Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

[Contribution] More Category Boxes


  • Please log in to reply
292 replies to this topic

#241   Ackis

Ackis
  • Members
  • 186 posts
  • Real Name:Jessica Fuchs
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 15 September 2009 - 20:43

I did not use the "German" language pack. But perhaps I can help a bit.
TABLE_CATEGORIES_MORE_LANGUAGES is not part of the sql query in that package, so will not become a table in the database.
Perhaps you can add another line in database_tables.php? Something like:
define('TABLE_CATEGORIES_MORE_LANGUAGES', 'categories_more');
When this doesn't work there is an error in one of the php files in that package or lines are missing in the sql query in that package.

Peter


Thank you for your answer Peter.

I read another tip, that I should reinstall everything so I did that.
I deleted every file and uploaded them again.
Unforunately I didn't get happier this time either.

This is the meassege I get now.

Warning: main(includes/boxes/more_categories.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /hsphere/local/home/ackispac/rcmaffian.se/Test/oscommerce_st/catalog/includes/modules/sts_inc/sts_column_left.php on line 37 Warning: main(): Failed opening 'includes/boxes/more_categories.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/hsphere/shared/apache/libexec/php4ext/php/') in /hsphere/local/home/ackispac/rcmaffian.se/Test/oscommerce_st/catalog/includes/modules/sts_inc/sts_column_left.php on line 37

Hope someone can help me or guide me to the right directions.

//Jessica
Jessica Fuchs

#242   janssen-militaria

janssen-militaria
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Real Name:Peter Janssen
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 15 September 2009 - 22:53

I read another tip, that I should reinstall everything so I did that.
I deleted every file and uploaded them again.


Reinstall will not help because the "German" package has something missing (or errors). In more_categories.php of that upload there is a line which needs "TABLE_CATEGORIES_MORE_LANGUAGES". Because that is not in the sql or in any other file it will not work. I presume you need the language pack? The previous uploads are working well (only problem with the table 1 = table 11 which cab fixed easy).

I will have a better look (for you) what the problem of that German package is. I have never installed it, so I had no errors off course ;-)

Did you copy more_categories.php again in 'includes/boxes/more_categories.php (according to your error???)

KR,
Peter

#243   janssen-militaria

janssen-militaria
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Real Name:Peter Janssen
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 15 September 2009 - 23:42

Hi,

Had another look to the TABLE_CATEGORIES_MORE_LANGUAGES problem. As I see it the "German" package is missing a proper sql file. According to the php files the table needs to be added to the database. That new table has to include includes lang0 till lang6. So if you want to use the "German" package you have to alter the database yourself by adding another table (or make a new sql file)

Reinstalling or changing names in database_tables.php will NOT help to solve the problems with this package (it is just missing a proper sql file).

KR,
Peter

#244   Ackis

Ackis
  • Members
  • 186 posts
  • Real Name:Jessica Fuchs
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 16 September 2009 - 04:51

Hi,

Had another look to the TABLE_CATEGORIES_MORE_LANGUAGES problem. As I see it the "German" package is missing a proper sql file. According to the php files the table needs to be added to the database. That new table has to include includes lang0 till lang6. So if you want to use the "German" package you have to alter the database yourself by adding another table (or make a new sql file)

Reinstalling or changing names in database_tables.php will NOT help to solve the problems with this package (it is just missing a proper sql file).

KR,
Peter


Peter, THANK YOU! :rolleyes:
I don't need the german language.
I will download another version instead and try one more time.
(hold your thumbs for me please )

Best regards
Jessica
Jessica Fuchs

#245   janssen-militaria

janssen-militaria
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Real Name:Peter Janssen
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:38

Peter, THANK YOU! :rolleyes:
I don't need the german language.
I will download another version instead and try one more time.
(hold your thumbs for me please )

Best regards
Jessica


Hello again Jessica,

When you do not need more languages just install one of the other versions. I presume you have already used the sql query of the "German" pack, but that is the correct sql for all the other packs (which is the problem with the German pack).

In fact when you uploaded and changed everything for the "German" package, you will probably only have to upload the (two) new versions of categories_more.php. But please change in the file the issue I described as "table 1 = table 11" (see my post here Sep 13 2009).

KR,
Peter (which my thumbs up)

#246   Ackis

Ackis
  • Members
  • 186 posts
  • Real Name:Jessica Fuchs
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 16 September 2009 - 19:01

Peter....

I think I have done something stupid

I deleted every file and started all over again...
It went well until I should upload the sql file one more time

Now I get this meassege in phpmyadmin.
Error
SQL-question:

INSERT INTO `configuration_group` ( `configuration_group_id` , `configuration_group_title` , `configuration_group_description` , `sort_order` , `visible` )
VALUES (

'8675309', 'More Categories', 'More Category Boxes options', '20', '1'
);



MySQL said:

#1062 - Duplicate entry '8675309' for key 1



Maby I shoudn't have deleted it?
I thought that was the best... to start all over.
I found the code you wanted me to change.

You are so kind trying to help me and I'm just making a new mess instead. *sorry*

Can you help me with this too?

