Jump to content



- - - - -

[CONTRIB] UK Royal Mail & Overseas Shipping Methods


  • Please log in to reply
422 replies to this topic

#21   stu2000

stu2000
  • Members
  • 465 posts
  • Real Name:Stuart Newton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Posted 21 August 2006 - 11:53 PM

Yeah, read the instructions, if using the royal mail modules, you will either have to install a courier like parcels or citylink, or if you do not use a courier, you will need to remove the limits from the royal mail modules to prevent this
Stuart

#22   stu2000

stu2000
  • Members
  • 465 posts
  • Real Name:Stuart Newton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Posted 21 August 2006 - 11:54 PM

View Poststu2000, on Aug 18 2006, 08:03 PM, said:

IMPORTANT NOTES  IMPORTANT NOTES  IMPORTANT NOTES  IMPORTANT NOTES  IMPORTANT NOTES
=================================================================

IF YOU DECIDE TO INSTALL ONLY THE ROYAL MAIL MODULES AND NOT ANY OF THE COURIERS OR PARCEL FORCE MODULES, PLEASE OPEN THE ROYAL MAIL MODULES AND REMOVE THE LIMITS.
If you do not remove the limits and you have no other shipping modules installed, if someone buys something from you over 32.00, there will be no shipping option shown, hence your customer can checkout and pay 0.00 shipping.

To summarise, either install Royal Mail modules with a courier (Standard Parcels, Citylink or Parcelforce) or if you install the Royal Mail modules on their own, (RM 1st, RM 2nd, RM 1st REC or RM 2nd REC) edit the files to remove the limits.

Stuart

#23   fragile

fragile
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Real Name:Ben Jones

Posted 21 August 2006 - 11:58 PM

I've actually got the Stanard Parcels module installed too and it's showing a price, but it hasn't stopped Royal Mail 2nd class from showing 0.00. Do I need to install Citylink and Parcelforce too?

Royal Mail 1st Class Standard  
Delivery Weight : 1.1 Kg's (Ships normally within 1 to 3 days) 4.74  
  
  Royal Mail 2nd Class Standard  
The shipping rate cannot be determined at this time (1.00Kg cart weight exceeded 0.00  
  
  Royal Mail Standard Parcels  
Delivery Weight : 1.1 Kg's (Insured upto 500.00, ships within 3 to 5 days) 5.95  
  
  Royal Mail Special Delivery  
Delivery Weight : 1.1 Kg's (Insured upto 2500.00, ships Nextday) 8.90

#24   fragile

fragile
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Real Name:Ben Jones

Posted 22 August 2006 - 12:18 AM

Just had a play around. I've only got one item on the shop so it's easy to replicate. If I add one item and check out there's no problem. If I up the quantity to 35 of the same item there's no problem...all the standard Royal Mail options go and I'm just left with couriers. If I change the quantity to 10 items I hit the problem where Royal Mail 2nd Class Standard appears and offers free postage.
Any idea where I might have gone wrong?

Edited by fragile, 22 August 2006 - 12:19 AM.


#25   fragile

fragile
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Real Name:Ben Jones

Posted 22 August 2006 - 12:29 AM

Further playing reveals I don't get a problem when the product's quantity is 9 or 11. Maybe it's something to do with the items weight being set to 0.10 and the quantity being 10 means it's weight it dead on the 1Kg mark?

Edited by fragile, 22 August 2006 - 12:30 AM.


#26   fragile

fragile
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Real Name:Ben Jones

Posted 22 August 2006 - 12:48 AM

Sorted....

"Larger packages - percentage increase" was set to 10 in Admin-config-shipping/packing. I'm just a beginner with osCommerce and don't know PHP so I'm only guessing, maybe the actual package's weight being 1Kg meant the shipping module kicked in but then the extra 10% took it over it's limit and confused things.

Anyway, percentage increase is set to 0 now and things are working fine. I feel a bit of a fool for talking to myself on here for the past half an hour but I suppose at least what I've done is documented now in case anybody else hits the same problem!

Great modules Stu2000! Just what I needed. Really appreciated :)

Edited by fragile, 22 August 2006 - 12:50 AM.


#27   stu2000

stu2000
  • Members
  • 465 posts
  • Real Name:Stuart Newton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Posted 22 August 2006 - 12:52 PM

The modules are very basic, but unfortunately they need to be as Royal Mails prices and structures are so complicated. It seems that if you want to send a large parcel with Royal Mail it will cost you an arm and a leg, so a courier is required.

The only downside I can see with these modules is, if you order a lot of one item, the scripts don't have the common sense to work out it can be sent in several boxes. You can adjust the Box weight through admin, but then this will mess up the international modules.

