message being displayed on product_info.php.

In order to get an up to date feed in IE7, you have to unsubscribe from your shop's feed and reload the feed without being subscribed to it. That way you'll prevent deleted products from being displayed as old (and thus not working) articles in your feed. If the links work correctly after you did that, then your feed is working fine.

#9   Dennis_gull

Dennis_gull
  • Members
  • 373 posts
  • Real Name:Dennis
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 16 March 2007 - 15:12

Didnt this contribution work with SEO urls?

#10   Dennis_gull

Dennis_gull
  • Members
  • 373 posts
  • Real Name:Dennis
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 16 March 2007 - 15:20

I just tried it and it works great with SEO urls and the buy now button also works, I was looking for something just like this. Thanks! /smile.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

#11   Code Red

Code Red
  • Members
  • 99 posts
  • Real Name:Martin

Posted 16 March 2007 - 16:01

I've just installed this and when I click on the feed button it takes me to a page with a pulldown menu showing "Live Bookmarks" (I'm using Firefox), a mysterious looking checkbox and a "Subscribe now" button. Clicking the Subscribe button does nothing, whether the checkbox is clicked or not. Any ideas?

I'm running this locally on my computer at the moment, so I don't know if that has any bearing on the issue but naturally I'm nervous about uploading anything to the real site until I know it's all working properly.

#12   Dennis_gull

Dennis_gull
  • Members
  • 373 posts
  • Real Name:Dennis
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 16 March 2007 - 17:04

You subscribe each headline in "live bookmarks" so they update all the time, just check the bookmark folder

#13   Roaddoctor

Roaddoctor
  • Members
  • 1,030 posts
  • Real Name:David Jennings
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Texas

Posted 17 March 2007 - 01:30

I've updated and can not get it working.

in IE7, all I see is a nessage saying this feed contains errors, with this for details: "The following tags were not closed: rss, channel.
Line: 0 Character: 0"

in FF, I see a page with the subscribe box, but just my store name title and thats it.

I also just noticed that the SQL addition is not appearing in my Configuration -> Maximum Values. I did run it with success reported and did not get an error...

any ideas?

Edited by Roaddoctor, 17 March 2007 - 01:33.

-Dave

#14   Roaddoctor

Roaddoctor
  • Members
  • 1,030 posts
  • Real Name:David Jennings
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Texas

Posted 17 March 2007 - 04:14

I've updated and can not get it working.

in IE7, all I see is a nessage saying this feed contains errors, with this for details: "The following tags were not closed: rss, channel.
Line: 0 Character: 0"

in FF, I see a page with the subscribe box, but just my store name title and thats it.

I also just noticed that the SQL addition is not appearing in my Configuration -> Maximum Values. I did run it with success reported and did not get an error...

any ideas?


Did a merge of new to old file and got it working. Seems the sql file is not doing what it should for me. So I worked around that by keeping quantity of items listed as MAX_DISPLAY_SEARCH_RESULTS and all is well. Great look to the feed and much improved. Thanks!!
-Dave

#15   lordofcb

lordofcb
  • Members
  • 68 posts
  • Real Name:Homer Ford
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, West Australia

Posted 17 March 2007 - 13:52

Great contribution.. I thought I had it all working good, but had problem reported and verified it. The feed works fine in Firefox, but if I (or anybody else) try the link or button in IE 7, it gives an error.. 'Internet Explorer can not display this feed.. this feed contains errors'. Works great in Firefox tho. Any ideas??

#16   Roaddoctor

Roaddoctor
  • Members
  • 1,030 posts
  • Real Name:David Jennings
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Texas

Posted 17 March 2007 - 14:30

Great contribution.. I thought I had it all working good, but had problem reported and verified it. The feed works fine in Firefox, but if I (or anybody else) try the link or button in IE 7, it gives an error.. 'Internet Explorer can not display this feed.. this feed contains errors'. Works great in Firefox tho. Any ideas??


I did a careful merge of the new rss to the old rss file, making a few tweaks to match my stores environment and got it working in both FF and IE7.

I do not have $price working yet, and could use some help with that, but the rest works well.

It will work fine with a little tweaking. I can send/post my revised version if it would help.

Edited by Roaddoctor, 17 March 2007 - 14:31.

-Dave

#17   lordofcb

lordofcb
  • Members
  • 68 posts
  • Real Name:Homer Ford
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth, West Australia

Posted 18 March 2007 - 01:39

I did a careful merge of the new rss to the old rss file, making a few tweaks to match my stores environment and got it working in both FF and IE7.

I do not have $price working yet, and could use some help with that, but the rest works well.

It will work fine with a little tweaking. I can send/post my revised version if it would help.


Thanks, I finally got it working, it was some characters in the listings that IE couldn't handle for some reason. Under more information it kept giving me line and character references for character errors, so I changed the product listings and tags in HTC until it accepted them. It may have been " symbols.

#18   chee

chee
  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Real Name:chee

Posted 19 March 2007 - 10:13

1 - Are you using an updated version of your old rss.php? Is so, try the original rss.php as included with v1.0.

I am using your version of rss.php

2 - Green arrow... I suppose you're using IE7. If you hold the mouse cursor over the green arrow, does the URL / link which shows up at the bottom of your browser look something like:

http://yourwebshop.com/product_info.php?products_id=93

If not, could you please show me the URL / link which your browser comes up with when holding the cursor over the green arrow?
Yes showing correct and the product is not disabled, very strange ...

3 - Is the product still in your database or did you remove it? If the message you stated is displayed on the product_info.php, which pretty much means the green arrow link itself is working fine, you might want to verify this. I'm asking this because IE7 displays removed products as old articles in the feed, until they are pushed away by new products / articles. This means that when you click on such an old feed article, your shop's database can't find the product which leads to the message being displayed on product_info.php.

In order to get an up to date feed in IE7, you have to unsubscribe from your shop's feed and reload the feed without being subscribed to it. That way you'll prevent deleted products from being displayed as old (and thus not working) articles in your feed. If the links work correctly after you did that, then your feed is working fine.
[/quote]

#19   Ralph2

Ralph2
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Real Name:Ralph

Posted 19 March 2007 - 17:58

1 - Are you using an updated version of your old rss.php? Is so, try the original rss.php as included with v1.0.

I am using your version of rss.php

2 - Green arrow... I suppose you're using IE7. If you hold the mouse cursor over the green arrow, does the URL / link which shows up at the bottom of your browser look something like:

http://yourwebshop.com/product_info.php?products_id=93

If not, could you please show me the URL / link which your browser comes up with when holding the cursor over the green arrow?
Yes showing correct and the product is not disabled, very strange ...


That's indeed a bit strange. Well, I guess you've already tried the unsubscribe thing and that that didn't solve the problem either.'

Did you try an older version of this contribution? Because if an older version works then at least we can be sure that your problem is version related.

I'll keep an eye on this thread...

#20   chee

chee
  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Real Name:chee

Posted 20 March 2007 - 02:09

That's indeed a bit strange. Well, I guess you've already tried the unsubscribe thing and that that didn't solve the problem either.'

Did you try an older version of this contribution? Because if an older version works then at least we can be sure that your problem is version related.

I'll keep an eye on this thread...


i reverted all back to old version, it is still same! both "xxx hours ago" and "link issue"! /mad.gif' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':angry:' />