//Jessica
Jessica Fuchs

#247   janssen-militaria

janssen-militaria
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Real Name:Peter Janssen
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2009 - 21:59

Error
SQL-question:

INSERT INTO `configuration_group` ( `configuration_group_id` , `configuration_group_title` , `configuration_group_description` , `sort_order` , `visible` )
VALUES (

'8675309', 'More Categories', 'More Category Boxes options', '20', '1'
);



MySQL said:

#1062 - Duplicate entry '8675309' for key 1


Can you help me with this too?

//Jessica


Hi again,

I do not know what you deleted, I presumed all the php files, but not the database table (table named "categories_more"). According to your error you try to run the sql for the second time but the table allready exists, so that is good. Just let the database as it is now. Only problem you could have is when you now want to use the 50 category option, that will not work when you have used the sql query for the 20 categieries (looking to your error I can see that you have used that database table).

So when you have not deleted anything from the database the table you need still exist in the database and you can forget the sql query. Just upload the new php files and look what happens. It is just an addition and you can choose in admin if you want your normal category box or the new more categories boxes, so you can allways turn it off (or on) in admin.

If you still have problems just let me know. You could also send me a PM.

Peter

#248   Ackis

Ackis
  • Members
  • 186 posts
  • Real Name:Jessica Fuchs
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 09 October 2009 - 21:15

I think there are at least 4 members here (5 including me) asking the same question but no answer or solution.
Everything works great :thumbsup: but the site doesn't look good at all. :'(
When adding more categories the right column and the content of the site falls further down on the site.
You cant se any products if you don't scroll down.

Does anyone have a solution to this?

All of you who had this problem, have you solved it or deleted more categories?

//Jessica
Jessica Fuchs

#249   GoCastaway

GoCastaway
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Peter Harts

Posted 12 October 2009 - 09:32

Hi all,

I installed this contrib and its working fine. Only 1 thing that i would to change.
If u click on a top cat that is in the box, the subcats expand under it. I dont want that they expand, but that only the top cats stay in the box.

Someone who can tell me how to do that?

Thnx in advance,
Peter

#250   GoCastaway

GoCastaway
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Real Name:Peter Harts

Posted 12 October 2009 - 13:21

Hi all,I installed this contrib and its working fine. Only 1 thing that i would to change.If u click on a top cat that is in the box, the subcats expand under it. I dont want that they expand, but that only the top cats stay in the box.Someone who can tell me how to do that?Thnx in advance,Peter


Alrdy found it, just comment out: $tree[$value]['next_id'] = $first_id;

#251   shuffled

shuffled
  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Real Name:Doug
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indianapolis

Posted 07 November 2009 - 04:20

I believe I screwed up my install, though the instructions seemed pretty straightforward. I am not a programmer, so keep your responses simple please. After modifying my files and then importing the sql file, I logged into my admin and went to "more categories" under the catalog tab and go this error:

1146 - Table 'chipzonecatalog.categories_more_languages' doesn't exist

select * from categories_more, categories_more_languages where enabled = 1 and languages_id = '1' and box_id_language= '1'

[TEP STOP]

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Doug

#252   shuffled

shuffled
  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Real Name:Doug
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indianapolis

Posted 07 November 2009 - 04:39

I believe I screwed up my install, though the instructions seemed pretty straightforward. I am not a programmer, so keep your responses simple please. After modifying my files and then importing the sql file, I logged into my admin and went to "more categories" under the catalog tab and go this error:

1146 - Table 'chipzonecatalog.categories_more_languages' doesn't exist

select * from categories_more, categories_more_languages where enabled = 1 and languages_id = '1' and box_id_language= '1'

[TEP STOP]

Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Disregard, thanks to Peter's advice, I went back and downloaded the English version of the file and uploaded both categories_more.php files and the error went away.
Doug

#253   shuffled

shuffled
  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Real Name:Doug
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indianapolis

Posted 07 November 2009 - 05:02

Disregard, thanks to Peter's advice, I went back and downloaded the English version of the file and uploaded both categories_more.php files and the error went away.



Well I thought things were great. I am not getting any errors, but my new boxes do not show up on the site at all. I can toggle the default category box on and off with true/false. I can also use the program under the catalog. I have named 3 boxes and clicked the "enable" radio button and selected several categories for each. Even after clicking "update", I do not see the new boxes on the site.
Doug

#254   oneeezy

oneeezy
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Real Name:Justin O'Neill

Posted 16 November 2009 - 18:10

Im have uploaded this contribution and it is working fine, but now i have another problem..please go to my site for reference:
http://66.49.195.144/index.php

Do you see where I have my first category "PACKAGE DEALS" and my second category "CREATE WEDDING"?

usually when your editing a heading like that you would go to the catalog/includes/languages/english.php file , find the text you want to replace, and replace it. I like to use a custom image for this text... but now that I have installed the "More Categories" contrib there is no option for this...

Can someone please explain how I can change the "PACKAGE DEALS" and "CREATE WEDDING" text into images and where to do it?

Thanks ,
Justin
Windows Phone 7 Forum | Tricks, Tips, Hacks, Apps, and Games for your Windows Phone 7!