International by ROyal Mail is a max of 2Kg, so if you set the box weight to 2, it will upset the national modules and if you set it to say 50 it will upset the international. I am in talks with a few other code writers and trying to improve the modules and will try and release a better version, but for the moment, it seems to work roughly.
Stuart

#28   driftwood

driftwood
  • Members
  • 226 posts
  • Real Name:Dr Driftwood

Posted 23 August 2006 - 01:49 PM

great contrib, thanks for all thehard work and providing it.

Just an idea for the next update - My past shipping mod wanted weights in grams this expects them in KG and also USA uses LBS. How about an admin option to change this setting and perhaps a convertion at checkout from metric to imperial to show USA customers what they are getting in lbs.

Drifter.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
OSC user for years and no coder, so I've earned my stripes.

Feel free to private message me.

#29   stu2000

stu2000
  • Members
  • 465 posts
  • Real Name:Stuart Newton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Posted 23 August 2006 - 02:36 PM

That sounds as if it should be easy enough, will try and implement this in next version.
Stuart

#30   angrycat

angrycat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Real Name:Jeremy

Posted 25 August 2006 - 12:48 PM

Hi,

I think there is a bug within this contrib.

If the tare weight is high, say 3kg, but the product weight is low, 0.1, then at checkout the Royal mail options with a 3kg cap display with a message along the lines of "price cannot be confirmed over 3kg".

Although the message displays saying the costs cannot be calculated, it is still possible to select these items and checkout with 0.0 shipping charges.

I know this is an unlikely to occur in a live shop, but it is a weakness.

AC

#31   stu2000

stu2000
  • Members
  • 465 posts
  • Real Name:Stuart Newton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Posted 25 August 2006 - 11:37 PM

HI there, in the instructions, it says, if you do not install a courier i.e parcel force citylink or rm parcels, you will have to remove the limits with the Royal Mail modules.

Why?

Basically, with Royal Mail, you can post upto about 10Kg in weight, after this they will tell you to use parcelforce etc etc. However, after about 3Kg, it makes sense to use a courier as Royal Mails prices will be far too expensive compared to that of a courier.

Therefore I have put in limits, if the item is higher than 3Kg in weight, deactivate the Royal Mail module, unfortunately if the module is deactivated the customer can checkout and pay nothing. Hence you need to either install a courier module to cope with weights over 3Kg, so when the RM maodule deactivates at the 3Kg limit, the courier module kicks in OR remove the limits from the Royal Mail module, so it will never show zero.

There is by default a 3Kg limit on the RM modules, either remove these limits by editing the files and adding prices in the module for weights higher than 3Kg, or install a courier module to cope with high weights.

Hope this makes sense. Its not a bug in the script, its the way I have it programmed for my business. I use RM for small items and couriers for heavy ones etc.
Stuart

#32   shiftlocked

shiftlocked
  • Members
  • 141 posts
  • Real Name:Mark C

Posted 30 August 2006 - 11:17 AM

Thanks for the contrib, 2 secs after reading this thread.  Spot on (well so far till i find a problem)
Things still to do before going "live" in no real order...
Change "buy now buttons" css styles
Change "lets see what we have here" into something meaningfull
Main logo of the website
Sort out currency to make site UK only (at present)
Remove "xx requests since" stuff
Update mainpage :D
Move shopping cart status into header
Add in stock status to product listing page
Define styles for product listing standardisation
Change CSS background for Headings
Increase Category size headings

Used mods so far:- basic_design_pack1mk7 | Google XML sitemap w admin | Paypal IPN v 1.2 | Feedmachine | pricematch_1_3_1 | Dynamic Sitemap 1.6 | Whos online Enhancement | Easypopulate 2.72

Each one that I solve I;ll be putting a post on the forum in a "completed shop" thread that Im writing up

#33   Antonimo

Antonimo
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Real Name:Anthony

Posted 05 September 2006 - 12:40 PM

re. UK Royal Mail & Overseas Shipping v 1.2 (FULL)

Is the archive password protected?

#34   Antonimo

Antonimo
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Real Name:Anthony

Posted 06 September 2006 - 08:29 AM

Quote

(8) Royal Mail International Signed for (European Prices for weights upto 2Kg)
(9) Royal Mail International Signed for (Zone 1 for weights upto 2Kg)
(10) Royal Mail International Signed for (Zone 2 for weights upto 2Kg)
When a product weighing more than 2kg is ordered with a delivery address in Europe, the delivery price is calculated at 999.00, based on the entry in the admin section
Zone (1) European Countries
AL,AD,AM,AT,AZ,BY,BE,BA,BG,HR,CY,CZ,DK,EE,FO,FI,FR,GE,DE,GI,GR,GL,HU,IS,IE,IT,KZ
,KG,LV,LI,LT,LU,MK,MT,MD,MC,NL,NO,PL,PT,RO,RU,SM,SK,SI,ES,SE,CH,TJ,TR,TM,UA,UZ,VA
.1:1.1,.2:1.69,.3:2.23,.4:2.69,.5:3.19,.6:3.69,.7:4.19,.8:4.69,.9:5.19,1:5.69,1.1:6.19,1.2:6.69,1.3:7.19,1.4:7.69,1.5:8.19,1.6:8.69,1.7:9.19,1.8:9.69,1.9:10.19,2:10.69,99:999
Is there a way to [/b]prevent the delivery option even appearing for products that weigh more than RM will deliver with a particular service?