#255   halluzineyt

halluzineyt
  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Real Name:jayson

Posted 07 December 2009 - 08:00

help this is appearing on my admin!!

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/atickmob/public_html/shop/admin/includes/filenames.php:57) in /home/atickmob/public_html/shop/admin/includes/functions/sessions.php on line 67


and this one on my catalog i dont really know what to do now !!

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_VARIABLE in /home/atickmob/public_html/shop/includes/column_left.php on line 11

i followed all the steps and executed the sql whats wrong pls help i need to finish this today,,

the more categories appeared on my admin but this shows up help!!

1146 - Table 'atickmob_atickdbase.categories_more_languages' doesn't exist

select * from categories_more, categories_more_languages where enabled = 1 and languages_id = '1' and box_id_language= '1'

[TEP STOP]

Edited by halluzineyt, 07 December 2009 - 08:02.


#256   halluzineyt

halluzineyt
  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Real Name:jayson

Posted 07 December 2009 - 08:46

I have amended all the files, checked and double checked them using DiffMerge, and I am confident I have done everything correctly. The .sql file executed without errors. However, when I go my store to check the results I am presented with:

1146 - Table 'databasename.categories_more' doesn't exist

select * from categories_more where enabled = 1

[TEP STOP]


and when I go into the Admin side of my store, and select Catalog>More Categories I am presented with:

More Category Boxes
1146 - Table 'databasename.categories_more' doesn't exist

select * from categories_more

[TEP STOP]


I would love any suggestions on this, as this feature is key to how my client whats his store setting up.

Thanks in advance,

Jonathan


HELP Im encountering this too..

i thought it is just the database table i DROPED it then i tried to reinstal now i cant execute it again im getting this help!!!!

Error
SQL query:

INSERT INTO `configuration_group` ( `configuration_group_id` , `configuration_group_title` , `configuration_group_description` , `sort_order` , `visible` )
VALUES (

'8675309', 'More Categories', 'More Category Boxes options', '20', '1'
);



MySQL said:

#1062 - Duplicate entry '8675309' for key 1

#257   halluzineyt

halluzineyt
  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Real Name:jayson

Posted 07 December 2009 - 09:13

i reinstalled the contribution hopes somebody will response to this so i can install it again and i can give credits to your work..

#258   halluzineyt

halluzineyt
  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Real Name:jayson

Posted 09 December 2009 - 00:10

bump


can you just suggest me a running adons that have the same ability as this one it seems that the contributor doesnt go here anymore.. my version is osCommerce Online Merchant v2.x same as others using this stuff but its not working for me..

#259   koun

koun
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Real Name:George Perisanidis
  • Location:greece

Posted 16 December 2009 - 10:50

Great addon.
One question is it possible to have some categorie boxes on the left column and
some on the right column?

#260   halluzineyt

halluzineyt
  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Real Name:jayson

Posted 13 January 2010 - 13:15

has anybody written a right sql codes for this??

INSERT INTO `configuration_group` ( `configuration_group_id` , `configuration_group_title` , `configuration_group_description` , `sort_order` , `visible` ) VALUES ( '8675309', 'More Categories', 'More Category Boxes options', '20', '1' );

INSERT INTO `configuration` ( `configuration_id` , `configuration_title` , `configuration_key` , `configuration_value` , `configuration_description` , `configuration_group_id` , `sort_order` , `last_modified` , `date_added` , `use_function` , `set_function` ) VALUES ( '', 'Enable Default Category Box?', 'DEFAULT_CATEGORY_BOX_ENABLED', 'true', 'More Category Boxes - enable/disable the default categories box?<br><br>(Usually found in the left column)', '8675309', '0', NULL , '0000-00-00 00:00:00', NULL , 'tep_cfg_select_option(array(''true'', ''false''),' );

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `categories_more`;
CREATE TABLE `categories_more` (
  `box_id` tinyint(5) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `infobox_name` varchar(255) NOT NULL default 'infobox',
  `enabled` tinyint(4) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category1_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category2_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category3_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category4_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category5_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category6_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category7_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category8_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category9_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category10_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category11_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category12_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category13_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category14_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category15_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category16_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category17_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category18_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category19_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category20_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category21_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category22_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category23_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category24_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  `category25_id` int(11) NOT NULL default '0',
  PRIMARY KEY  (`box_id`)
) TYPE=MyISAM AUTO_INCREMENT=11 ;

INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (1, 'box1' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (2, 'box2' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (3, 'box3' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (4, 'box4' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (5, 'box5' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (6, 'box6' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (7, 'box7' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (8, 'box8' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (9, 'box9' ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);
INSERT INTO `categories_more` VALUES (10, 'box10' ,0  ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0);

this latest sql code from it wont give you the table for languages thus resulting on having this error

1146 - Table 'atickmob_atickdbase.TABLE_CATEGORIES_MORE_LANGUAGES' doesn't exist

select * from categories_more,TABLE_CATEGORIES_MORE_LANGUAGES where enabled = 1 and languages_id = '1' and box_id_language= box_id 

can anybody help to fix this? please..