Regards,

#35   Antonimo

Antonimo
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Real Name:Anthony

Posted 06 September 2006 - 08:33 AM

OK - I just read inside "airmail.php"...

Quote

CAVEATS
At this time, it does not deal with weights that are above the highest amount
defined.  This will probably be the next area to be improved with the
module.  For now, you could have one last very high range with a very
high shipping rate to discourage orders of that magnitude.  For
instance:  999:1000
So, that answers my previous question.

Here's something else I found in "airmail.php"

Quote

It appears that the osC shipping system automatically rounds the
shipping weight up to the nearest whole unit.  This makes it more
difficult to design precise shipping tables.  If you want to, you
can hack the shipping.php file to get rid of the rounding.
As I understand little about how php works, could somebody explain how I would remove the "rounding" please?

#36   angrycat

angrycat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Real Name:Jeremy

Posted 07 September 2006 - 01:02 PM

View Poststu2000, on Aug 26 2006, 12:37 AM, said:

HI there, in the instructions, it says, if you do not install a courier i.e parcel force citylink or rm parcels, you will have to remove the limits with the Royal Mail modules.

Why?

Basically, with Royal Mail, you can post upto about 10Kg in weight, after this they will tell you to use parcelforce etc etc. However, after about 3Kg, it makes sense to use a courier as Royal Mails prices will be far too expensive compared to that of a courier.

Therefore I have put in limits, if the item is higher than 3Kg in weight, deactivate the Royal Mail module, unfortunately if the module is deactivated the customer can checkout and pay nothing. Hence you need to either install a courier module to cope with weights over 3Kg, so when the RM maodule deactivates at the 3Kg limit, the courier module kicks in OR remove the limits from the Royal Mail module, so it will never show zero.

There is by default a 3Kg limit on the RM modules, either remove these limits by editing the files and adding prices in the module for weights higher than 3Kg, or install a courier module to cope with high weights.

Hope this makes sense. Its not a bug in the script, its the way I have it programmed for my business. I use RM for small items and couriers for heavy ones etc.

Hello again,

I have the other modules installed, and they are available, along with the 0 price shipping options.

Is this how it is supposed to work? i.e. the customer is presented with courier options for x along with 0 options where the weight is exceeded, with a warning that the price for this option cannot be calculated?

I ask, as I only saw this behaviour when I was testing with a hight tare weight and low product weight. When using a high product weight, the options where the weight was exceeded dissapeared alltogether.

Thanks

Very usefuld contrib BTW, cheers  :thumbsup:

#37   pcgiant

pcgiant
  • Members
  • 55 posts
  • Real Name:jamie

Posted 16 September 2006 - 06:10 AM

Hi

I have installed this contribution but the shipping price is not the as it should be for standard parcel is adding a cost of 5,95 for a 1.44kg item, the cost should be 4.95 1.00 is adden on I have also removed tair weight and still the price is the same.  1.00 above the correct price.

Here is our site  

Any help would be much appreciated

Kind Regards

Jamie

#38   stu2000

stu2000
  • Members
  • 465 posts
  • Real Name:Stuart Newton
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Posted 16 September 2006 - 09:18 AM

HAve you added a charge for handling of a 1.00 in the module at the bottom, have a look at the settings in admin, also do you have a test account so I can have a look without setting up a bogus account myself?
Stuart

#39   flawlesslee

flawlesslee
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Real Name:lee corrigan

Posted 19 September 2006 - 06:47 PM

I have just installed this brilliant contribution but need your help to solve a problem!

checkout_shipping.php page loads with javascript   errors and get order total wont work at all, it will still process but just wont calculate the totals, but if i take away this contib its fine?

The shop has been modified with contribs from others, Fast easy checkout is the one i expect to be suspect somehow!

Strange one cant work this out any ideas anyone please! :huh:

#40   vox

vox
  • Members
  • 58 posts
  • Real Name:Bob
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 September 2006 - 08:28 PM

View Postpcgiant, on Sep 16 2006, 07:10 AM, said:

Hi

I have installed this contribution but the shipping price is not the as it should be for standard parcel is adding a cost of 5,95 for a 1.44kg item, the cost should be 4.95 1.00 is adden on I have also removed tair weight and still the price is the same.  1.00 above the correct price.

Here is our site  

Any help would be much appreciated

Kind Regards

Jamie

In stand.php around line 136 there are the insurance charges that are used in the calculation for the costs.

Remember that depending upon the value of your items to be shipped these insurance costs are added as part of the calculation for shipping.

Hope it helps.